tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/06/2011 : INERTIA - Deworlded

INERTIA

Deworlded

MusicCD
IndustrialMetal

[52/100]   

Cryonica
07/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

Inertia is a UK band founded by Reza Udhin, who also plays keyboard with Killing Joke. This year they celebrate their 20th anniversary with a brand new album ‘Deworlded’.

Through my first couple of listens to the album, I tried to decipher the different songs, to find something that stood out, and miserably failed. All I could hear was a chain of interchangeable intro’s and similar beats.

The first moment you can catch a refreshing breath is during ‘Strange Familiar’ which is a completely instrumental track and a relief because this means there is no vox coder used. The welcome breeze lasts a couple minutes longer as in ‘Gone’ we are treated to, it has to be said, beautiful female vocals.

Unfortunately after that everything seems to blend together again until we reach the last song ‘Capture’. It’s a bit of a pity you have to fight your way through the entire album before you even get the smallest hint of what Udhin’s voice actually sounds like without modern technology.

Three songs aren’t nearly enough to make me run to the shop to buy their 13th album. However, I might just go and fight my way through some of the back catalogue to check what they sounded like pre ‘Voice-Enhancement-Era’. I have to admit, all this technical magic isn’t my cup of tea but then again, it’s all a matter of personal taste, right?

Melissa BAUWENS
07/06/2011


NL

Inertia is een band uit de UK rond zanger Reza Udhin, die we vooral kennen als toetsenist bij Killing Joke. Dit jaar vieren ze hun 20ste verjaardag met hun nieuwe album ‘Deworlded’.

Doorheen mijn eerste luisterbeurt probeerde ik om ook maar enig onderscheid tussen de nummers te ontdekken, iets wat boven de rest uitstak, zonder enig succes. De eerste indruk is een aaneenschakeling van identieke intro’s, en gelijkaardige beats die steeds terugkeren.

Eerste lichtpuntje ontdekken we in het nummer ‘Strange Familiar’, alleen al omdat het een instrumentaal nummer is en dat dus betekent dat er geen Vox Coder gebruikt is. En we mogen nog iets langer genieten van de frisse bries want in het volgende nummer ‘Gone’ worden we getrakteerd op de, het moet gezegd, op een prachtige vrouwelijke stem.

Jammer genoeg is het nadien terug naar af, tot het laatste nummer ‘Capture’. Het is een beetje teleurstellend dat men zich door het volledige album moet worstelen om te horen hoe Udhin’s stem klinkt zonde de hulp van moderne technologie. Want het resultaat mag er zeker zijn.

Drie nummers zijn lang niet voldoende om mij naar de winkel te doen reppen, maar wie weet zoek ik in een onbewaakt moment wel eens op hoe ze klonken voor het tijdperk van de stemvervorming. Ik geef grif toe dat al die technische snufjes niet helemaal mijn ding zijn, maar over smaak valt niet te twisten, toch?

Melissa BAUWENS
07/06/2011


 

Next reviews
IKON • VENDEMMIAN | ERATO | INTENS | Beveren, Togenblik | 04/06/2011 | Back to the old school
SEVENTH HARMONIC • Garden Of Dilmun
DEKAD • Monophonic
REIZSTROM • Gitarre Kaputt
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP
MILITIA • Power! Propaganda! Production!
DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT • I declare: treason
COMBAT VOICE • The last flow
SCUMBAG PHILOSOPHER • It means nothing so it means nothing
ROBOTIKO REJEKTO • Umsturz Jetzt!

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + METAL
KMFDM • Kunst
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
MINUSHEART • The Big Idea
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping
BLUE STAHLI • Blue Stahli
DISMANTLED • The war inside me
ALTER RED • Mind-forged manacles
CAUSTIC • The golden vagina of fame and profit
DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT • I declare: treason
DIGICORE • Without freedom

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: METAL
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)