tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DENEUVE - Ugly

DENEUVE

Ugly

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimentalIndustrial

[77/100]   

Blowpipe Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

For years, Blowpipe Records (founded by Wim Dekker of the post-punk legend Minny Pops) is a label that stands out for its quirkiness. Indie pop which elsewhere has no chance (probably because it’s not commercial enough), finds a home on this Dutch label. For music fans as we like them best.

deNeuve (with a small d!) is not aband of young rascals. André Bach and Mark Tegefoss have been active since the early 80s as Tox Modell (Freundschaft/Paris appeared as a flexi on Vinyl). The latter is no surprise, as this legendary music magazine was the home of the Dutch Ultra movement to which they belonged. The most famous band from this class is probably Nasmak. The music was often experimental and somewhat similar to what happened in Sheffield (from Hula to Cabaret Voltaire). Music that is forgotten today, and was released on tape then (and now collectors).

Years later André Bach and Mark Tegefoss decided to make music again, not as Tox Modell, but as a the new band deNeuve. And that is a wise move. Once you hear the music, you notice that these two like SPK, Consumer Electronics and Coil, but the experimental industrial sounds more like a sound collage with a contemporary sound.

Three years ago they released Old Bruce on blue vinyl. That track is (albeit in a remix) also on this debut, along with eleven other tracks. Occasionally a guitar is used as in the industrial opener Wolfspace, but most of the times the machines reign, plus samples from movies like All Quiet On The Western Front or The Killing Fields. The songs are quite nervous, sometimes even extremely aggressive (1980 Anger is pure power noise), inventive, adventurous and (although you can’t always get the meaning) inviting. There is constantly something going on this release, that we situate between avant-garde, experimental, dark electro and abstract industrial.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Sinds jaren is Blowpipe Records (opgericht door Wim Dekker van de postpunklegende Minny Pops) een label dat door zijn eigenzinnigheid uitblinkt. Indiepop die nergens anders aan bod komt (wellicht wegens niet commercieel genoeg), vindt bij dit Nederlandse label een thuishaven. Voor muziekliefhebbers zoals we ze dus het liefst hebben.

deNeuve (met kleine d dus!) bestaat uit allesbehalve jonge rakkers. André Bach en Mark Tegefoss zijn al vanaf het begin van de jaren 80 actief als Tox Modell (Freundschaft/Paris verscheen ooit als flexi op Vinyl). Dat hoeft niemand te verbazen, want dit Nederlandse muziekmagazine was het uithangbord van de Ultra-beweging waartoe ze behoorden. De meest bekende band uit die lichting is waarschijnlijk Nasmak. De muziek was vaak experimenteel en enigszins te vergelijken met wat er zich in Sheffield afspeelde (van Hula tot Cabaret Voltaire). Muziek die vandaag vaak vergeten wordt en destijds op een tape werd uitgebracht (en voor wie ze nog in zijn bezit heeft, inmiddels allemaal collectors).

Jaren later hebben André Bach en Mark Tegefoss er opnieuw zin in. Het is geen reünie geworden van Tox Modell, maar gewoon een nieuwe band: deNeuve. En dat is een verstandige zet. Eens je de muziek hoort, is het makkelijk om te horen dat deze twee muziek maken zoals SPK, Consumer Electronics of Coil dat deden. Toch bezit deze experimentele industrial, die vaak als een geluidscollage klinkt, een eigentijds geluid.

Drie jaar geleden brachten ze Old Bruce op blauw vinyl uit. Die track staat (weliswaar in een remix) ook op dit debuut, samen met elf andere tracks. Af en toe wordt er een gitaar gebruikt (zoals in de industrial opener) Wolfspace, meestal zijn het echter de machines die de plak zwaaien, aangevuld met samples uit films (van All Quiet On The Western Front tot The Killing Fields). De songs klinken hypernerveus, soms uiterst agressief (1980 Anger is pure powernoise), inventief, avontuurlijk en (ook al kun je het niet altijd vatten) uitnodigend. Iedere seconde valt er wel iets te beleven op deze release die zich ergens tussen avant-garde, experimenteel, dark electro en abstracte industrial situeert.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CHIRON • We Own The Night
SABATEL (CHESHIRE CAT, DEAR DEER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
GROUP A • 70 + a =
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
COIL • Backwards
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
KEVIN STRAUWEN • Moving Sound & Music For Film
LINGOUF • Frequences Sensibles
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming
DEFRAG • Drown

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday