tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/05/2011 : 16 VOLT - Beating Dead Horses

16 VOLT

Beating Dead Horses

MusicCD
IndustrialMetal

[83/100]   

Metropolis Records
05/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

It seems like the American metal-indusband 16 Volt has a predilection for provoking album titles. Two years ago they released a cd called “American porn songs”, and now they are coming up with a title that goes like “Beating Dead Horses”.

So far, 16 Volt are unknown in Europe but in America they can count on a supporting following and soon this band around Eric Powell and Mike Peoples will be touring in the land of Stars and Stripes with My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult.

The new cd from this band that got founded in 1998 contains 13 songs and even if a song like “Veins” has its metal-influence, there’s no doubt that “Beating dead horses” is in the first place a melodic metalindus-record that has almost the same impact as Combichrist had with the excellent “Making Monsters” -album.

You got it right, 16 Volt are the type of band that are influenced by the likes of Front Line Assembly, the later Skinny Puppy or Killing Joke, even if tracks like “The wasteland that is me” and “Sick sick sick” have a typical 16 Volt-sound.

Buy it and let’s thumb these lads are playing somewhere in your area quite soon!

 

16 Volt

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


NL

Het lijkt er sterk op dat de Amerikaanse metal-indusband 16 Volt een voorliefde heeft voor provocerende albumtitels. Slaagden ze er twee jaar geleden in om met een cdtitel als “American porn songs” op de proppen te komen, dan is er nu “Beating Dead Horses”.

Hier zijn 16 Volt nog volslagen onbekend maar in Amerika kan de groep die opgericht is rondom Eric Powell en Mike Peoples weldra gaan toeren met My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult.

De nieuwe cd van deze groep, die opgericht werd in 1998, bevat 13 nummers en ook al bezit “Veins” vrij ruige metaalinvloeden, er is geen twijfel mogelijk dat “Beating dead horses” in de eerste plaats een melodische metal-indusplaat geworden die dezelfde impact maakte als Combichrist met hun vrij imposante “Making Monsters” –album van vorig jaar.

Inderdaad, 16 Volt is het soort groep dat beïnvloed is door Front Line Assembly, de latere Skinny Puppy of zelfs Killing Joke, ook al zorgen nummers als “The wasteland that is me” of “Sick sick sick” voor een meer dan.eigen geluid.

Aanschaffen en duimen dat deze jongens langskomen in onze contreien.

 

16 Volt

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


 

Next reviews
SOMNAMBULIST • Withered Land
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth
JULIEN SOULIER & VINCENT FALLACARA • Rapsodies Emosexuelles
MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY • Untold world
CHROMAGAIN • Any colour we liked
ANTAL SZERB • The Pendragon Legend | De Pendragonlegende
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Interplay
PAUL CHAMBERS • Stations/Absorptions
FABIO ORSI • Wo ist Behle?

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
KMFDM • Kunst
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
MINUSHEART • The Big Idea
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping
BLUE STAHLI • Blue Stahli
DISMANTLED • The war inside me
ALTER RED • Mind-forged manacles
CAUSTIC • The golden vagina of fame and profit
INERTIA • Deworlded

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small

 

Same genre: METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)