tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/06/2011 : INERTIA - Deworlded

INERTIA

Deworlded

MusicCD
IndustrialMetal

[52/100]   

Cryonica
07/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

Inertia is a UK band founded by Reza Udhin, who also plays keyboard with Killing Joke. This year they celebrate their 20th anniversary with a brand new album ‘Deworlded’.

Through my first couple of listens to the album, I tried to decipher the different songs, to find something that stood out, and miserably failed. All I could hear was a chain of interchangeable intro’s and similar beats.

The first moment you can catch a refreshing breath is during ‘Strange Familiar’ which is a completely instrumental track and a relief because this means there is no vox coder used. The welcome breeze lasts a couple minutes longer as in ‘Gone’ we are treated to, it has to be said, beautiful female vocals.

Unfortunately after that everything seems to blend together again until we reach the last song ‘Capture’. It’s a bit of a pity you have to fight your way through the entire album before you even get the smallest hint of what Udhin’s voice actually sounds like without modern technology.

Three songs aren’t nearly enough to make me run to the shop to buy their 13th album. However, I might just go and fight my way through some of the back catalogue to check what they sounded like pre ‘Voice-Enhancement-Era’. I have to admit, all this technical magic isn’t my cup of tea but then again, it’s all a matter of personal taste, right?

Melissa BAUWENS
07/06/2011


NL

Inertia is een band uit de UK rond zanger Reza Udhin, die we vooral kennen als toetsenist bij Killing Joke. Dit jaar vieren ze hun 20ste verjaardag met hun nieuwe album ‘Deworlded’.

Doorheen mijn eerste luisterbeurt probeerde ik om ook maar enig onderscheid tussen de nummers te ontdekken, iets wat boven de rest uitstak, zonder enig succes. De eerste indruk is een aaneenschakeling van identieke intro’s, en gelijkaardige beats die steeds terugkeren.

Eerste lichtpuntje ontdekken we in het nummer ‘Strange Familiar’, alleen al omdat het een instrumentaal nummer is en dat dus betekent dat er geen Vox Coder gebruikt is. En we mogen nog iets langer genieten van de frisse bries want in het volgende nummer ‘Gone’ worden we getrakteerd op de, het moet gezegd, op een prachtige vrouwelijke stem.

Jammer genoeg is het nadien terug naar af, tot het laatste nummer ‘Capture’. Het is een beetje teleurstellend dat men zich door het volledige album moet worstelen om te horen hoe Udhin’s stem klinkt zonde de hulp van moderne technologie. Want het resultaat mag er zeker zijn.

Drie nummers zijn lang niet voldoende om mij naar de winkel te doen reppen, maar wie weet zoek ik in een onbewaakt moment wel eens op hoe ze klonken voor het tijdperk van de stemvervorming. Ik geef grif toe dat al die technische snufjes niet helemaal mijn ding zijn, maar over smaak valt niet te twisten, toch?

Melissa BAUWENS
07/06/2011


 

Next reviews
IKON • VENDEMMIAN | ERATO | INTENS | Beveren, Togenblik | 04/06/2011 | Back to the old school
SEVENTH HARMONIC • Garden Of Dilmun
DEKAD • Monophonic
REIZSTROM • Gitarre Kaputt
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP
MILITIA • Power! Propaganda! Production!
DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT • I declare: treason
COMBAT VOICE • The last flow
SCUMBAG PHILOSOPHER • It means nothing so it means nothing
ROBOTIKO REJEKTO • Umsturz Jetzt!

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
KMFDM • Kunst
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
MINUSHEART • The Big Idea
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping
BLUE STAHLI • Blue Stahli
DISMANTLED • The war inside me
ALTER RED • Mind-forged manacles
CAUSTIC • The golden vagina of fame and profit
DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT • I declare: treason

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise