tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

12/01/2016 : UNIDENTIFIED MAN - Dissociative Identity

UNIDENTIFIED MAN

Dissociative Identity

MusicCassette
EBMMinimal

[84/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
12/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Actually, I still do not know if it was a wise move by Jurgen De Winter to name his musical alter ego Unidentified Man. Of course it is a fab name and even more than that, but many music fans will think that this is just another uninspired Front 242 clone. And that's not the case. At contrary: it even has little or nothing to do with the sound of the EBM-masters.

Jurgen De Winter is the creator of sublime minimal synth, somewhere between experimental (think Absolute Body Control in the early days) and the synthpop of say Xeno & Oaklander.

Previously Wool-E Tapes released the tape Remedy For Melancholy (indeed, what a title!) and now there is Dissociative Identity. By using all kinds of hardware, analogue synths and rhythm boxes, Jurgen Winter creates wonderful music that sounds both retro and contemporary. Despite the melancholic undertone, it remains quite danceable, just listen to the superb instrumental Outcast.

There are two covers on the tape (Baby Tonight by Snowy Red and Melting Away by Absolute Body Control) and both are sung by Kristal Ann, the female half of Paradox Obscur. Two covers that are more than just admiration for the musical heroes.

It's obvious where Jurgen’s musical inspiration comes from, but just as a consummate master he creates his own minimal art.

This tape contains 14 tracks and they all have one common factor: the more you play them, the greater the addiction. With Jurgen De Winter Belgium has another minimal baby to be proud of!

Didier BECU
12/01/2016


NL

Eigenlijk weet ik nog altijd niet of het een verstandige zet was van Jurgen De Winter om zijn muzikaal alter ego Unidentified Man te noemen. Het is natuurlijk wel een leuke naam en zelfs meer dan dat, toch zal menig muziekfan denken dat dit het zoveelste inspiratieloze Front 242-afkooksel is. En dat is Unidentified Man nou net niet, het heeft zelfs weinig of niets (op de elektronica na) met de EBM-meesters te maken.

Jurgen De Winter is de maker van (ondergewaardeerde) sublieme minimal synth die ergens het midden houdt tussen experiment (denk Absolute Body Control in de begindagen) en de synthpop van pakweg Xeno & Oaklander.

Eerder verscheen op Wool-E Tapes al de tape Remedy For Melancholy (inderdaad, wat een titel!) en nu is er Dissociative Identity. Met behulp van allerlei hardware, analoge synths en ritmeboxen, creëert Jurgen De Winter een heerlijk klanktapijt dat zowel retro als hedendaags klinkt. Ondanks de melancholische ondertoon blijft het uiterst dansbaar (luister bijv. naar de knappe instrumental Outcast).

Er staan twee covers op de tape (Baby Tonight van Snowy Red en Melting Away van Absolute Body Control) en die worden allebei ingezogen door Kristal Ann, de vrouwelijke helft van Paradox Obscur. Twee nummers die meer zijn dan zo maar bewondering voor de muzikale helden.

Het is overduidelijk waar je Jurgens muzikale inspiratie moet zoeken, maar als een volleerde meester creëert hij er zijn eigen minimale kunst mee.

Op deze tape staan 14 tracks en ze hebben allemaal één gemeenschappelijke factor: hoe meer je ze draait, hoe hoger de verslavingsfactor wordt. België heeft er met Jurgen De Winter meteen een minimal baby bij om trots op te zijn! 

Didier BECU
12/01/2016


 

Next reviews
SIEVEHEAD • Into the Blue
DAVID BOWIE • DAVID BOWIE WAS
DAVID BOWIE • David Bowie Is (Groningen, Groninger Museum, Until/tot 13.3.2016)
ADVANCED ART • Archive
PHILIP GLASS • Words Without Music/Woorden Zonder Muziek
DAVID BOWIE • The Unfolding Mystery? | A Fan Speaks...
ATARAXIA • Ena
SPOIL ENGINE • Stormsleeper
LES JUMEAUX DISCORDANTS • Les Chimères
MONEY • Suicide Songs

 

Other reviews from UNIDENTIFIED MAN
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE, IMPLANT, LESCURE 13, THE KLINIK, ARBEID ADELT! & GEISTFORM • BIM Fest, Trix, Antwerp, 20/12/2013
VARIOUS ARTISTS • _ever Alive: A Tribute to Snowy Red

 

Same genre: EBM
MILDREDA • I was never really there
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
08
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic