tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence

WALLY PFISTER

Transcendence

Movie
Science Fiction

[35/100]   

Belga Films
16/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe it has something to do with the many pirate movies, but in all honesty we have seen enough of with Johnny Depp. Not once in the last 20 years has he played a normal guy and you really have to be a very loyal fan to appreciate his fairytale image still. Transcendence is again such film! You might be happy because his character is shot after thirty minutes, unfortunately Dr. Will Caster (Depp) rises in a computer program. Together with his wife Evelyn (Rebecca Hall), he has tried his whole life to transform the human consciousness in a computer. Unfortunately for him, he is shot and has exactly four weeks left to live. Caster decides to charge his consciousness into the program. And yes, after his death, the first green sentences appear on the computer screen. Caster's spirit lives on through the computer! Evelyn is overjoyed, but the afterlife version of Caster does not seem to have such good intentions with our world!

Typical Depp-fodder. An implausible scenario with the most moronic curves imaginable, with a high dose of sickening corniness. The acting is bad too. The star cast acts in a soporific way, plus it’s all too clichéd. Cillian Murphy looks silly as an FBI agent and we saw Morgan Freeman enough as an old professor. The biggest disappointment is the directing. Normally you would expect a lot of the film debut of Wally Pfister (the director of photography of Christopher Nolan). But not here! Pfister is certainly not Nolan, you see that he looks up to him, but his work is nothing more than a photocopy of a broken copier. Hopefully we will be more satisfied with Into The Woods Mr Depp !

Transcendence is out on Belga Films, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
16/12/2014


NL

Het zal wellicht iets met die vele piratenfilms hebben te maken, maar eerlijkheidshalve ligt Johnny Depp bij ons al geruime tijd in de onderste lade. De laatste 20 jaar heeft hij geen enkele keer een normale vent gespeeld en je moet echt wel een zeer trouwe fan zijn om ondertussen zijn sprookjesimago niet beu te zijn. In Transcendence is het weer van dat! Je zou je misschien wel gelukkig kunnen prijzen omdat hij na dertig minuten omver wordt geknald, helaas herrijst Dr. Will Caster (Depp dus) in een computerprogramma. Samen met echtgenote Evelyn (Rebecca Hall) heeft hij zijn hele leven geprobeerd om het menselijke bewustzijn in één of ander computerprogramma te transformeren. Helaas voor hem wordt hij neergeschoten en hij heeft nog welgeteld vier weken te leven. Caster besluit om zelf voor proefdier te spelen en laadt daarom zijn bewustzijn in het programma op. En jawel, na zijn dood verschijnen de eerste groene zinnetjes op een computerscherm. Casters geest leeft voort via de computer! Eventjes is vrouwlief Evelyn dolgelukkig, maar de Caster uit het hiernamaals blijkt niet zo’n goede bedoelingen met onze wereld te hebben!

Typisch voer voor een Depp-vehikel dus. Een ongeloofwaardig scenario met de meest debiele bochten dat bovendien gebukt gaat onder een hoge dosis ziekmakende meligheid. Met de vertolkingen is het al even erg gesteld. De cast bestaat wel uit een hele resem sterren, maar alles wordt slaapwekkend gespeeld en het is vooral veel te clichématig. Cillian Murphy ziet er als FBI-agent ronduit lullig uit en we hebben het ondertussen ook wel gehad met Morgan Freeman, die nog maar eens een oude geleerde man speelt. De grootste ontgoocheling is de regie. Normaliter zou je veel mogen verwachten van het filmdebuut van Wally Pfister (de director of photography van Christopher Nolan). Mooi neen dus! Pfister is zeker geen Nolan, je ziet dat hij naar hem opkijkt, maar zijn werk is niet meer dan een fotokopie die afkomstig is van een defect kopieerapparaat. Hopelijk zijn we binnenkort meer tevreden over Into The Woods mijnheer Depp!

Transcendence is uit op Belga Films, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
16/12/2014


16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall