tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

26/07/2018 : VIOLENCE - Le Flux de la Nature

VIOLENCE

Le Flux de la Nature

MusicCD (EP)
Electro WaveMinimalSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Electronic Emergencies
26/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Some bands have something. Some have a lot. One extravagant, the other dark, another surprising, others still apocalyptic. Violence from Quebec (Canada)... has it all in 4 songs on the EP Le Flux De La Nature. Rooted in the ground of New Wave, with French vocals and nerve-racking electronics - with which they are able to musically explode the complex rhythms of nature and intense human relationships on this amazing EP. Manuel Bisson's cover art compliments the music perfectly.

It sounds overwhelming, majestic, sad and affectionate, all together. A rollercoaster of emotions engulfs you like a tsunami. You do not see it, you don't expect it in the least but it hits hard. Violence stops all this in this great EP.

Will Your Ghost Follow You? An existential question that many people, believers or not, may imagine. Who or what are we and what remains after this world? Or are we only a reflection, a deceptivly mechanical thing that someone has baptised? Who knows and above all: who cares!

Then back to primal Wave with L'Eclat du Jamais Vu. Immensely cold and beautiful in simplicity. A minimally dressed song, specks of dust around an electronic body. A body in decay that tries to keep up upright.

The titlesong unfolds in a similar musical style, 40 years back in time without any compassion. And yet it sounds somewhat contemporary, even though the synthwave is icy cold. We get a hipshaking melody on an ice cold bassline and drums that sound like the analog machine history is revived. Allé hop... Two tiny little words that say what they mean: let's just do it'

Far too soon this EP ends with They've Crossed The Skyline. Modern sounding songwriting, where newer electronics win the match against the analogue force the band likes to use. It sounds techno / trance / tribal but is danceable to the smallest fibre.

In short, to finish: gimme more! Top Material!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
26/07/2018


NL

Sommige bands hébben iets. Sommige zelfs véél. De ene extravagant, de andere duister, weer een andere verrassend, andere weer apocalyptisch. Deze Violence uit Quebec (Canada)… heeft het allemaal en dat in 4 songs op de EP Le Flux De La Nature. Geworteld in de grond der new wave, met Franse vocalen, zenuwslopende electronica, waarmee ze op deze geweldige EP het complexe ritme van de natuur en de intense menselijke relaties muzikaal laten exploderen. De cover-art van Manuel Bisson vult de muziek perfect aan.

Het klinkt overweldigend, majestueus, treurig en aandoenlijk, allemaal tezamen. Een rollercoaster van emoties overspoelt je als een tsunami. Je ziet het niet komen, je verwacht het allerminst, maar het slaat keihard toe. Violence stopt dit allemaal in een geweldige EP.

Will your Ghost Follow You? Een existentiële vraag die menig mens, gelovig of niet, zich misschien wel stelt. Wie of wat zijn we en wat rest na het aardse? Of zijn we maar een reflectie, een bedrieglijk mechanisch iets wat men méns heeft gedoopt? Who knows en bovenal: who cares!

Dan terug naar de oer-wave met L’Eclat du Jamais Vu. Immens kil en mooi in zijn eenvoud. Een minimaal aangeklede song, flarden stof rond een elektronisch lichaam. Een lichaam in verval dat zich toch overeind poogt te houden.
De titelsong ontrolt zich in een soortgelijke muzikale stijl, 40 jaar terug de tijd in zonder enige mededogen. En toch klinkt het enigszins hedendaags, ook al is de synthwave ijzig koud. We krijgen een heupwiegende melodie op een ijskoude baslijn en drums die klinken alsof de analoge machinale geschiedenis herleeft. Allé hop… Twee nietig kleine woordjes die zeggen wat ze betekenen: laat ons ‘maar’ verder doen.
Véél te vroeg eindigt deze EP met They’ve Crossed The Skyline. Moderner klinkende songschrijverij, waar recentere electronica de wedstrijd wint tegen het analoge geweld waar de band zich graag van bedient. Het klinkt techno/trance/tribal-achtig, maar is dansbaar tot in de kleinste vezel.

Om kort te eindigen: gimme more! Topmateriaal!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
26/07/2018


 

Next reviews
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
NAUT • Raise The Lights
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER • Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
SIMPLE MINDS • Walk Between Worlds
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES • Joy Division, Paroles de fan
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
NEGANT • No !

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO WAVE + MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour