tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DENEUVE - Ugly

DENEUVE

Ugly

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimentalIndustrial

[77/100]   

Blowpipe Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

For years, Blowpipe Records (founded by Wim Dekker of the post-punk legend Minny Pops) is a label that stands out for its quirkiness. Indie pop which elsewhere has no chance (probably because it’s not commercial enough), finds a home on this Dutch label. For music fans as we like them best.

deNeuve (with a small d!) is not aband of young rascals. André Bach and Mark Tegefoss have been active since the early 80s as Tox Modell (Freundschaft/Paris appeared as a flexi on Vinyl). The latter is no surprise, as this legendary music magazine was the home of the Dutch Ultra movement to which they belonged. The most famous band from this class is probably Nasmak. The music was often experimental and somewhat similar to what happened in Sheffield (from Hula to Cabaret Voltaire). Music that is forgotten today, and was released on tape then (and now collectors).

Years later André Bach and Mark Tegefoss decided to make music again, not as Tox Modell, but as a the new band deNeuve. And that is a wise move. Once you hear the music, you notice that these two like SPK, Consumer Electronics and Coil, but the experimental industrial sounds more like a sound collage with a contemporary sound.

Three years ago they released Old Bruce on blue vinyl. That track is (albeit in a remix) also on this debut, along with eleven other tracks. Occasionally a guitar is used as in the industrial opener Wolfspace, but most of the times the machines reign, plus samples from movies like All Quiet On The Western Front or The Killing Fields. The songs are quite nervous, sometimes even extremely aggressive (1980 Anger is pure power noise), inventive, adventurous and (although you can’t always get the meaning) inviting. There is constantly something going on this release, that we situate between avant-garde, experimental, dark electro and abstract industrial.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Sinds jaren is Blowpipe Records (opgericht door Wim Dekker van de postpunklegende Minny Pops) een label dat door zijn eigenzinnigheid uitblinkt. Indiepop die nergens anders aan bod komt (wellicht wegens niet commercieel genoeg), vindt bij dit Nederlandse label een thuishaven. Voor muziekliefhebbers zoals we ze dus het liefst hebben.

deNeuve (met kleine d dus!) bestaat uit allesbehalve jonge rakkers. André Bach en Mark Tegefoss zijn al vanaf het begin van de jaren 80 actief als Tox Modell (Freundschaft/Paris verscheen ooit als flexi op Vinyl). Dat hoeft niemand te verbazen, want dit Nederlandse muziekmagazine was het uithangbord van de Ultra-beweging waartoe ze behoorden. De meest bekende band uit die lichting is waarschijnlijk Nasmak. De muziek was vaak experimenteel en enigszins te vergelijken met wat er zich in Sheffield afspeelde (van Hula tot Cabaret Voltaire). Muziek die vandaag vaak vergeten wordt en destijds op een tape werd uitgebracht (en voor wie ze nog in zijn bezit heeft, inmiddels allemaal collectors).

Jaren later hebben André Bach en Mark Tegefoss er opnieuw zin in. Het is geen reünie geworden van Tox Modell, maar gewoon een nieuwe band: deNeuve. En dat is een verstandige zet. Eens je de muziek hoort, is het makkelijk om te horen dat deze twee muziek maken zoals SPK, Consumer Electronics of Coil dat deden. Toch bezit deze experimentele industrial, die vaak als een geluidscollage klinkt, een eigentijds geluid.

Drie jaar geleden brachten ze Old Bruce op blauw vinyl uit. Die track staat (weliswaar in een remix) ook op dit debuut, samen met elf andere tracks. Af en toe wordt er een gitaar gebruikt (zoals in de industrial opener) Wolfspace, meestal zijn het echter de machines die de plak zwaaien, aangevuld met samples uit films (van All Quiet On The Western Front tot The Killing Fields). De songs klinken hypernerveus, soms uiterst agressief (1980 Anger is pure powernoise), inventief, avontuurlijk en (ook al kun je het niet altijd vatten) uitnodigend. Iedere seconde valt er wel iets te beleven op deze release die zich ergens tussen avant-garde, experimenteel, dark electro en abstracte industrial situeert.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CHIRON • We Own The Night
SABATEL (CHESHIRE CAT, DEAR DEER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
GROUP A • 70 + a =
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
COIL • Backwards
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
KEVIN STRAUWEN • Moving Sound & Music For Film
LINGOUF • Frequences Sensibles
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming
DEFRAG • Drown

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell