tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/08/2011 : VOIDWORK - Basement / Kaos Limited Edition

VOIDWORK

Basement / Kaos Limited Edition

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDark WaveDroneNeoclassical

[89/100]   

Rage In Eden
24/08/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

To whom it may concern …

“Basement”

Facts and figures: “Basement” is the fourth album of VoidWork from Belgium. Founder and frontman Xavier gets vocal support from Ann-Mari Thim (Arcana, Seventh Harmonic …), Melissa Ferlaak, Zuberoa Aznãrez and Sven Houfflijn.

The limited edition of “Basement” comes in a wooden box and contains an extra CD, “Kaos”. This CD alone is worth your hard-earned Euro’s! VoidWork’s music is inspired by supernatural literature from the early 20th century, more recent horror cinema, fear, death … I hope to elaborate on this matter in a future interview …

Released by Rage in Eden (Poland) and now for sale …

VoidWork takes you on a haunting, spiritual journey through a neoclassical (dark wave) landscape, takes you to desolate places were spirits reveal themselves to you, laughing gently … it seems. VoidWork sucks you into an atmospheric almost-emptiness. A good place to be in these busy and restless times!

 “Kaos”

Friday evening august 11, 2011, 22:44 PM. In my CD-player the VoidWork album “Kaos”. Track 8 … “The Stranger” … 3 minutes and 39 seconds of pure beauty, beautiful grief, strange sadness … A warm feeling comes over me as I experience the last few songs on the album. “Nothing” makes me realize once more why I love Music this much. “Kaos” is a captivating album of an undoubtedly talented musician!

X. marks the spot, AGAIN!

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


NL

To whom it may concern ...

“Basement”

De feiten: “Basement” is de vierde CD van het Belgische VoidWork. De drijvende kracht achter dit project is ene Xavier, die voor vocale ondersteuning opnieuw kan rekenen op Ann-Mari Thim, ook bekend van Arcana en Seventh Harmonic, en op Melissa Ferlaak, Zuberoa Aznãrez en Sven Houfflijn.

De Limited Edition, uit op 120 exemplaren en verpakt in een sober houten doosje, bevat de extra CD “Kaos” die op zich reeds uw zuurverdiende euro’s waard is!

Inspiratiebronnen? Op de website van VoidWork wordt onder andere verwezen naar bovennatuurlijke literatuur uit de vroege 20ste eeuw, meer recente horror cinema, angst, dood, verlatenheid … Daarover krijgen we vermoedelijk meer uitleg in een binnenkort verschijnend interview.

Label? Rage in Eden Records.

VoidWork zuigt je mee in een sfeervolle bijna-leegte waar het in deze drukke tijden goed vertoeven is, neemt je mee op een bevreemdende reis doorheen een neoklassiek (dark wave) landschap, brengt je naar desolate plekken waar geesten aan je verschijnen, glimlachend lijkt het wel. Een mooie soundtrack, maar passend bij welk verhaal?

“Kaos”

Vrijdagavondavond 11 augustus 2011, 22:44 uur. In de CD-speler “Kaos”, van VoidWork. Track 8 ... “The Stranger”... 3 minuten en 39 seconden angstige verlatenheid, schone smart, sobere schoonheid. Vrolijk word ik er niet van maar toch bekruipt me een vaag tevreden gevoel. Piano, Keltische harp, cello en even later de begeesterde stem van zanger Xavier (“Nothing”) verwarmen mijn hart en laten me nog maar eens beseffen waarom ik zo van muziek hou. 'U doet nogal emotioneel man …' Waarom ook niet? Dit is een beklijvend album van een ongetwijfeld bijzonder mens. Dan laat ik mij graag eens gaan.

 

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


 

Next reviews
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape
QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME • A Time For A Timing
PHILLIP NOYCE • Dead Calm
THE PRESENT MOMENT • Loyal To A Fault
WILLIAM FAULKNER • The Sound and the Fury | Het geluid en de drift
TAIFUN • Trondheim
JOSH OTTUM • Watch TV
MARTIN SCORSESE • Shutter Island
EXIT TO EDEN • From The Other Side
PAPA TOPO • La Chica Vampira

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret