tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/06/2011 : INERTIA - Deworlded

INERTIA

Deworlded

MusicCD
IndustrialMetal

[52/100]   

Cryonica
07/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

Inertia is a UK band founded by Reza Udhin, who also plays keyboard with Killing Joke. This year they celebrate their 20th anniversary with a brand new album ‘Deworlded’.

Through my first couple of listens to the album, I tried to decipher the different songs, to find something that stood out, and miserably failed. All I could hear was a chain of interchangeable intro’s and similar beats.

The first moment you can catch a refreshing breath is during ‘Strange Familiar’ which is a completely instrumental track and a relief because this means there is no vox coder used. The welcome breeze lasts a couple minutes longer as in ‘Gone’ we are treated to, it has to be said, beautiful female vocals.

Unfortunately after that everything seems to blend together again until we reach the last song ‘Capture’. It’s a bit of a pity you have to fight your way through the entire album before you even get the smallest hint of what Udhin’s voice actually sounds like without modern technology.

Three songs aren’t nearly enough to make me run to the shop to buy their 13th album. However, I might just go and fight my way through some of the back catalogue to check what they sounded like pre ‘Voice-Enhancement-Era’. I have to admit, all this technical magic isn’t my cup of tea but then again, it’s all a matter of personal taste, right?

Melissa BAUWENS
07/06/2011


NL

Inertia is een band uit de UK rond zanger Reza Udhin, die we vooral kennen als toetsenist bij Killing Joke. Dit jaar vieren ze hun 20ste verjaardag met hun nieuwe album ‘Deworlded’.

Doorheen mijn eerste luisterbeurt probeerde ik om ook maar enig onderscheid tussen de nummers te ontdekken, iets wat boven de rest uitstak, zonder enig succes. De eerste indruk is een aaneenschakeling van identieke intro’s, en gelijkaardige beats die steeds terugkeren.

Eerste lichtpuntje ontdekken we in het nummer ‘Strange Familiar’, alleen al omdat het een instrumentaal nummer is en dat dus betekent dat er geen Vox Coder gebruikt is. En we mogen nog iets langer genieten van de frisse bries want in het volgende nummer ‘Gone’ worden we getrakteerd op de, het moet gezegd, op een prachtige vrouwelijke stem.

Jammer genoeg is het nadien terug naar af, tot het laatste nummer ‘Capture’. Het is een beetje teleurstellend dat men zich door het volledige album moet worstelen om te horen hoe Udhin’s stem klinkt zonde de hulp van moderne technologie. Want het resultaat mag er zeker zijn.

Drie nummers zijn lang niet voldoende om mij naar de winkel te doen reppen, maar wie weet zoek ik in een onbewaakt moment wel eens op hoe ze klonken voor het tijdperk van de stemvervorming. Ik geef grif toe dat al die technische snufjes niet helemaal mijn ding zijn, maar over smaak valt niet te twisten, toch?

Melissa BAUWENS
07/06/2011


 

Next reviews
IKON • VENDEMMIAN | ERATO | INTENS | Beveren, Togenblik | 04/06/2011 | Back to the old school
SEVENTH HARMONIC • Garden Of Dilmun
DEKAD • Monophonic
REIZSTROM • Gitarre Kaputt
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP
MILITIA • Power! Propaganda! Production!
DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT • I declare: treason
COMBAT VOICE • The last flow
SCUMBAG PHILOSOPHER • It means nothing so it means nothing
ROBOTIKO REJEKTO • Umsturz Jetzt!

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
KMFDM • Kunst
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
MINUSHEART • The Big Idea
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping
BLUE STAHLI • Blue Stahli
DISMANTLED • The war inside me
ALTER RED • Mind-forged manacles
CAUSTIC • The golden vagina of fame and profit
DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT • I declare: treason

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

24
04
THE MEMBRANES
What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

22
04
CHARLES DE GOAL
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
STILL PATIENT ?
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
THE INVICIBLE SPIRIT
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
21
04
JO QUAIL
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
24
04
DECODED FEEDBACK
Waiting For The Storm
23
04
AEX
Selected Memories
22
04
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE
Old Track
21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum