tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/06/2011 : INERTIA - Deworlded

INERTIA

Deworlded

MusicCD
IndustrialMetal

[52/100]   

Cryonica
07/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

Inertia is a UK band founded by Reza Udhin, who also plays keyboard with Killing Joke. This year they celebrate their 20th anniversary with a brand new album ‘Deworlded’.

Through my first couple of listens to the album, I tried to decipher the different songs, to find something that stood out, and miserably failed. All I could hear was a chain of interchangeable intro’s and similar beats.

The first moment you can catch a refreshing breath is during ‘Strange Familiar’ which is a completely instrumental track and a relief because this means there is no vox coder used. The welcome breeze lasts a couple minutes longer as in ‘Gone’ we are treated to, it has to be said, beautiful female vocals.

Unfortunately after that everything seems to blend together again until we reach the last song ‘Capture’. It’s a bit of a pity you have to fight your way through the entire album before you even get the smallest hint of what Udhin’s voice actually sounds like without modern technology.

Three songs aren’t nearly enough to make me run to the shop to buy their 13th album. However, I might just go and fight my way through some of the back catalogue to check what they sounded like pre ‘Voice-Enhancement-Era’. I have to admit, all this technical magic isn’t my cup of tea but then again, it’s all a matter of personal taste, right?

Melissa BAUWENS
07/06/2011


NL

Inertia is een band uit de UK rond zanger Reza Udhin, die we vooral kennen als toetsenist bij Killing Joke. Dit jaar vieren ze hun 20ste verjaardag met hun nieuwe album ‘Deworlded’.

Doorheen mijn eerste luisterbeurt probeerde ik om ook maar enig onderscheid tussen de nummers te ontdekken, iets wat boven de rest uitstak, zonder enig succes. De eerste indruk is een aaneenschakeling van identieke intro’s, en gelijkaardige beats die steeds terugkeren.

Eerste lichtpuntje ontdekken we in het nummer ‘Strange Familiar’, alleen al omdat het een instrumentaal nummer is en dat dus betekent dat er geen Vox Coder gebruikt is. En we mogen nog iets langer genieten van de frisse bries want in het volgende nummer ‘Gone’ worden we getrakteerd op de, het moet gezegd, op een prachtige vrouwelijke stem.

Jammer genoeg is het nadien terug naar af, tot het laatste nummer ‘Capture’. Het is een beetje teleurstellend dat men zich door het volledige album moet worstelen om te horen hoe Udhin’s stem klinkt zonde de hulp van moderne technologie. Want het resultaat mag er zeker zijn.

Drie nummers zijn lang niet voldoende om mij naar de winkel te doen reppen, maar wie weet zoek ik in een onbewaakt moment wel eens op hoe ze klonken voor het tijdperk van de stemvervorming. Ik geef grif toe dat al die technische snufjes niet helemaal mijn ding zijn, maar over smaak valt niet te twisten, toch?

Melissa BAUWENS
07/06/2011


 

Next reviews
IKON • VENDEMMIAN | ERATO | INTENS | Beveren, Togenblik | 04/06/2011 | Back to the old school
SEVENTH HARMONIC • Garden Of Dilmun
DEKAD • Monophonic
REIZSTROM • Gitarre Kaputt
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP
MILITIA • Power! Propaganda! Production!
DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT • I declare: treason
COMBAT VOICE • The last flow
SCUMBAG PHILOSOPHER • It means nothing so it means nothing
ROBOTIKO REJEKTO • Umsturz Jetzt!

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
KMFDM • Kunst
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
MINUSHEART • The Big Idea
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping
BLUE STAHLI • Blue Stahli
DISMANTLED • The war inside me
ALTER RED • Mind-forged manacles
CAUSTIC • The golden vagina of fame and profit
DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT • I declare: treason

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain