tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : WOLJAGER - Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

WOLJAGER

Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

MusicCD
Dark FolkNeofolk

[90/100]   

Prophecy Productions
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the debut of Marcel Dreckmann, and it is very different from what he does with his band Helrunar (extreme metal), although the acoustic intros show some similarities.

The album is a tribute to the Münster region and Freckmann sings in local dialect. The music is a kind of neo-folk or dark folk with acoustic guitars, violin and strings. Along with the warm, dark voice of Dreckmann, we hear some nice songs. Vüörgeschicht opens the album. The strings (and lyre?) give the music a wistful atmosphere and when the acoustic guitar appears at the end, it opens the way for Van t Lieuwen un Stiäwen (which means something like about life and death). This track contains folk elements and it sounds melancholic and nostalgic. A top track. Simple and from the heart.

The album contains some instrumental songs like Magdalene and Aolle Schwatters Foërt To'n Deibel, songs without words that have a lot to say. Kuem To Me is an uptempo track that sounds brighter and more cheerful, with a sing-along chorus. Junge Dään is accessible and sounds lighter than most songs. Also worth hearing are tracks like Glass Löp Rask (pure folk) and Vettainachtain (dark folk).

In thirteen songs, Marcel Dreckmann takes us on a folk trip through the 'old' Münster. Sometimes it sounds dark, sometimes nostalgic, narrative or conversational. It certainly is a very impressive debut, available on CD with beautiful artwork.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Dit is het debuut van Marcel Dreckmann en heel andere koek dan wat hij met zijn band Helrunar doet (extreme metal), alhoewel de acoustische intro’s wel gelijkenissen vertonen.

Het album is een ode aan de regio Münster, gezongen in een plaatselijk dialect. De muzikale omlijsting is een soort van neofolk, darkfolk met uit akoestische gitaren, viool en strijkers. Samen met de warme en donkere stem van Dreckmann horen we sfeervolle en warme songs. Vüörgeschicht is een lang uitgesponnen intro die het album opent. De strijkers (en lier?) geven het muziekstukje een weemoedige sfeer en als op het einde de akoestische gitaar verschijnt, maakt die de weg vrij voor Van t Lieuwen un Stiäwen (dat zoveel betekent als Over Leven en dood). Deze track bevat naast de folkelementen ook de nodige melancholie en nostalgie in de zang. Een toptrack. Eenvoudig en uit het hart.

Het album bevat een aantal instrumentale liedjes zoals Magdalene en De Aolle Schwatters Foërt To’n Deibel, songs die toch zonder woorden veel lijken te vertellen. Kuem To Me is een uptempo track die lichter en opgewekter klinkt met een heel meezingbaar refrein. Ook Junge Dään is toegankelijker en klinkt lichter dan de meeste songs. Andere tracks stralen een soort verlangen uit naar een voorbije tijd. Ook de moeite zijn tracks zoals Dat Glas Löp Rask (pure folk) en Vettainachtain (darkfolk).

Zo neemt Marcel Dreckmann ons in dertien songs mee op een folktrip doorheen het ‘oude’ Münster. Soms donker, nostalgisch en dan weer verhalend of gemoedelijk. Zonder meer een heel indrukwekkend debuut dat verkrijgbaar is op CD voorzien van mooi artwork.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : WOLJAGER - Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen 10/12/2016 : WOLJAGER - Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything