tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise

VERA CHYTILOVA

Fruit Of Paradise

MovieMovie classics
Arthouse

[72/100]   

Second Run DVD
14/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Vera Chytilova’s Fruit of Paradise from 1970 begins with a prologue from the Bible. Right from the start it is clear that the Czech filmmaker choose a pervasive art form. Just as the whole film, the images are abstract,and Chytilová leaves it to the viewer to interpret her visual art. This film, which was honored at Cannes, is often compared to her masterpiece Daisies of 1966. At least with regard to style, because the story is completely different.

After Eve ate the forbidden fruit, we follow her with two men. On the one hand there is her husband who can’t get enough of the pleasures of earthly paradise, on the other hand there is the strange, almost dangerous Josef. Little by little Eva also has feelings for him.

It is very difficult to describe Fruit Of Paradise, and even harder to see a real story in it. This experimental film is primarily a visual gem that balances between the experimental and the burlesque. A strange mixture between psychedelica and slapstick. Sometimes it seems like Vera Chytilová works as an impressionist who is eager to use lots of colors, but who hardly wants to reveal her subject. The longer you look, the more you see, although it is a very individual experience. That is also true for to religious symbols. Vera Chytilová provides them, the viewer does with them what he wants. A feature that works for almost her entire oeuvre. This surrealist artist is quite often described as the epitome of feminist cinema. Although you can find that element in her work, she is more than that. If you are willing to experiment, you should give Fruit Of Paradise a chance, now out on DVD through Second Run DVD.

Didier BECU
14/04/2015


NL

Vera Chytilova's Fruit of Paradise uit 1970 begint met een proloog uit de Bijbel. Meteen vanaf de start wordt het duidelijk dat de Tsjechische cineaste voor een zeer eigenzinnige, weliswaar doordringende kunstvorm kiest. Net zoals de hele film, zijn haar beelden abstract en laat Chytilova het aan de kijker over om een interpretatie aan haar visuele kunst te geven. Deze film, die in Cannes werd gelauwerd, wordt vaak vergeleken met haar meesterwerk Daisies uit 1966. Ten minste wat de stijl betreft, want het verhaal is helemaal anders.

Nadat Eva van de verboden vrucht heeft gegeten, volgen we haar met twee mannen. Enerzijds is er haar echtgenoot die maar niet genoeg kan krijgen van de geneugten van het aardse paradijs, anderzijds heb je de vreemde, bijna gevaarlijke Josef. Beetje per beetje voelt Eva ook gevoelens voor hem.

Het is zeer moeilijk om Fruit Of Paradise te omschrijven, en nog moeilijker om er een echt verhaal in te zien. Deze experimentele film is in de eerste plaats een visuele parel, die balanceert tussen het experimentele en het burleske. Een vreemde mengeling tussen psychedelica en slapstick. Soms lijkt Vera Chytilova wel een impressionist die gretig is met het gebruik van kleuren, maar die nauwelijks haar subject prijs wil geven. Hoe langer je kijkt, hoe meer je ziet, alhoewel het uiteindelijk een zeer individuele beleving is. Dat is ook zo wat betreft de religieuze symbolen. Vera Chytilova reikt ze aan, de kijker doet ermee wat hij wil. Een kenmerk dat bijna voor heel haar oeuvre werkt. Deze surrealistische kunstenares wordt wel vaak omschreven als het toonbeeld van feministische cinema. Alhoewel je dat zonder twijfel in haar werk merkt, is ze echter meer dan dat. Wie bereid is om te experimenteren, moet Fruit Of Paradise eens proberen, nu uit op dvd via Second Run DVD.

Didier BECU
14/04/2015


14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour