tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Road To Sacrosant 2015

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Road To Sacrosant 2015

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothic Rock

[85/100]   

SwissDarkNights
07/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Do you think goth- and death rock is dead? That is utter rubbish. Granted, you have to look for i,t but once you found the bands, you’ll never let them go. Last year in Reading, there was a death and goth rock festival named Sacrosant. The Swiss label Swiss Dark Nights released a compilation (Road To Sacrosant) on which every participating act presents a track.

The CD opens with Grooving In Green: we know nothing about the band, just that it’s superb death rock like it was played in the old Christian Death-days.

We know nothing about NU:N, but the music is faithful to the sound of The Sisters of Mercy or The Fields Of The Nephilim. Pure class! Horror Vacui links psychobilly with goth rock in an original way 

Age Of Heaven from Leipzig gives us another goth orgasm: the style sounds like a more melodic version of Merciful Nuns. Sublime is the only adjective we can use. Drama Queen is traditional goth rock with female vocals (think Skeletal Family).

Perhaps the Italian duo Winter Severity Index is one of the well-known bands on this compilation. Compulsion surely is the outsider. The music is dark, but rather post-punk. We hear more Italian sounds with The Stompcrash: symphonic goth rock with a baritone voice. Impressive is the word!

The Spanish band October People offers contemporary post-punk with a dark layer. Long Night clearly prefers the path of dark rock, and with some fantasy you can say the band is a goth version of The Doors.

Perhaps the Nightbreed-days are just a memory, but there is still some decent goth rock made in England, The Last Cry is a perfect example!

Of course we know the excellent goth rock of Yabanci, the trio with the label boss of Swiss Dark Nights. Star In Man plays mysterious goth rock with intriguing vocals.

You may not know it, but also in Costa Rica people play goth rock, even though we know one band only (Last Dusk).

Road To Sacrosant concludes with two monuments of the goth rock genre that also were the headliner of the festival. Whispers In The Shadow (My Name Is Legion) and the American band The Last Dance. Goth Rock is not dead, just listen to Road To Sacrosant.

Didier BECU
07/02/2016


NL

Het stemt heel wat Belgische muziekfans triest dat traditionele goth- en deathrock nauwelijks nog aan bod komt. Vaak hoor je de drogreden dat er in deze vijver nauwelijks nog talent rondzwemt, maar dat is pure larie. Toegegeven, je moet de bands wel zoeken, maar eens je ze gevonden hebt, wil je ze nooit meer kwijt. Verleden jaar was er in het Engelse Reading een heus death- en gothrockfestival: Sacrosant. Het Zwitserse label Swiss Dark Nights bracht een compilatie uit (Road To Sacrosant) waarop iedere deelnemende act een track brengt.

De cd heeft meteen een opener van formaat. Ook al vonden we geen informatie over Grooving In Green: heerlijke deathrock zoals die in de oude dagen van Christian Death werd gespeeld.

Over NU:N weten we al evenmin iets, maar de muziek is hondstrouw aan het geluid van de Sisters Of Mercy of de Fields Of The Nephilim. Gelukkig maar, want het is pure klasse!

Horror Vacui zoekt op een originele wijze de link tussen psychobilly en gothrock.

Age Of Heaven uit Leipzig zorgt tevens voor gothorgasme: hun strakke stijl klinkt een beetje als een meer melodieuze versie van Merciful Nuns. Subliem is het enige adjectief dat we kunnen gebruiken. Drama Queen is eveneens traditionele gothrock met vrouwelijke vocalen (denk aan Skeletal Family).

Het Italiaanse duo Winter Severity Index is wellicht één van de meer bekende bands op deze compilatie. Wellicht is Compulsion het buitenbeentje. De muziek klinkt donker, maar eerder als postpunk. Nog meer Italiaanse geluiden horen we van The Stompcrash: symfonische gothrock met een baritonstem. Imponerend is het woord!

Eigentijdse postpunk met een donker laagje horen we van de Spaanse October People. Long Night verkiest duidelijk het pad van de donkere rock, en met wat fantasie kom je bij een gothversie van The Doors uit.

De Nightbreed-dagen zijn misschien niet meer dan een herinnering, maar in Engeland wordt er nog steeds degelijke gothrock gemaakt en een mooier voorbeeld dan The Last Cry is bijna ondenkbaar.

Yabanci kennen we natuurlijk al een tijdje, het trio met de labelbaas van Swiss Dark Nights. Star In Man is mysterieuze gothrock met intrigerende vocalen.

Je weet het misschien niet, maar ook in Costa Rica wordt er stevige gothrock gemaakt, ook al kennen we maar één band (Last Dusk).

Road To Sacrosant wordt afgesloten met twee monumenten uit het gothrockgenre die tevens de headliner van het festival waren. Whispers In The Shadow (My Name Is Legion) en de Amerikaanse band The Last Dance.

Gothrock is niet dood, schuif gewoon Road To Sacrosant in je cd-lader!

Didier BECU
07/02/2016


 

Next reviews
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • The Brandenburg Concertos (Hofkapelle München, Antwerpen, deSingel, 04/02/2016)
PETER ANTHONY • The Man who Saved the World
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
JOE JACKSON • Fast Forward
WHISPERING SONS • BLACK EASTER 2016
DROWNING POOL • Hellelujah
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
THE TELESCOPES • The Complete Creation Recordings 1990-1992
ARDITI • Imposing Elitism
SYL KOUGAÏ • IΧΘΥΣ Transmission

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
SOROR DOLOROSA • No More Heroes
BLOODY DEAD AND SEXY • Bad Ambient
K-OZ OFFICE • 2000-2012 was a gas
DEATHCAMP PROJECT • Well-Known Pleasures

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
CHRISTIAN DEATH • Eernegem, B52
SHADOWHOUSE • Hand In Hand

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings