tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/02/2014 : XMH - In Your Face

XMH

In Your Face

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMElectroFuture PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Synth Pop / Electro PopTechnoTrance/Rave

[99/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
13/02/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

XMH already offered us a a great EP on their new label A. Matrix! 'The Business' (coming from that EP) is an incoming bomb, a real dance floor filler! After the great path they took this is another step forward and let's hope they are launched for good! The happy tune, nice slashing, screaming, and the great voices (Isa and Benjamin)...

'Product' sounds very nice with Europop sound, some cool break beats, nicely mixed with the harsh voice and the nice voice (Isa did a great job). This one is yet again a dance floor filler! I hope a lot of DJ's will play it! I love the lyrics, this song sounds so true, so real! XMH got you by the balls with this song! These 2 passed songs where real hitters during their last gig at the Terra Gottha!

'Snakes' was already a big hit, for sure live! It's worth to get this song, with a high 'La la la' sound, magical beats that make you dance and jump around! This song is like snakes targetting you, they will only let you go if you fall for it! Great song, a real pearl!

'Forever' is again a great footstomping hitter where Isa and Benjamin join forces and lift the song to a higher level, asking not to hold them back and for sure don't make them stop when they are hard hitting the dance floor! Full throttle and dance until the sweat makes the floor slippery!

'Great and Unfortunate Things' has a nice soft side, for sure on the vocals of Benjamin. It's great to hear his softer side. The sound is a bit floating on a Europop level, thou it explodes a bit after a while. It sounds a bit more like a retro song and a bit like VNV nation... It's a great song to catch some breath after all these hard hitters!

'The Blind' starts with a nice piano before changing into a very energetic song, again with the voices nicely blending in (all 3). Great synths, great beats, great sound, great mixing! The future is XMH, even a blind one can hear that! The piano break is a nice interlude too, making us ready for the last bomb! This one is truely a great song!

'Failing Technology' has a nice intro, with even a classical music touch (synth violins)! I absolutely love the lyrics, as indeed: what would happen if technology fails? It's for sure a more phylosophycal song!

'In Your Face' is the titletrack and is the kind of song to play at maximum volume (almost like a botsauto song)! Stumping and roaring beats, a high tempo, something that sounds like a guitar, firing vocals and a great techno sound! Love the shouting! This is indeed a bomb! The sampled voices are well choosen for this one! The rave has started! Is there any DJ who wont play this song, is my only question?

'System Collapse' has great - once again - great lyrics and dito theme! The lyrical content is at same level as the music! It's clearly a song that comes from their hart, fuelled with emotions and rage! A jewel!

'Stiere Und Schwule', first thing that pops up into my head is: in German? But the few words and lines are sampled. It's a IDM or should I say a real techno orientated and techno driven song. Sounds like a great clubber!

'Lay You To Waste' has the same vibe as on the latest Funker Vogt and if you count in the lyrics my toughts are simply logical. I simply love the roaring techno sound! Yet another clubber!

'The One That Ends It All' is an instrumental piece, to end it all... not the kind of song I would end of as a closing song. At least it's something different from the rest of the album and shows off their other talent: creating a great sound and athmosphere. Here we get the more theatrical side of XMH! It's all in all a good song!

I'm doubting to give it a total of 100 points... but it's very close to it! XMH is the future and the future looks bright! Now go and sweat it off! Haven't you already bought the cd?

Most of the remixes have already been reviewed on the EP, and I loved them:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/xmh-the-business-ep/

The Terra Gotha review:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/firemen-of-death-xmh-implant-k-bereit-synthetica-terra-gotha-xxi-vlissingen-the-netherlands-25-01-2014/

Our interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/xmh-297/

TRACK-LISTING

CD1

1 The Business

2 Product

3 Snakes

4 Forever

5 Great And Unfortunate Things

6 The Blind

7 Failing Technology

8 In Your Face

9 System Collapse

10 Stiere Und Schwule

11 Lay You To Waste

12 The One That Ends It All

 

CD2

01 Product (HEIMATAERDE remix)

02 Great And Unfortunate Things (ASHBURY HEIGHTS remix)

03 The Business (LEAETHER STRIP remix)

04 Forever (THE DREAMSIDE remix)

05 Failing Technology (BEYOND VIOLET remix)

06 The Blind (CONSUMER JUNK remix)

07 Snakes (GRENDEL remix)

08 Product (TYSKE LUDDER remix)

09 Failing Technology (IMPLANT remix)

10 The Business (DECODED FEEDBACK remix)

11 Snakes (HELALYN FLOWERS remix)

12 Failing Technology (LA LUNE NOIRE remix)

13 Snakes (JUNKSISTA remix)

Videotrailer for the album:

http://t.co/qbQVEXXnAk

Pre-order your copy at alfa-matrix now

XMH wil perform in Berlin, 31/5/2014 at Synthage Festival, here’s the hyperlink: Synthage Festival

Filip VAN MUYLEM
13/02/2014


 

Next reviews
TINTO BRASS • Cheeky
DON SIEGEL • The Killers
FAUNLET • Fauna of the heart, Flora from beyond
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
PETER WEBBER • Emperor
BRIAN DE PALMA • Phantom Of The Paradise
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy
BAK XIII • In Omnia Paratus
MAGGIE CAREY • The to do list
GEORGE SARAH • Timelapse

 

Other reviews from XMH
XMH • The Blind
XMH • The Business EP
XMH • XMH live at Infest, Bradford University, UK, 25/08/2013

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear

 

Same genre: EBM
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen

 

Same genre: TRANCE/RAVE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
GLENN LOVE • (R)age Electric (EP)
KONER • Die Babbie
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
JUNO REACTOR • The Golden Sun… Remixed
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • Original Fascination #2
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)