tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

01/10/2015 : JACK - The Jazz Age

JACK

The Jazz Age

MusicAlbum Classics
GlamrockIndie

[86/100]   

Too Pure
01/10/2015, Didier BECU

We could fill our pages with thousands of indie records that never made it and that were largely ignored by the public, but this one is really different. In the 90s Too Pure was one of the finest indie labels with a wide range of artists who were floating between art rock and (well, some of them) post rock. Stereolab and of course PJ Harvey are the sole acts who were bigger than the club circuit, while most other acts could only please reviewers and a handful of people (God knows how many times I stood in an empty venue watching Moonshake!)

Jack was on that label too. This seven-piece band was lead by troubadour Anthony Reynolds, a former journalist who thought it’s cool to wander at night through the streets of London and thinking about Fellini and Nabokov. Reynolds always cited Scott Walker as his big inspiration, but on their albums (The Jazz Age is their second one) Jack sounded more like a mixture of The Divine Comedy and Suede. On Pablo (yes, a song about Picasso) you’d swear that Brett Anderson is doing the vocals, just like My World Versus Your World that is in fact like Suede with a lot of bombast. The music might be labelled as art rock (and in a way it is) but a song like 3’o clock in the morning (with a real symphony as intro) is just Tindersticks at its best, while Nico’s Children is dark indiepop with a touch of Gallon Drunk (that other forgotten, genius band).

The label expected a lot of them (we guess Too Pure was just thinking that they had the next Brett Anderson), but despite an intense tour all over European venues where no one showed up (believe me, I was there), they were dropped by the label. Jack released a third album on the French division of Les Disques Du Crépuscule and for a while Jack even became Jacques, but at the end Reynolds returned to his roots and continued to write. His biography of Leonard Cohen is worldwide a best seller, but at the same time it’s a shame, as his style might be pompous, Jack however is one of the best indie acts you (probably) never heard.

Didier BECU
01/10/2015


Music reviews

19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl