tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

24/12/2015 : WHISPERING SONS - Ghent, Kinky Star (23/12/2015)

WHISPERING SONS

Ghent, Kinky Star (23/12/2015)

Concert
24/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Years ago, a huge queue was waiting on the pavement of the Kinky Star (music club in Ghent-ed.). Back then, a completely unknown band (but with a great reputation) was playing. The name: SX. The rest is history and that could be repeated for the Leuven-based post-punk group Whispering Sons.

After their brilliant demo of last year, their newest release Endless Party is out as a tape on Wool-E Tapes. At Kinky Star, these youngsters presented this release and just as with SX, the music club (almost) was too small for them.We still do not understand how in 2015 a young singer (Fenne Kuppens) wears a T-shirt of Felt or how a young drummer (Sander Pelsmaekers) wears one of The Sound. Perhaps it is a matter of having parents with the right taste (who knows), the fact is that Whispering Sons is the best thing that could happen to the Belgian music scene. That was not only Peek-A-Boo’s feeling, everyone at Kinky Star seemed to think that way.

Frowning? You've heard enough post-punk bands that are a copy of Editors and White Lies by now? Well, that is exactly what they’re not! When seeing Whispering Sons, it feels like you take a trip with a time machine and end up in say 1983. Whispering Sons not only sounds like post-punk, it probably is the only Belgian cold wave band that really sounds like cold wave!

Equally important is Fenne’s voice. Her deep Nico-esque voice makes the music of Whispering Sons even darker and more poignant. The tracks (even if they are only available on a tape!) are pure world class!

After 40 minutes, everyone knows that soon Whispering Sons could be a very important group. They deserve it, let's just hope that this will not affect the spontaneity of this band... It would be a shame, melancholy sounds beautiful..

Endless Party is out on Wool-E Tapes. A must for your wave collection!

Didier BECU
24/12/2015


NL

Jaren geleden stond er een enorme wachtrij op de stoep van de Kinky Star. Een toen volslagen onbekende band (maar met een geweldige reputatie ) zou in het kleine muziekcafé een optreden geven. Hun naam: SX. De rest is geschiedenis en zo’n geschiedenis zou zich kunnen herhalen met de Leuvense postpunkformatie Whispering Sons.

Nadat ze verleden jaar een geniale demo uitbrachten, is er nu Endless Party als tape op Wool-E Tapes. De Kinky Star was de plek waar deze release werd voorgesteld en net zoals bij SX, was het café (bijna) te klein voor deze jonge wolven.

We begrijpen niet hoe het komt dat anno 2015 een jonge zangeres (Fenne Kuppens) een T-shirt van Felt draagt en dat de al even jonge drummer (Sander Pelsmaekers) pronkt met eentje van The Sound. Wellicht is het een kwestie van ouders met de juiste smaak (wie weet), feit is dat Whispering Sons zowat het beste is wat de Belgische muziekscène kon overkomen. Dat dacht gisteren niet alleen Peek-A-Boo, ook iedere aanwezige in de Kinky Star.

Je fronst de wenkbrauwen? Je hebt ondertussen al genoeg postpunkbandjes gehoord die een doorslag zijn van Editors of White Lies? Dat is deze groep nou net niet! Als je Whispering Sons ziet, heb je het gevoel dat je met een tijdsmachine ergens in 1983 bent beland. Whispering Sons klinkt niet alleen postpunk, het is wellicht de enige Belgische coldwaveband die echt als coldwave klinkt!

Minstens even belangrijk is Fennes stem. Haar diepe Nico-achtige stem maakt de muziek van Whispering Sons nog donkerder en aangrijpender. De nummers (ook al staan ze maar op een tape!) zijn van eenzame wereldklasse!

Na 40 minuten beseft eenieder dat Whispering Sons wel eens een zeer belangrijke groep zou kunnen worden. Het is hun van harte gegund, laten we alleen hopen dat het de spontaneïteit van deze band niet zal beïnvloeden… Het zou zonde zijn, weemoed klinkt nu eenmaal prachtig.

Endless Party is uit via Wool-E Tapes. Een hebbeding dat gewoon in je wavecollectie moet!

Didier BECU
24/12/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
13
06
LISSA GARRED & JULES MAXWELL
Noyalain (Burn) (Official Video)
12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth