tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

UMUT DAG

Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Coming Of AgeCrime
Filmfest Gent
18/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We admit it. Before FilmFest Ghent 2014 we could only come up with the name of Michael Haneke if someone has asked our opinion about Austrian cinema, but this has changed now. After the fantastic Macondo,  Risse Im Beton (Cracks In Concrete) gives another vision from the otherwise so majestic Vienna. Forget those clowns who are dressed like Mozart and invite you for Ein Kleine Nachtmusik because filmmaker Umut Dag drags you to the sewers of the Austrian capital city where drugs and prostitution rule.

We follow two individuals. Ertan (Murathan Muslu) is 35 and released from prison. He served time because he committed manslaughter and was in possession of drugs. Now that he’s free he decides to change his life. At the other end we find the young crook Mikail (Alechan Tagaev) who is trapped in a spiral of endless violence. Even if at first sight the two have no connection with each other, the two have a bound.

Risse Im Beton is a very violent film. There’s no respect for a human life and all the characters seem to end their life in jail. Director Umut Dag who made his first steps in moviemaking as the production assistant from Die Fälscher doesn’t use cheap tricks. He never blames anyone or something, the desperate situation is just the logic cause from today’s time spirit. After 100 minutes of pure nihilism you surely won’t feel any better, but you surely have reached a cinematographic orgasm as this contemporary crime drama is a must see!

Didier BECU
18/10/2014


NL

Tot voor kort konden we alleen maar de naam van Michael Haneke prevelen toen iemand onze mening naar de Oostenrijkse cinema vroeg, maar sinds FilmFest 2014 Gent is dat toch een beetje verandert. Na het fantastische Macondo is Risse Im Beton (Kraken In Het Beton) de tweede film die een heel andere blik op het anders zo mondaine Wenen toont. Vergeet de als Mozart geklede clowns die jou een avondje Ein Kleine Nachtmusik willen aansmeren, want regisseur Umut Dag sleurt je in zijn tweede film mee naar de criminele wijken van Wenen die worden overspoeld door prostitutie en druggebruik.

We volgen er twee individuen. Ertan (Murathan Muslu) is een 35-jarige man die vroegtijdig uit de gevangenis is ontslagen. Hij zat vast voor moord en drugbezit en wil een andere weg inslaan. Aan de andere kant zien we het tienerboefje Mikail (Alechan Tagaev) die in een spiraal van uitzichtloos geweld is terechtgekomen. Alhoewel de twee elkaar op het eerste gezicht niet kennen, bestaat er toch een band.

Risse Im Beton is een film die bol staat van geweld. Voor een mensenleven is er nog nauwelijks respect en alle protagonisten verkeren in een situatie die gedoemd is om in een eenzame gevangeniscel te belanden. Regisseur Umut Dag die als productie-assistent van Die Fälscher zijn eerste stappen in de filmwereld zette maakt geen gebruik van goedkope trucs. De enige schuldige van deze verloedering is gewoon de tijdsgeest waarin we leven. Niets of niemand is nog iets waard. Na anderhalf uur nihilisme ben je er als kijker zeker niet beter van geworden, maar een cinefiel orgasme is het wel. Als dit misdaaddrama ooit in je buurt speelt (ook al is er nog niet meteen een Belgische distributeur gevonden) moet je hem beslist zien.

Didier BECU
18/10/2014


18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 18/10/2014 : UMUT DAG - Risse Im Beton (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution