tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

25/12/2015 : LUKI PUKI - The Best Of 2015

LUKI PUKI

The Best Of 2015

Article
25/12/2015

Here’s Luki’s choice:

 

THE BEST RECORDS OF 2015
1. HORROR VACUI - Return Of The Empire
Every song is a solid belter you could play at a DJ night. There isn’t a lot else to say as you either like gothic rock or you don’t.

2 SALLY DIGE - Hard To Please
Sally Dige sounds amazing on this and her other project Cult Club. The songs are beautiful cold wave classics with some synth pop.

3. LEBANON HANOVER - Besides The Abyss 
Wave, goth or minimal. Whatever you call it, it’s great.

4. SHE PAST AWAY - Narin Yalnizhk 
A second super album by the Turkish superstars of goth.

5. GUITAR SLINGERS - Hellhouse Stomp 
Guitar Slingers was one of the best bands at Psychobilly Meeting this year.

6. MESSER CHUPS - Incredible Crocotiger 
Great experimental surf sounds.

THE BEST CONCERTS OF 2015
1. PSYCHOBILLY MEETING, Pineda De Mar, July 2015.
It’s hard to beat 5 days and nights of psychobilly mayhem spent on a beach at the Costa del Sol. Ladies in bikinis, a mix of new and old favorite bands, cheap sangria, guys in bikinis (mostly at the fancy dress party) Everyone’s a winner.

2. RETURN TO THE BATCAVE, Wroclaw, October 2015.
There is something of the Judge Dredd feel about a DIY goth festival in an abandoned industrial building in the middle of a load of Polish tower blocks. Mix that with a terrific selection of Batcave acts, cheap beer and cool people and it’s hard not to fall in love.

3. SALLY DIGE Stranger & Ping Pong Promotions, Cyprus Avenue, Cork, August 2015.
Cold wave heaven with songs so good the fans made her play them twice.

4. CHELSEA WOLFE - Button Factory, Dublin, November 2015.
Perfect atmospheric gothy indie to get stoned and hug a girlfriend to.

5. INGA COPELAND - Cork Jazz Festival, Experimental Stage at the Triskel October 2015.
The gig I nearly went deaf for. Electronic noise and spoken word, Throbbing Gristle would have smiled to see.

6. MORRISSEY – Dublin, The Point
There aren’t many 50 year old preachy vegetarians I look forward to spending an evening with. Trying to get the shirt Morrissey traditionally throws into the audience at the end of the show is taking your own life in your hands.

THE BEST MOVIES OF 2015
1. THE DAMNED : DON’T YOU WISH THAT WE WERE DEAD
Punk or goth, its always been hard to pigeon hole The Damned. A great if sad story about money ruining art. I hope they get all the original line up on stage for the 35th year anniversary.

2. TURBO KID
This film puts the new Mad Max to shame. Post-Apocalypse BMX comic book movie. Enough said.

3. THE VISIT
Seriously weird and unique horror film in a sea of remakes and derivative cash in movies.

4. BONE TOMAHAWK
A western cannibal survival movie to keep you up at night.

5. THE LAST KINGDOM
OK, so it’s not a film, it’s a TV show with the last Saxon king opposing the Viking invasion of Britain. It’s great.

THE BEST BOOKS OF 2015
The Art of Shrinking Heads by Dany-Robert Dufour (2013)
Pedagogy of the Oppressed by Paulo Freire (1968)


25/12/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel