tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/06/2011 : ALTER RED - Mind-forged manacles

ALTER RED

Mind-forged manacles

MusicCD
ElectroElectro RockGothicIndustrialMetalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[61/100]   
08/06/2011, Didier BECU

It has always been weird to see how dark sounds has been neglected in the UK and then especially by its press. The weeklies might have been hip (or still are, we really don’t know) but from the moment they saw a band who’s using mascara, it was more working like some red flag. Anyway, it’s not because you have some white painted face that's covered with red lipstick in Joker style that this makes you Goth, not even mentioning that it is a guarantee to be liked by the Goth magazines.

This band, Alter Red, formed in 2008. According to themselves, they make a very own mix from electronic beats and avant-garde-piano, topped off with powerful and soaring vocals. With a sound that’s been influenced by the likes of NIN, Depeche Mode but also glam stars like Bowie or IAMX, they have succeed in forming a fan base that consists of both Goths and indie fans. Something we definitely reckon.

 When opener “Like April fools” was blasting out of our speakers, we thought we were dealing with the newest Apoptygma Berzerk but the more the record reaches its end, the more we had Jesus Jones in mind, if anyone remembers them! Songs like “The patient” show indeed the admiration Alter Red has for Bowie as this cabaret-like pop made us think of what The Thin White Duke was doing during his “Hunky Dory”-days.

“Mind forged manacles” is the debut of a band that already shared the stage with KMFDM, Rotersand, Assemblage 23, Straftanz and Combichrist.

It’s not an album that will immediately blow you away as for this both the songs and vocals are too weak but for those who like industrial glam pop (and especially pop): they will possibly like this.

Didier BECU
08/06/2011


 

Next reviews
MIKHAIL BULGAKOV • The Master and Margarita | De meester en Margarita
ATTILA BARTIS • Tranquility | Rust
ROEDELIUS • Piano Piano
NOSTALGIE ETERNELLE • Nostalgie éternelle EP
CAUSTIC • The golden vagina of fame and profit
STELLARDRIVE • ERS-4: Speak, Memory
INERTIA • Deworlded
IKON • VENDEMMIAN | ERATO | INTENS | Beveren, Togenblik | 04/06/2011 | Back to the old school
SEVENTH HARMONIC • Garden Of Dilmun
DEKAD • Monophonic

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
KMFDM • Hyena
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me