tempobet yeni adresi
like this movie review

UPI AVIANTO

Shackled (Belenggu)

Movie
13/12/2013, Didier BECU

Fans of horror movies probably know that Asia is the ideal place to find such gems. One of the labels that offers you the cream of the crop of these type of films is the UK-based Terror Cotta, a company that promotes Far East movies with a dark twist. New in their catalogue is Belenggu, or if you prefer its English title: Shackled.

In this movie Upi (aka Upi Avianto) tells the story from a disturbed young guy who’s seeing an imaginary bunny. Wait a minute! Imagining a bunny? Haven’t we seen that in Donnie Darko? Well yes, but the fluffy animal is the sole common link with RichardKelly’s movie. And of course the very dark atmosphere as well. Upi offers you all the ingredients that are needed for an intriguing scary movie: a gorgeous femme fatale, a psychopath dressed up as a bunny (including with an axe) and of course lots of blood.

Belenguu is the darkest movie filmdirector Upi made so far. In her homecountry Indonesia she’s famous for the teen drama Chocolate Strawberry or the action flick Last Wolf, but this dark original horrormovie definitely must give her an international platform though. Recommended for anyone who’s into Asiamania-movies.

Belenggu is now out on Terror Cotta and available on their website.

Didier BECU
13/12/2013


13/12/2013 : UPI AVIANTO - Shackled (Belenggu) 13/12/2013 : UPI AVIANTO - Shackled (Belenggu) 13/12/2013 : UPI AVIANTO - Shackled (Belenggu) 13/12/2013 : UPI AVIANTO - Shackled (Belenggu)

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall