tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/06/2011 : INERTIA - Deworlded

INERTIA

Deworlded

MusicCD
IndustrialMetal

[52/100]   

Cryonica
07/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

Inertia is a UK band founded by Reza Udhin, who also plays keyboard with Killing Joke. This year they celebrate their 20th anniversary with a brand new album ‘Deworlded’.

Through my first couple of listens to the album, I tried to decipher the different songs, to find something that stood out, and miserably failed. All I could hear was a chain of interchangeable intro’s and similar beats.

The first moment you can catch a refreshing breath is during ‘Strange Familiar’ which is a completely instrumental track and a relief because this means there is no vox coder used. The welcome breeze lasts a couple minutes longer as in ‘Gone’ we are treated to, it has to be said, beautiful female vocals.

Unfortunately after that everything seems to blend together again until we reach the last song ‘Capture’. It’s a bit of a pity you have to fight your way through the entire album before you even get the smallest hint of what Udhin’s voice actually sounds like without modern technology.

Three songs aren’t nearly enough to make me run to the shop to buy their 13th album. However, I might just go and fight my way through some of the back catalogue to check what they sounded like pre ‘Voice-Enhancement-Era’. I have to admit, all this technical magic isn’t my cup of tea but then again, it’s all a matter of personal taste, right?

Melissa BAUWENS
07/06/2011


NL

Inertia is een band uit de UK rond zanger Reza Udhin, die we vooral kennen als toetsenist bij Killing Joke. Dit jaar vieren ze hun 20ste verjaardag met hun nieuwe album ‘Deworlded’.

Doorheen mijn eerste luisterbeurt probeerde ik om ook maar enig onderscheid tussen de nummers te ontdekken, iets wat boven de rest uitstak, zonder enig succes. De eerste indruk is een aaneenschakeling van identieke intro’s, en gelijkaardige beats die steeds terugkeren.

Eerste lichtpuntje ontdekken we in het nummer ‘Strange Familiar’, alleen al omdat het een instrumentaal nummer is en dat dus betekent dat er geen Vox Coder gebruikt is. En we mogen nog iets langer genieten van de frisse bries want in het volgende nummer ‘Gone’ worden we getrakteerd op de, het moet gezegd, op een prachtige vrouwelijke stem.

Jammer genoeg is het nadien terug naar af, tot het laatste nummer ‘Capture’. Het is een beetje teleurstellend dat men zich door het volledige album moet worstelen om te horen hoe Udhin’s stem klinkt zonde de hulp van moderne technologie. Want het resultaat mag er zeker zijn.

Drie nummers zijn lang niet voldoende om mij naar de winkel te doen reppen, maar wie weet zoek ik in een onbewaakt moment wel eens op hoe ze klonken voor het tijdperk van de stemvervorming. Ik geef grif toe dat al die technische snufjes niet helemaal mijn ding zijn, maar over smaak valt niet te twisten, toch?

Melissa BAUWENS
07/06/2011


 

Next reviews
IKON • VENDEMMIAN | ERATO | INTENS | Beveren, Togenblik | 04/06/2011 | Back to the old school
SEVENTH HARMONIC • Garden Of Dilmun
DEKAD • Monophonic
REIZSTROM • Gitarre Kaputt
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP
MILITIA • Power! Propaganda! Production!
DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT • I declare: treason
COMBAT VOICE • The last flow
SCUMBAG PHILOSOPHER • It means nothing so it means nothing
ROBOTIKO REJEKTO • Umsturz Jetzt!

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
KMFDM • Kunst
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
MINUSHEART • The Big Idea
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping
BLUE STAHLI • Blue Stahli
DISMANTLED • The war inside me
ALTER RED • Mind-forged manacles
CAUSTIC • The golden vagina of fame and profit
DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT • I declare: treason

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small

 

Same genre: METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)