tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/06/2011 : ALTER RED - Mind-forged manacles

ALTER RED

Mind-forged manacles

MusicCD
ElectroElectro RockGothicIndustrialMetalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[61/100]   
08/06/2011, Didier BECU

It has always been weird to see how dark sounds has been neglected in the UK and then especially by its press. The weeklies might have been hip (or still are, we really don’t know) but from the moment they saw a band who’s using mascara, it was more working like some red flag. Anyway, it’s not because you have some white painted face that's covered with red lipstick in Joker style that this makes you Goth, not even mentioning that it is a guarantee to be liked by the Goth magazines.

This band, Alter Red, formed in 2008. According to themselves, they make a very own mix from electronic beats and avant-garde-piano, topped off with powerful and soaring vocals. With a sound that’s been influenced by the likes of NIN, Depeche Mode but also glam stars like Bowie or IAMX, they have succeed in forming a fan base that consists of both Goths and indie fans. Something we definitely reckon.

 When opener “Like April fools” was blasting out of our speakers, we thought we were dealing with the newest Apoptygma Berzerk but the more the record reaches its end, the more we had Jesus Jones in mind, if anyone remembers them! Songs like “The patient” show indeed the admiration Alter Red has for Bowie as this cabaret-like pop made us think of what The Thin White Duke was doing during his “Hunky Dory”-days.

“Mind forged manacles” is the debut of a band that already shared the stage with KMFDM, Rotersand, Assemblage 23, Straftanz and Combichrist.

It’s not an album that will immediately blow you away as for this both the songs and vocals are too weak but for those who like industrial glam pop (and especially pop): they will possibly like this.

Didier BECU
08/06/2011


 

Next reviews
MIKHAIL BULGAKOV • The Master and Margarita | De meester en Margarita
ATTILA BARTIS • Tranquility | Rust
ROEDELIUS • Piano Piano
NOSTALGIE ETERNELLE • Nostalgie éternelle EP
CAUSTIC • The golden vagina of fame and profit
STELLARDRIVE • ERS-4: Speak, Memory
INERTIA • Deworlded
IKON • VENDEMMIAN | ERATO | INTENS | Beveren, Togenblik | 04/06/2011 | Back to the old school
SEVENTH HARMONIC • Garden Of Dilmun
DEKAD • Monophonic

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night

 

Same genre: METAL
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty

Music reviews

20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom