tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

15/03/2018 : METAL DISCO - Devil Explicit

METAL DISCO

Devil Explicit

MusicCD (EP)
Cold EBMDark ElectroDarkwaveEBM

[88/100]   

Detonic Recordings
15/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Metal Disco is a project of Greek musical centipede Toxic Razor and also half of the band Paradox Obscur. This EP Devil Explicit contains 6 songs and is released by Detonic Recordings. Toxic Razor is musically active in many forms but walks with Metal Disco yet again on other path. The versatility of his abilities can certainly be heard on this EP.

The opening track Devil Explicit is a perfect mixture of synth-wave and dark-wave whilst the next one, Serial Killer, hides itself a bit more in the corner of minimal-synth-wave. The ultra-dry rhythms sound like they've popped out of some old drum computers.

Decay Crisis is bit more difficult to comprehend. A noisy dark bass line and voice are accompanied by a very minimalistic melody line that gives the song a very special sound. Skip to the next one, Destroyer. This one balances on the thin line between future-pop and EBM. Very danceable and more up-tempo than all other songs on this EP and my personal favourite but one can not argue about taste, can we?

Silence in Your Eyes sounds very eighties, but like the better eighties sound. So blissfully retro, that you can almost imagine the bright clothes, swirling colors and big spinning mirror balls on the ceiling.

The last one on this EP, Rush, does not sound like the title might suggess. It’s rather quiet in terms of tempo, definitely dark-wave, with a repetitive melody and tight drumming.

Metal Disco is a nice EP with which Toxic Razor proves once again his musical diversity. All electronic music machinery is used in full force on this EP resulting in six tracks that might all sound different and diverse but are still, one by one, strong songs.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/03/2018


NL

Metal Disco is een project van muzikale (Griekse) duizendpoot Toxic Razor (die ook de mannelijke helft is van Paradox Obscur). De EP Devil Explicit bevat 6 songs en is uitgebracht door Detonic Recordings. Toxic Razor is op vele vlakken actief en bewandelt met Metal Disco weer andere paden dan in zijn andere projecten. De veelzijdigheid van zijns kunnen wordt op deze EP duidelijk.

Opener Devil Explicit houdt het midden tussen synthwave en darkwave. Serial Killer houdt zich dan weer schuil in de hoek van de meer minimale synthwave. De kurkdroge ritmes klinken alsof ze uit stokoude drumcomputers knallen.

Decay Crisis is moeilijk te bevatten. Een noisy donkere baslijn en dito stemgeluid worden vergezeld door een heel minimalistische melodielijn waardoor de song een heel aparte sound krijgt. Ctrl-alt-delete, wissen die handel voor de volgende song: Destroyer. Die balanveert op de lijn tussen futurepop en EBM. Heel dansbaar en meer up tempo dan alle andere songs en mijn persoonlijke favoriet. Maar over smaak en keur valt niet te twisten...
Silence in Your Eyes klinkt dan weer heel eighties. Maar wel de bétere eighties-sound. Zalig retro, waarbij je gewoon blitse pakken, wervelende kleuren en glazen spiegelbollen aan het plafond ziét.

Rush klinkt niet zoals de titel doet vermoeden. Eerder rustig qua tempo, darkwave, een repititieve melodie en strak drumwerk.

Metal Disco is een leuke EP waar Toxic Razor zijn muzikelae diversitiet alle eer aandoet. De electronische machinerie krijgt alle kansen op deze EP. 6 songs die allemaal anders klinken. Divers, maar wel stuk voor stuk sterke songs.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/03/2018


 

Next reviews
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF • De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
DISTORTED RETROSPECT • Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
ERASURE • Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
DRAB MAJESTY • Drab Majesty London show review
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Other reviews from METAL DISCO
METAL DISCO • Fetish Club Anthems
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
MALA HERBA • Demo

 

Same genre: EBM
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules