tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

01/06/2019 : VUKOVAR - Cremator

VUKOVAR

Cremator

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Indie

[71/100]   

Other Voices Records
01/06/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

On 25th May 2019 Vukovar released their brand new album 'Cremator' through Other Voices Records. The band does not stick to one genre and sounds poppy, catchy, indie, dream pop with shreds of cold wave passing through. But who cares... rabbits can be put in a cage, bands cannot. This Cremator album contains 13 songs, brewed from very different barrels, which results in very sober tracks and other songs that cut through marrow and bone.

The opener ‘Roma Invicta’ is simply delicious indie, peppered with some out of this world vocals, while ‘Voices / Seers / Voices’ is one of the latter above mentioned song types. Also ‘Prerient’ fits quite closely to that description. Persisting bass lines and monotonous drums that sound like the last drop of rain fell months ago: bone dry. The songs sound stronger and even though they may sound somewhat behind by times, they still stick in your mind.

Then we get some songs that have a rather psychedelic edge, spherical layers that take us to higher spheres and wrap themselves in a blanket of mist; ‘Love Meetings’ or the more dream-poppy ‘Tomorrow’s Gone’.

With a doomy sound, ‘Perennials’ threateningly drags by, while ‘The Orchids’ is elusive. Sampling, minimalistic and subdued sadness. ‘The River Of Three Crossings’ also cloaks itself with a certain dose of sadness, or at least sounds that way.

Vukovar has already released plenty of records and ‘Cremator’ certainly has its strong moments but sadly fails to keep it up all the time. There are a couple of gems on this album but too few in my opinion to call this release a ‘great one’.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/06/2019


NL

Vukovar brengt op 25 mei 2019 via Other Voices Records hun LP Cremator uit. De band is niet te bevatten qua genre. Poppy, catchy, indie, dreampop, flarden coldwave met momenten. But WTF… konijnen stop je in een hok, bands niet. Deze Cremator bevat 13 songs die ook nu weer tappen uit heel diverse vaten. Wat maakt dat het met momenten weinig om het lijf heeft terwijl andere songs dan weer door merg en been snijden.

De opener Roma Invicta is lekkere indie, doorspekt met enige weg-van-de-wereld klinkende vocalen. Voices/Seers/Voices is er ééntje van de laatste soort. Prerient sluit daar vrij dicht op aan. Hardnekkige baslijnen en monotone drums die klinken alsof de laatste druppel regen enkele maanden daarvoor viel: kurkdroog. Ze klinken steviger maar blijven toch, hoe braaf ze op zich ook klinken, heel stevig plakken.

En dan songs die een behoorlijk psychedelisch randje hebben, sferisch wat lagen hoger vertoeven en zich hullen in een deken van nevel. Zoals Love Meetings of de meer dreampoppy Tomorrow’s Gone.

Perennials sleept met een doomy sound dreigend voorbij, terwijl The Orchids ongrijpbaar zijn. Samples, minimalistisch, ingetogen tristesse. The River Of Three Crossings is ook omringd door een zekere dosis verdriet, of klinkt althans zo.

Vukovar heeft al heel wat opnames op hun naam. Deze Cremator heeft zijn momenten, maar beklijft niet de gehele tijd. Er staan een paar pareltjes op, maar naar mijn gevoel zijn deze te weinig beklijvend om het geheel staande te houden en van deze Cremator een echte topper te maken.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/06/2019


Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
08
AMMO
Rose + Crown
05
08
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us