tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DENEUVE - Ugly

DENEUVE

Ugly

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimentalIndustrial

[77/100]   

Blowpipe Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

For years, Blowpipe Records (founded by Wim Dekker of the post-punk legend Minny Pops) is a label that stands out for its quirkiness. Indie pop which elsewhere has no chance (probably because it’s not commercial enough), finds a home on this Dutch label. For music fans as we like them best.

deNeuve (with a small d!) is not aband of young rascals. André Bach and Mark Tegefoss have been active since the early 80s as Tox Modell (Freundschaft/Paris appeared as a flexi on Vinyl). The latter is no surprise, as this legendary music magazine was the home of the Dutch Ultra movement to which they belonged. The most famous band from this class is probably Nasmak. The music was often experimental and somewhat similar to what happened in Sheffield (from Hula to Cabaret Voltaire). Music that is forgotten today, and was released on tape then (and now collectors).

Years later André Bach and Mark Tegefoss decided to make music again, not as Tox Modell, but as a the new band deNeuve. And that is a wise move. Once you hear the music, you notice that these two like SPK, Consumer Electronics and Coil, but the experimental industrial sounds more like a sound collage with a contemporary sound.

Three years ago they released Old Bruce on blue vinyl. That track is (albeit in a remix) also on this debut, along with eleven other tracks. Occasionally a guitar is used as in the industrial opener Wolfspace, but most of the times the machines reign, plus samples from movies like All Quiet On The Western Front or The Killing Fields. The songs are quite nervous, sometimes even extremely aggressive (1980 Anger is pure power noise), inventive, adventurous and (although you can’t always get the meaning) inviting. There is constantly something going on this release, that we situate between avant-garde, experimental, dark electro and abstract industrial.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Sinds jaren is Blowpipe Records (opgericht door Wim Dekker van de postpunklegende Minny Pops) een label dat door zijn eigenzinnigheid uitblinkt. Indiepop die nergens anders aan bod komt (wellicht wegens niet commercieel genoeg), vindt bij dit Nederlandse label een thuishaven. Voor muziekliefhebbers zoals we ze dus het liefst hebben.

deNeuve (met kleine d dus!) bestaat uit allesbehalve jonge rakkers. André Bach en Mark Tegefoss zijn al vanaf het begin van de jaren 80 actief als Tox Modell (Freundschaft/Paris verscheen ooit als flexi op Vinyl). Dat hoeft niemand te verbazen, want dit Nederlandse muziekmagazine was het uithangbord van de Ultra-beweging waartoe ze behoorden. De meest bekende band uit die lichting is waarschijnlijk Nasmak. De muziek was vaak experimenteel en enigszins te vergelijken met wat er zich in Sheffield afspeelde (van Hula tot Cabaret Voltaire). Muziek die vandaag vaak vergeten wordt en destijds op een tape werd uitgebracht (en voor wie ze nog in zijn bezit heeft, inmiddels allemaal collectors).

Jaren later hebben André Bach en Mark Tegefoss er opnieuw zin in. Het is geen reünie geworden van Tox Modell, maar gewoon een nieuwe band: deNeuve. En dat is een verstandige zet. Eens je de muziek hoort, is het makkelijk om te horen dat deze twee muziek maken zoals SPK, Consumer Electronics of Coil dat deden. Toch bezit deze experimentele industrial, die vaak als een geluidscollage klinkt, een eigentijds geluid.

Drie jaar geleden brachten ze Old Bruce op blauw vinyl uit. Die track staat (weliswaar in een remix) ook op dit debuut, samen met elf andere tracks. Af en toe wordt er een gitaar gebruikt (zoals in de industrial opener) Wolfspace, meestal zijn het echter de machines die de plak zwaaien, aangevuld met samples uit films (van All Quiet On The Western Front tot The Killing Fields). De songs klinken hypernerveus, soms uiterst agressief (1980 Anger is pure powernoise), inventief, avontuurlijk en (ook al kun je het niet altijd vatten) uitnodigend. Iedere seconde valt er wel iets te beleven op deze release die zich ergens tussen avant-garde, experimenteel, dark electro en abstracte industrial situeert.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CHIRON • We Own The Night
SABATEL (CHESHIRE CAT, DEAR DEER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
GROUP A • 70 + a =
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
COIL • Backwards
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
KEVIN STRAUWEN • Moving Sound & Music For Film
LINGOUF • Frequences Sensibles
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming
DEFRAG • Drown

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song