tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/06/2015 : SHE PAST AWAY - Narin Yalnizlik

SHE PAST AWAY

Narin Yalnizlik

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDarkwave

[88/100]   

Fabrika Records
12/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

She Past Away made name and fame in a very short time. Making a second album after a well receiving debut is not always easy. It wouldn’ t be the first band that succumbs.

We can reassure the lovers of this dark company that they do not disappoint. They sound strong and with more confidence as on their debut. The vocals and the timbre sound familiar. So, no big changes in style and sound. Just a little more solid and pure.

Starter ‘Soluk’ sound like a mix between Interpol and The Cure. ‘Asimilasyon’ has the characteristic way of singing, a trade designation of She Past Away, and sounds very cool in combination with the synths. Again some influences from The Cure: ‘Uzakta’ and ‘Narin Yalnizlik’. Both nice dreamy songs.On ‘Yanimda’ the synths are pretty frontal in the mix and the song almost sounds like synthpop. ‘Uctu Belirsizlige’ is rather dark.

The album is a little less dark than their debut. Despite the black cover. The reason is the frontal mix of the synths, I suppose… Not that they sound happy…

Conclusion: ‘Narin Yalnizlik’ is a continuation of their debut. It sounds lighter and catchy. The synths are mostly frontal in the mix. I don' t expect a big breakthrough with this album, but it is a well succeeded second album and I wonder if they dare to evolve on new releases. But first I will certainly enjoy this one.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/06/2015


NL

Het hoeft geen betoog dat She Past Away op korte tijd en vanuit het niets heel wat naam heeft gemaakt. En met beperkte middelen. Na een succesrijk of bejubeld debuut met je tweede album afkomen is niet altijd een geschenk. Het zou de eerste groep niet zijn die onder de druk bezwijkt en met een twijfelachtige opvolger afkomt.

We kunnen de liefhebbers van dit donker gezelschap geruststellen: ze stellen niet teleur. Ze klinken op hun tweede album even sterk en met meer vertrouwen. De zang en de klankkleur klinken in de lijn van hun eerste album. Op zich dus geen grote veranderingen in stijl en sound. Alles klinkt iets solider en uitgepuurder. Dat resulteert in nummers die net iets beter overeind blijven dan op het vorige album.

Opener ‘Soluk’ klinkt als een mix tussen Interpol en The Cure. ‘Asimilasyon’ heeft de aparte manier van zingen, die het handelsmerk van She Past Away is, en klinkt in combinatie met de synths heel vet. Ook nu hier en daar weerCure-invloeden zoals op ‘Uzakta’ of het titelnummer ‘Narin Yalnizlik’. Allebei mooie dromerige songs. Ook op ‘Yanimda’ staan de synths vrij vooraan in de mix en de song klinkt bijna als synthpop. ‘Uctu Belirsizlige’ klinkt vrij donker eigenlijk.

Het album klinkt in het geheel iets lichter ondanks de zwarte hoes. Ik vermoed doordat de synths iets meer vooraan in de mix zitten. Niet dat ze nu happy klinken…verre van.

Conclusie: ‘Narin Yalnizlik’ ligt in het verlengde van hun vorig album. Het klinkt wel iets lichter en catchy. Er is wat meer nadruk op de synths gelegd in vrijwel alle nummers. Ze zullen zeker hun publiek weten te bestendigen. Een echt grote doorbraak zie ik nog niet gebeuren. Maar, een geslaagd album en ergens ben ik toch benieuwd of ze nog verder zullen durven evolueren op hun volgende releases. Maar eerst hiervan genieten.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/06/2015


Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall