tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/05/2011 : 16 VOLT - Beating Dead Horses

16 VOLT

Beating Dead Horses

MusicCD
IndustrialMetal

[83/100]   

Metropolis Records
05/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

It seems like the American metal-indusband 16 Volt has a predilection for provoking album titles. Two years ago they released a cd called “American porn songs”, and now they are coming up with a title that goes like “Beating Dead Horses”.

So far, 16 Volt are unknown in Europe but in America they can count on a supporting following and soon this band around Eric Powell and Mike Peoples will be touring in the land of Stars and Stripes with My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult.

The new cd from this band that got founded in 1998 contains 13 songs and even if a song like “Veins” has its metal-influence, there’s no doubt that “Beating dead horses” is in the first place a melodic metalindus-record that has almost the same impact as Combichrist had with the excellent “Making Monsters” -album.

You got it right, 16 Volt are the type of band that are influenced by the likes of Front Line Assembly, the later Skinny Puppy or Killing Joke, even if tracks like “The wasteland that is me” and “Sick sick sick” have a typical 16 Volt-sound.

Buy it and let’s thumb these lads are playing somewhere in your area quite soon!

 

16 Volt

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


NL

Het lijkt er sterk op dat de Amerikaanse metal-indusband 16 Volt een voorliefde heeft voor provocerende albumtitels. Slaagden ze er twee jaar geleden in om met een cdtitel als “American porn songs” op de proppen te komen, dan is er nu “Beating Dead Horses”.

Hier zijn 16 Volt nog volslagen onbekend maar in Amerika kan de groep die opgericht is rondom Eric Powell en Mike Peoples weldra gaan toeren met My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult.

De nieuwe cd van deze groep, die opgericht werd in 1998, bevat 13 nummers en ook al bezit “Veins” vrij ruige metaalinvloeden, er is geen twijfel mogelijk dat “Beating dead horses” in de eerste plaats een melodische metal-indusplaat geworden die dezelfde impact maakte als Combichrist met hun vrij imposante “Making Monsters” –album van vorig jaar.

Inderdaad, 16 Volt is het soort groep dat beïnvloed is door Front Line Assembly, de latere Skinny Puppy of zelfs Killing Joke, ook al zorgen nummers als “The wasteland that is me” of “Sick sick sick” voor een meer dan.eigen geluid.

Aanschaffen en duimen dat deze jongens langskomen in onze contreien.

 

16 Volt

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


 

Next reviews
SOMNAMBULIST • Withered Land
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth
JULIEN SOULIER & VINCENT FALLACARA • Rapsodies Emosexuelles
MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY • Untold world
CHROMAGAIN • Any colour we liked
ANTAL SZERB • The Pendragon Legend | De Pendragonlegende
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Interplay
PAUL CHAMBERS • Stations/Absorptions
FABIO ORSI • Wo ist Behle?

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
KMFDM • Kunst
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
MINUSHEART • The Big Idea
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping
BLUE STAHLI • Blue Stahli
DISMANTLED • The war inside me
ALTER RED • Mind-forged manacles
CAUSTIC • The golden vagina of fame and profit
INERTIA • Deworlded

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil

 

Same genre: METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
08
01
RUE OBERKAMPF
Negativraum
04
01
PLACEBO EFFECT
Shattered Souls
15
12
J:DEAD
Feeding on me

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
14
01
Today, 42 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!
12
01
Happy Birthday Rob Zombie! (56)
12
01
Happy birthday Blixa Bargeld (62)! (Einstürzende Neubauten)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
11
01
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
10
01
DAVID BOWIE
Modern Love
09
01
ANNIE LENNOX
God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen