tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Bipolar Sounds Volume 1

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Bipolar Sounds Volume 1

MusicDigital
Death Rock / BatcavePost Punk

[88/100]   

Manic Depression
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Manic Depression is well known for its batcave, post-punk, darkwave and deathrock releases. This compilation is free to download on the website. Meanwhile, a second volume is already available.

On Bipolar Sounds you get a nice view of the different styles the label has to offer: from batcave to electro, all wrapped in a black and/or punk look.

Drama of The Spheres offers a track from the album A Tale Kafka. The Italian Date At Midnight presents the single No Love from the eponymous first album (2011) for Manic Depression Records.

From Fear Incorporated we hear Spooked of the new album Phobos. We also get a demo version of The Pen of Blood by The Cemetary Girlz, a solid death rock/goth rock band which presents an uptempo song from its latest album Opus Vitae.

Agent Side Grinder is one of the spotlight bands on this compilation because the style differs from the rest. We hear a fantastic live version of Screams. Crimson Muddle is also recommended. The music is an interesting mix of punk, cold wave, electro and violins. Basura is very good. Check it out now!

The French Joy/Disaster is present with the excellent post punk song Miss Trust; with a kind of metal guitar! BA13 has nervous punk vocals. Wallenberg closes this fine compilation, which is perfect if you want to discover the highlights of this label for free.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Manic Depression staat bekend voor zijn releases van vooral batcave, postpunk, darkwave en deathrock. Deze compilatie is gratis te downloaden via de website. Intussen is er nu ook al een tweede volume beschikbaar.

Op Bipolar Sounds is als een staalkaart, waardoor je een mooi zicht krijgt op wat men te bieden heeft: van batcave tot electro, gehuld in een zwart en/of punkkleedje.

Drama of The Spheres mag de spits afbijten met een track uit het album A Kafka Tale. Het Italiaanse Date At Midnight brengt No Love met een single uit het eerste gelijknamige album voor Manic Depression Records uit 2011.

Van Fear Incorporated horen we Spooked, een heel recent lied van het nieuwe album Phobos. We horen ook een demoversie van The Pen of Blood door The Cemetary Girlz. Een degelijke deathrock-/gothrockband met een uptempo song uit het laatste album Opus Vitae.

Agent Side Grinder is een band die in de kijker loopt omdat hij qua stijl wat afwijkt van de rest. We horen Screams in een liveversie. Een fantastische uitvoering trouwens. Crimson Muddle is ook een aanrader. De muziek is een interessante mengeling van punk, cold wave, electro en violen. Check Basura maar eens uit!

Het Franse Joy/Disaster brengt het uitstekende Miss Trust, een postpunksong met een naar metal smachtende gitaar. BA13 valt op met nerveuze punk vocals. Wallenberg sluit tenslotte deze verzamelaar af.

Een heel goede compilatie van Manic Depression waarbij je gratis kan ontdekken wat dit label te bieden heeft.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT • Adcbep1
CHROM • Peak And Decay
SIDEARTICA • Sideartica: a forgotten gem
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
LEAETHER STRIP • Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
PANTSERFABRIEK • Krachtpatser

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + POST PUNK
THEN COMES SILENCE • Nyctophilian

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)