tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DENEUVE - Ugly

DENEUVE

Ugly

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimentalIndustrial

[77/100]   

Blowpipe Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

For years, Blowpipe Records (founded by Wim Dekker of the post-punk legend Minny Pops) is a label that stands out for its quirkiness. Indie pop which elsewhere has no chance (probably because it’s not commercial enough), finds a home on this Dutch label. For music fans as we like them best.

deNeuve (with a small d!) is not aband of young rascals. André Bach and Mark Tegefoss have been active since the early 80s as Tox Modell (Freundschaft/Paris appeared as a flexi on Vinyl). The latter is no surprise, as this legendary music magazine was the home of the Dutch Ultra movement to which they belonged. The most famous band from this class is probably Nasmak. The music was often experimental and somewhat similar to what happened in Sheffield (from Hula to Cabaret Voltaire). Music that is forgotten today, and was released on tape then (and now collectors).

Years later André Bach and Mark Tegefoss decided to make music again, not as Tox Modell, but as a the new band deNeuve. And that is a wise move. Once you hear the music, you notice that these two like SPK, Consumer Electronics and Coil, but the experimental industrial sounds more like a sound collage with a contemporary sound.

Three years ago they released Old Bruce on blue vinyl. That track is (albeit in a remix) also on this debut, along with eleven other tracks. Occasionally a guitar is used as in the industrial opener Wolfspace, but most of the times the machines reign, plus samples from movies like All Quiet On The Western Front or The Killing Fields. The songs are quite nervous, sometimes even extremely aggressive (1980 Anger is pure power noise), inventive, adventurous and (although you can’t always get the meaning) inviting. There is constantly something going on this release, that we situate between avant-garde, experimental, dark electro and abstract industrial.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Sinds jaren is Blowpipe Records (opgericht door Wim Dekker van de postpunklegende Minny Pops) een label dat door zijn eigenzinnigheid uitblinkt. Indiepop die nergens anders aan bod komt (wellicht wegens niet commercieel genoeg), vindt bij dit Nederlandse label een thuishaven. Voor muziekliefhebbers zoals we ze dus het liefst hebben.

deNeuve (met kleine d dus!) bestaat uit allesbehalve jonge rakkers. André Bach en Mark Tegefoss zijn al vanaf het begin van de jaren 80 actief als Tox Modell (Freundschaft/Paris verscheen ooit als flexi op Vinyl). Dat hoeft niemand te verbazen, want dit Nederlandse muziekmagazine was het uithangbord van de Ultra-beweging waartoe ze behoorden. De meest bekende band uit die lichting is waarschijnlijk Nasmak. De muziek was vaak experimenteel en enigszins te vergelijken met wat er zich in Sheffield afspeelde (van Hula tot Cabaret Voltaire). Muziek die vandaag vaak vergeten wordt en destijds op een tape werd uitgebracht (en voor wie ze nog in zijn bezit heeft, inmiddels allemaal collectors).

Jaren later hebben André Bach en Mark Tegefoss er opnieuw zin in. Het is geen reünie geworden van Tox Modell, maar gewoon een nieuwe band: deNeuve. En dat is een verstandige zet. Eens je de muziek hoort, is het makkelijk om te horen dat deze twee muziek maken zoals SPK, Consumer Electronics of Coil dat deden. Toch bezit deze experimentele industrial, die vaak als een geluidscollage klinkt, een eigentijds geluid.

Drie jaar geleden brachten ze Old Bruce op blauw vinyl uit. Die track staat (weliswaar in een remix) ook op dit debuut, samen met elf andere tracks. Af en toe wordt er een gitaar gebruikt (zoals in de industrial opener) Wolfspace, meestal zijn het echter de machines die de plak zwaaien, aangevuld met samples uit films (van All Quiet On The Western Front tot The Killing Fields). De songs klinken hypernerveus, soms uiterst agressief (1980 Anger is pure powernoise), inventief, avontuurlijk en (ook al kun je het niet altijd vatten) uitnodigend. Iedere seconde valt er wel iets te beleven op deze release die zich ergens tussen avant-garde, experimenteel, dark electro en abstracte industrial situeert.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CHIRON • We Own The Night
SABATEL (CHESHIRE CAT, DEAR DEER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
GROUP A • 70 + a =
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
COIL • Backwards
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
KEVIN STRAUWEN • Moving Sound & Music For Film
LINGOUF • Frequences Sensibles
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming
DEFRAG • Drown

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings