tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Dependence 2015

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Dependence 2015

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[78/100]   

Dependent
02/07/2015, Benny CALUWE

Dependent Records is one of the leading alternative electronic music labels. The label released some fantastic compilations in the past. Remember the infectious Septic compilations and the first Dependence (Next Level Electronics)! With this new Dependence, the 7th in the series, they take again a step in the good direction, after some less convincing editions.

As usual there is a balanced mix of established bands and new names. The necessary mixes, exclusive and previously unreleased tracks are present as well. Some tracks offer us a taste of upcoming albums such as the new Beborn Beton. Other tracks are taken from recently released albums from acts such as Encephalon, Covenant and Iris. The latter 2 bands released their album already in 2014. Their catchy tracks both got a dance floor treatment with an upbeat club remix.

Mainly the tracks of the established names lift this compilation to a higher level, what makes me worry once again about the future of our beloved genre. (Relative) Newcomers like Ginger Snap5, Chrysalide and Clicks don’t succeed in convincing me, Fïx8:Sëd8 forms the exception. While Mesh’s contribution sounds kind of cheesy. Mesh often sounded poppy in the past, but the sharp edges they used to have are missing here. Luckily the other big names deliver some quality. Especially the veterans of Click Click stand out with dark atmospheric track. Pride And Fall combines the best of old school VNV Nation and [SITD]. And the Belgian This Morn’Omina’s trancy track is also very uplifting with some nice tribal percussion. Frank M. Spinath confirms in being a topper in the synthpop genre with strong contributions with Edge Of Dawn and Seabound.

Dependence 2015 is an interesting and varied compilation, but I can’t help looking back nostalgic to those first few overwhelming Septic compilations.

Tracklist:

COVENANT: Prime Movers (Club Version)

ENCEPHALON: Illuminate

GINGER SNAP5: Distant Star (Club Version)

CHRYSALIDE: Substance Over Style (Remix 2.0 by SONIC AREA)

CLICKS: You’re Here To Stay

IRIS: Phenom (Club Mix)

BEBORN BETON: 24/7 Mystery

EDGE OF DAWN: Love Lost

MESH: Adjust Your Set (MaBose Extended Version)

PRIDE AND FALL: Norden On Fire

SEABOUND: When She’s Hungry (IRIS Mix)

THIS MORN’OMINA: Kachina Red (End Of The World)

DECODED FEEDBACK: Heart Of Stone (Duet)

FIX8:SED8: Hiob

CLICK CLICK: Keep Us Out Of The Way (The Devil’s Politician)

Benny CALUWE
02/07/2015


02/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Dependence 2015 02/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Dependence 2015

 

Next reviews
UMANZUKI • Porta
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
ALAN TAYLOR • TERMINATOR GENISYS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty
RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) • Ten albums that changed my life!
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
ADAM ROBITEL • The Taking Of Deborah Logan
BLANCK MASS • Dumb Flesh
BENNETT MILLER • Foxcatcher

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear

 

Same genre: EBM
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace