tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

15/06/2011 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - BART [Bay Area Retrograde (Vol. 1)]

VARIOUS ARTISTS

BART [Bay Area Retrograde (Vol. 1)]

MusicVinyl
ElectronicsExperimentalPost PunkSynth Wave

[70/100]   

Dark Entries Records
15/06/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

“BART”, the 13th release on the American label Dark Entries Records, is out now!

People looking for “unknown pleasures” and lost treasures probably know Dark Entries Records by now. I suppose they have acquired some diehard fans already, due to their growing list of impressive releases. To mention a few: “Bas Relief” (ELEVEN POND), “Sacred Islands of the Mad” (NAGAMATZU), “La Décadence électronique” (SECOND DECAY) and “Electromagnetic Pulse” (THOSE ATTRACTIVE MAGNETS).

Describing Dark Entries Records in a couple of words is not easy. Vinyl, collector’s items and high quality / rare stuff from the eighties and early nineties covers part of it. Hopefully their star keeps on shining for I am most certainly a fan.

And “BART”, you wonder?

It’s the first compilation album on Dark Entries Records, starring following bands:

NOMINAL STATE / Middle Class / 1983 / Danville
BATANG FRISCO / Power / 1986 / SF (San Francisco)
NECROPOLIS OF LOVE / Talk / 1982 / Berkeley
WASP WOMEN / Kill Me / 1980 / SF
DISTANT THUNDER / Tin Soldiers / 1988 / SF
VOICE FARM / Voyeur / 1982 / SF
DANNY BOY AND THE SERIOUS PARTY GODS / Castro Boy / 1983 / SF
QUIET ROOM / Yangtzee River / 1981 / Palo Alto
LOS MICROWAVES / Silent Screamers / 1982 / SF
STANDARD OF LIVING / N.F.A. / 1982 / SF
UNITS / Mission / 1980 / SF

Keywords here? Electronics, the underground scene of the Bay Area (San Francisco) and the eighties.

“BART” will not become one of my favorite Dark Entries albums, I’m afraid. It offers good value for money though. It’s become an interesting, somewhat inconstant record, with a strong A-side, aside from the irritating pseudo-punk of WASP WOMEN. On the B-side I especially like the song “Castro Boy”, a “gay Hi-NRG anthem” with over-the top vocals and raunchy lyrics.

Second to none here? DISTANT THUNDER with “Tin Soldiers”. Monotonous singing blends perfectly together with a catchy riff and turns into a perfect piece of “lo-fi gothic pop”. Also NECROPOLIS OF LOVE (“Talk”) can be mentioned as one of the highlights on this album. Singer David Velasquez describes NOL’s music as “existential dance music”.

To whom it may concern and to conclude this review: a list of some of the used synthesizers! Korg MS-20, Korg PolySix, Juno 60, ARP Omni, Yamaha DX7, Roland D-20, Casiotone MT-46, TR 808, Roland Space Echo, ARP Quadra, Multimoog, Sequential Pro One en Prophet 5.

“That’s all Folks”

Didier PIETERS
15/06/2011


NL

“BART”, de dertiende release op Dark Entries Records, is een feit.

Dark Entries Records heeft zich volgens mij inmiddels van een schare trouwe fans verzekerd. Die hebben ze verdiend door een aantal “verloren schatten” vanonder het stof te halen. Denken we maar aan “Bas Relief” van ELEVEN POND, “Sacred Islands of the Mad” van NAGAMATZU en “La Décadence électronique” van SECOND DECAY.

We zien een paar constanten als het om releases van dit label gaat. Om maar een paar zaken te noemen: vinyl, gelimiteerde oplages en kwalitatief sterk materiaal uit de jaren tachtig en de vroege jaren negentig. Hopelijk blijft dit mooie liedje nog lang duren. U merkt het waarschijnlijk al, ook ik ben een fan!

“BART”dan maar even? Het eerste compilatiealbum op Dark Entries Records met volgende groepen:

NOMINAL STATE / Middle Class / 1983 / Danville
BATANG FRISCO / Power / 1986 / SF (San Francisco)
NECROPOLIS OF LOVE / Talk / 1982 / Berkeley
WASP WOMEN / Kill Me / 1980 / SF
DISTANT THUNDER / Tin Soldiers / 1988 / SF
VOICE FARM / Voyeur / 1982 / SF
DANNY BOY AND THE SERIOUS PARTY GODS / Castro Boy / 1983 / SF
QUIET ROOM / Yangtzee River / 1981 / Palo Alto
LOS MICROWAVES / Silent Screamers / 1982 / SF
STANDARD OF LIVING / N.F.A. / 1982 / SF
UNITS / Mission / 1980 / SF

Sleutelwoorden zijn hier elektronica, de underground scene van San Francisco en omstreken en de jaren tachtig.

En? Is het voltreffer nummer 13? Spijtig genoeg niet echt. Het is een interessante, eerder wisselvallige plaat geworden, met vooral een erg sterke A-kant (op de irritante pseudopunk van WASP WOMEN na). Op de B-zijde vind ik vooral Castro Boy de moeite, een “gay Hi-NRG anthem” met over-the top vocals en ranzige lyrics. De topper van dienst? Het fantastische “Tin Soldiers” van DISTANT THUNDER. Een catchy riff duelleert met een monotone stem en dat levert een prachtig stukje “lo-fi gothic pop” op. Op nummer twee met stip: “Talk”,van NECROPOLIS OF LOVE. Zanger David Velasquez zelf omschrijft de muziek van NOL als“existential dance music”.

Om te besluiten voor de kenners /geïnteresseerden / nerds /… een kleine greep uit de gebruikte synthesizers: Korg MS-20, Korg PolySix, Juno 60, ARP Omni, Yamaha DX7, Roland D-20, Casiotone MT-46, TR 808, Roland Space Echo, ARP Quadra, Multimoog, Sequential Pro One en Prophet 5.

“That’s all Folks”

Didier PIETERS
15/06/2011


 

Next reviews
DEPECHE MODE • Remixes 2: 81-11
LES FLEURS DU MAL • Les fleurs du mal : I EP
DIVINE MUZAK • Maison Skinny
VERDIANA RAW • Demo
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Ghlóir Ar An Oíche EP
KINDEST LINES • Covered in dust
DAYBED • NEWCLEAR WAVES | VIOLENCE CONJUGALE | ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011 | The kingdom of analogue synths
DAVID SYLVIAN • Died in the Wool
CRUISE [CTRL] • Red or blue? (Remixes)
RELIGIOUS TO DAMN • Glass Prayer

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace