tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/12/2014 : VODZ - Into the Woodz

VODZ

Into the Woodz

MusicCD
Rock

[70/100]   

Self-released
23/12/2014, William LIÉNARD

EN

The Flemish band Vodz - a word of the Flemish dialect of South Limburg meaning forward – released its first ep (The Road) in 2013, followed in December 2014 by the first full length album Into the Woodz. The band specializes in electric guitar driven rock music of the eighties that carries echoes of Joy Division and 16 Horsepower. Its dark but rhythmic and compelling, with catchy melodies and meaningful lyrics. If you are not interested in this kind of music, you may find it monotonous, but that counts for bands like Queen of the Stone Age as well, and Vodz definitely fits in that category.

With Hand of God the band takes a good start with lots of guitars and howling voices. Blackness leads you to Joy Division territory with a catchy guitar loop to support the languishing and pleading voice, again with some heavy guitar rain. Title track Into the Woodz is melodic with an attractive refrain and Remember has the haunting rhythm of a Black Sabbath song, but fades out with a nice piano tune. Time for a break with Demons, beautifully song with guitar drones that never drown the melody, followed by How Do You Do it?, up tempo with heavy guitars and nicely combined voices.

Sinnerman starts as a quiet rock ballad, halfway adorned with beautiful guitars and Chaussée d’Amour is more haunting than the title suggest. The Howling is another guitar song with ‘howling’ vocals and Ain’t no Grave is definitely one of our favourites on this rock album. Conclusion: nice guitars, nice vocals and truly a beautiful album for fans of this genre.

 

            
			

William LIÉNARD
23/12/2014


NL

De Vlaamse band Vodz – een woord uit het Zuid-Limburgs dialect dat Voorwaarts betekent – bracht z’n eerste ep (The Road) uit in 2013, gevolgd in december 2014 door hun eerste album, getiteld Into The Woodz. De band specialiseert zich in rockmuziek met een sterke gitaarbezetting die verwijst naar de jaren 80 en die verwant is met Joy Division en 16 Horsepower. Het geluid is donker en ritmisch en zelfs verleidelijk, met aanstekelijke melodieën en nuchtere teksten. Als je niet van dit soort muziek houdt, dan vindt je Vodz wellicht monotoon, maar dat geldt dan ook voor bands zoals Queens of the Stone Age, en Vodz past perfect in die categorie.

Het album neemt een goede start met Hand of God: heel veel gitaren en huilende vocalen. Blackness leidt je naar Joy Division, opnieuw met een regen van gitaargeluid. Titeltrack Into the Woodz is melodieus met een aantrekkelijk refrein en Remember heeft het klagende ritme van een Black Sabbath-song, maar eindigt met breekbare pianodruppels, gevolgd door How do You Do it?, uptempo met luide gitaren en mooi gecombineerde stemmen.

Sinnerman begint als een rockballade en wordt halfweg versierd met mooie gitaren. Chaussée d’Amour is jachtiger dan de titel suggereert en The Howling is een gitaarsong met opnieuw huilende vocalen. Ain’t no Grace is zonder meer één van onze favorieten op dit album. Besluit: mooi gitaarwerk, mooie vocalen en beslist een mooi album voor liefhebbers van het genre.

 

William LIÉNARD
23/12/2014


Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)