tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2016 : VANGUARD - I Want To Live

VANGUARD

I Want To Live

MusicCD (EP)
EBMElectro Pop

[80/100]   

Infacted Recordings
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

To avoid misunderstandings: we are talking about the electropop and EBM band that consists of Jonas Olofsson and Patrik Hansson, and not about the eponymous metal band from Finland or the rock band from Ohio. To be honest: I did some research because the band was unknown to me. It exists since 2008 and released two albums: Sanctuary and Retribution on Conzoom Records. For this single the band teamed up with Infacted.

The EP includes three songs and four remixes of the title track. I Want To Live has a stirring rhythm, a catchy chorus and a nice structure. The lyrics include some clichés, but that’s not really disturbing. Alive Inside has dark synths and is in fact more interesting and less predictable than the title track. Rising Phoenix also has a dark side with a distinctive rhythm. Both songs contain elements of EBM, while I Want To Live sounds more like electropop. Killjoy vs. KC Exosun Star Sign Mix is the best of the four remixes on this EP. The song has body and power. The other three remixes are nice too.

With this new label, Vanguard sounds more mature and the mix between EBM and electro is nicely balanced. So that looks great for an eventual album. For fans of VNV Nation or Apoptygma Berzerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Om misverstanden te vermijden: het gaat hier om de electropop- en EBM-band Vanguard die bestaat uit Jonas Olofsson en Patrik Hansson, en dus niet om de gelijknamige Finse metalband of rockband uit Ohio. Om eerlijk te zijn heb ik wat in de archieven moeten duiken, want ik kende de band niet. Vanguard bestaat sedert 2008 en heeft twee albums uitgebracht: Sanctuary en Retribution op Conzoom Records. Voor deze single is de band in zee gegaan met Infacted.

De ep bevat uit 3 songs en vier remixes van de titeltrack I Want To Live. De single heeft een opzwepend ritme, een aanstekelijk refrein en een mooie opbouw. De tekst bevat wat clichés, maar dat is niet echt storend. Alive Inside heeft wat donkere synths en is eigenlijk boeiender en minder voorspelbaar dan de titeltrack. Ook Rising Phoenix heeft een duister kantje met een markant ritme. Beide songs bevatten EBM-elementen, terwijl I Want To Live eerder electropop is. Zoals gezegd staan er nog vier remixes op deze ep waarvan KC Killjoy vs Exosun Starsign Mix erg geslaagd is. De track is krachtig en energiek. De andere drie remixes zijn ook aantrekkelijk.

Met de overstap naar een nieuw label, lijkt Vanguard opnieuw zuurstof te hebben gevonden. De mix tussen EBM en electropop is mooi in evenwicht en laat het beste vermoeden voor het nieuwe album. Voor de liefhebbers van VNV Nation of Apoptygma Berzerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
BIRTH OF JOY • Get Well
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
RANDOM HAND • Hit Reset
LLUMEN, PSY'AVIAH, MILDREDA • B52 Eernegem - 25 november 2016
PAUL CARRACK • Soul Shadows
MECHANIMAL • Delta Pi Delta
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
NEUGEBORENE NACHTMUSIK • Komme, was kommen mag
THE JUGGERNAUTS • The Juggernauts Are Coming
SCHOOL OF SEVEN BELLS • SVIIB

 

Other reviews from VANGUARD
VANGUARD • I Want To Live
VANGUARD • Retribution

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO POP
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
NTTX • Falls Beautiful
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
HOLM / MIRLAND • In Control
ATOMZERO • Symbiosis
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1
AESTHETISCHE • Nachtbrenner ep
GLIS • PHOENIX

 

Same genre: EBM
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia