tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DENEUVE - Ugly

DENEUVE

Ugly

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimentalIndustrial

[77/100]   

Blowpipe Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

For years, Blowpipe Records (founded by Wim Dekker of the post-punk legend Minny Pops) is a label that stands out for its quirkiness. Indie pop which elsewhere has no chance (probably because it’s not commercial enough), finds a home on this Dutch label. For music fans as we like them best.

deNeuve (with a small d!) is not aband of young rascals. André Bach and Mark Tegefoss have been active since the early 80s as Tox Modell (Freundschaft/Paris appeared as a flexi on Vinyl). The latter is no surprise, as this legendary music magazine was the home of the Dutch Ultra movement to which they belonged. The most famous band from this class is probably Nasmak. The music was often experimental and somewhat similar to what happened in Sheffield (from Hula to Cabaret Voltaire). Music that is forgotten today, and was released on tape then (and now collectors).

Years later André Bach and Mark Tegefoss decided to make music again, not as Tox Modell, but as a the new band deNeuve. And that is a wise move. Once you hear the music, you notice that these two like SPK, Consumer Electronics and Coil, but the experimental industrial sounds more like a sound collage with a contemporary sound.

Three years ago they released Old Bruce on blue vinyl. That track is (albeit in a remix) also on this debut, along with eleven other tracks. Occasionally a guitar is used as in the industrial opener Wolfspace, but most of the times the machines reign, plus samples from movies like All Quiet On The Western Front or The Killing Fields. The songs are quite nervous, sometimes even extremely aggressive (1980 Anger is pure power noise), inventive, adventurous and (although you can’t always get the meaning) inviting. There is constantly something going on this release, that we situate between avant-garde, experimental, dark electro and abstract industrial.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Sinds jaren is Blowpipe Records (opgericht door Wim Dekker van de postpunklegende Minny Pops) een label dat door zijn eigenzinnigheid uitblinkt. Indiepop die nergens anders aan bod komt (wellicht wegens niet commercieel genoeg), vindt bij dit Nederlandse label een thuishaven. Voor muziekliefhebbers zoals we ze dus het liefst hebben.

deNeuve (met kleine d dus!) bestaat uit allesbehalve jonge rakkers. André Bach en Mark Tegefoss zijn al vanaf het begin van de jaren 80 actief als Tox Modell (Freundschaft/Paris verscheen ooit als flexi op Vinyl). Dat hoeft niemand te verbazen, want dit Nederlandse muziekmagazine was het uithangbord van de Ultra-beweging waartoe ze behoorden. De meest bekende band uit die lichting is waarschijnlijk Nasmak. De muziek was vaak experimenteel en enigszins te vergelijken met wat er zich in Sheffield afspeelde (van Hula tot Cabaret Voltaire). Muziek die vandaag vaak vergeten wordt en destijds op een tape werd uitgebracht (en voor wie ze nog in zijn bezit heeft, inmiddels allemaal collectors).

Jaren later hebben André Bach en Mark Tegefoss er opnieuw zin in. Het is geen reünie geworden van Tox Modell, maar gewoon een nieuwe band: deNeuve. En dat is een verstandige zet. Eens je de muziek hoort, is het makkelijk om te horen dat deze twee muziek maken zoals SPK, Consumer Electronics of Coil dat deden. Toch bezit deze experimentele industrial, die vaak als een geluidscollage klinkt, een eigentijds geluid.

Drie jaar geleden brachten ze Old Bruce op blauw vinyl uit. Die track staat (weliswaar in een remix) ook op dit debuut, samen met elf andere tracks. Af en toe wordt er een gitaar gebruikt (zoals in de industrial opener) Wolfspace, meestal zijn het echter de machines die de plak zwaaien, aangevuld met samples uit films (van All Quiet On The Western Front tot The Killing Fields). De songs klinken hypernerveus, soms uiterst agressief (1980 Anger is pure powernoise), inventief, avontuurlijk en (ook al kun je het niet altijd vatten) uitnodigend. Iedere seconde valt er wel iets te beleven op deze release die zich ergens tussen avant-garde, experimenteel, dark electro en abstracte industrial situeert.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CHIRON • We Own The Night
SABATEL (CHESHIRE CAT, DEAR DEER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
GROUP A • 70 + a =
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
COIL • Backwards
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
KEVIN STRAUWEN • Moving Sound & Music For Film
LINGOUF • Frequences Sensibles
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming
DEFRAG • Drown

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design