tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : WHISPERING SONS/ GRAND BLANC - Brussels, Botanique (09/03/2016)

WHISPERING SONS/ GRAND BLANC

Brussels, Botanique (09/03/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016

EN

In exactly one month, we know whether Whispering Sons is the winner of the Rock Rally (the most important rock contest in Belgium-ed.) or not. The answer actually depends on the other nine candidates, as after the selections, only quality remains. Whispering Sons certainly has quality, but there’s an additional factor. Everyone is enthusiastic about this band. On every gig you meet people who see the band for the first time. Not out of curiosity only, but because of the rave reviews (from Belgian top musicians to your favorite website). The expectations are (sometimes frightening) high. That was the same in the Botanique yesterday.

I had the luck to see this band grow. In a few months (three?) Whispering Sons has become a very mature band, and even a defect cable couldn’t change that. By every gig Fenne’s voice is getting darker, and the new songs (performance) too. While the boys make irresistible contemporary cold wave, Fenne cries out her demons. Whispering Sons impresses, and every music fan asks himself what will be the result next year. We dare to say: a very high level. They probably can’t believe it themselves, but five months ago no one knew who they were, now they play in one of the most beautiful venues in the country. If you see them, you can only come to one conclusion: they deserve to win the Rock Rally!

In all honestly, we thought the combination of Whispering Sons with Grand Blanc was a bit weird. The sole thing these bands have in common, is the love for 80's music, and that cable too, as it sounds quite ridiculous to say, but they had indeed the same technical problem! But there it stops. Whispering Sons is a bunch of youngsters that uses the stage to let out the inner demons, while the band of Paris uses it for making a party. Grand Blanc surely is an energetic band. Female singer Camille (the male vocals are done by Benoit) could charm us with her voice and synths (and yes with her lovely face too), but at the end of the day the result was uninspired pop. In the best case you can say Grand Blanc sounds like Vive La Fête, or even Taxi Girl, but the main problem is that the band has a too friendly image. After each song Benoit invited us to rebuild the venue into a discotheque, and he even asked us to take our neighbour by the hand and start a dance. I guess we were just not ready to become party animals after the intense beauty of the support act. Grand Blanc never got better than average.


09/12/2016


NL

Het duurt nog exact één maand vooraleer we weten of Whispering Sons de felbegeerde eerste plaats in de Rock Rally verovert of niet. Het antwoord is eigenlijk afhankelijk van de andere 9 kandidaten. Het kaf is ondertussen al lang van het koren gescheiden en alleen kwaliteit blijft over. Dat hebben Whispering Sons zeker, maar daar komt nog een extra factor bij. Zowat iedereen is laaiend enthousiast over deze band. Bij ieder optreden ontmoet je mensen die de band willen ontdekken. Ze zijn daar niet louter uit nieuwsgierigheid, maar wegens de lovende kritieken (van Stijn Meuris tot jullie favoriete website) zijn de verwachtingen van de toeschouwers (soms angstaanjagend) hoog. Dat was gisteren niet anders in de Botanique, want hoewel de hoofdact (Grand Blanc) volslagen onbekend is in het Nederlandstalige landsgedeelte, bleken toch heel wat Vlamingen afgezakt te zijn naar Brussel om deze jonge wolven aan het werk te zien.

Zelf heb ik het geluk gehad om deze band te zien groeien. Whispering Sons is op een paar maanden (drie?) een zeer volwassen band geworden, en daar kon zelfs een defecte kabel die na de eerste track voor een ongevraagde rustpauze zorgde, niets aan veranderen. De stem van Fenne wordt met ieder optreden donkerder en de nieuwe songs (Performance) worden dat ook. De jongens zorgen voor een onweerstaanbaar coldwavegeluid, terwijl Fenne werkelijk haar demonen uitschreeuwt waardoor je kippenvel krijgt. Whispering Sons imponeert en je vraagt je als muziekfan af hoe ver deze band na één jaar zal staan. Wij durven gokken op verschrikkelijk ver. Waarschijnlijk kunnen ze het zelf nog niet geloven, maar vijf maanden geleden wist geen mens wie ze waren, nu staan ze in één van de mooiste zalen van het land en binnen een maand kunnen ze bewijzen dat ze het Belgische talent van 2016 zijn. Wie deze jonge mensen aan het werk ziet, kan maar tot één conclusie komen: het is hun van harte gegund!

Eerlijkheidshalve vonden we de combinatie van Whispering Sons en de hoofdact Grand Blanc wat vreemd. Het enige wat de twee bands met elkaar gemeen hebben is de liefde voor de jaren 80. Terwijl we bij Whispering Sons jonge zielen zagen die het podium gebruiken om hun innerlijke demonen uit te spuwen, benutte Grand Blanc uit Parijs de bühne louter voor een fatsoenlijk feestje. Aan energie was er geen tekort, hoewel zangeres Camille (afgewisseld met de stem van Benoit) ons zowel met haar stem als synths (en ja, ook met haar mooie snoetje) kon bekoren, bleef het helaas bij oppervlakkige pop. In het beste geval klonk Grand Blanc als Vive La Fête, of zelfs Taxi Girl, desalniettemin zagen we meestal een band die net iets te sympathiek was. De bindteksten logen er niet om, want telkens werden we uitgenodigd om van de Rotonde een discotheek te maken of om met onze buurman/vrouw een slow in te zetten. Misschien was de mokerslag van het voorprogramma net iets te hard om ons vliegensvlug tot feestvarkens om te toveren, verder dan “goede middelmaat” kwam Grand Blanc gisteren evenwel niet.


09/12/2016


Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall