tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

14/08/2014 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - CAGE 21

VARIOUS ARTISTS

CAGE 21

MusicDigital
Cold EBMCold WaveDark ElectroDark PopDark WaveEBMElectroElectro PopElectro RockFuture PopGothicIndustrialNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[84/100]   

Sub Culture Records/Two Gods
14/08/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

This compilation is a nice show off, a 21 track selection of just some of the music from all over the world that Martin Bowes has produced, remixed or mastered at the Cage studios during the past 21 years. Including alternate mixes and recordings re-mastered specially for this release, and an exclusive preview of the new ATTRITION album due later this year... For me most of the bands are no surprise, but for some it will be a nice discovery or a throwback in time...

A well-known band to me is Naked Lunch ('We are' - Humanity remix) and that is a nice looking back at the 80's with a 2014 touch! Cold wave or minimal wave, whatever you call it: it's a nice soft one with an ethereal sound in it. Contaminated Intelligence featuring Martin Bowes 'Just us'. Both voices blend (the whispering and the screaming) in well and the anno 2014 sound is great, but a bit hard to describe this kind of electro-trance music.

Seraph Sin 'One Touch' is unknown to me and sounds a bit strange. It reminds me of The Venus Fly Trap in a more electro metal minded set up, not bad at all! NIN also comes close to it, but they have their own sound.

Scarlet Leaves 'Believe' is a nice female fronted band, New Wave minded. This could be the female version of The Mission UK, for sure because of the nice melancholic sound in the vocals and the retro sound of the guitars.

Lost Elegy feat. Martin Bowes 'Heavy Rain' sounds like a false ballad with lots of dramatic feel. The mix of the different voices is once again well done! Apsara Maschima 'Hole' is a nice neofolk minded dreamer with a very dark shade around it.

Accolade feat. Sean Henry 'Bleeding Cry' is my least appreciated track on the album due to the vocals: they hurt my ears a bit. The vocals are not my kind of beloved vocals, whilst the music is ok (retro wave).

Man Woman Machine 'Drop' (Attrition remix) is a nice one with a good tempo and might make it during certain parties. The beats and the female (distorted) vocals are very appealing! Sounds very funky!

Rossetti's Compas is an classic 80's Gothic band worth checking out with the melancholic 'Are Kisses out of Fashion'. Acclimate 'Nothing to mend (Attrition remix)' is a strange electro/trance soundscape minded thing with a women whispering.

Engram 'Law of Betrayal' is something I already reviewed, but it's nice to hear them back with their particular electro sound. TyLean 'Pandora remix' reminds me a bit of the video version of 'Cat People (Putting out Fire)' from David Bowie (and I'm a Bowie Fan).

Michael X Christian feat. Rachel Lesko 'Misery remix' is a spooky neofolk track with some electronics. I'm a fan of the sound and the vibe. Another nice track is 'Death by Discotheque (Attrition remix)' by Disjecta Membra. Great Gothic rock with a personal underground touch and a funny title! Roladex 'Cathode Rays' is a nice minimal wave track, very retro and somehow very funny. You can slowly dance on it, let yourself go! J

ohnathon Christian 'Haunted Another World (Attrition Remix) is a track I already review and still love it! It's a very catchy one that reminds me today of Christian Death in an electrofied version. More into Goether Erben is 'The Bone Factory' from Attrition: the magical piano, the whispering voice (in German).

John Costello is another well know artist with 'The Sweet Hereafter' a magic and very hypnotical track with a soft pop-minded side. empire State Human 'The Digital World Feat. Martin Bowes' is a soft horrifying track with classical instruments playing in the background. Casa de Orates 'Tibet' (more a spoken word track) and My Silent Wake 'Hunting Season' are soft songs to end with

Available digitally through the official Bandcamp-site and Subculture-distribution to the world...

Listen to it here now:
http://attritionuk.bandcamp.com/album/cage-21

Filip VAN MUYLEM
14/08/2014


 

Next reviews
LAUREN BACALL • The death of a femme fatale
DELEYAMAN • The Edge
JONATHAN ENGLISH • Ironclad: Battle For Blood
ROBIN WILLIAMS • 1951-2014
PARADISE LOST • CLASSICS: Draconian times
FRIENDS OF ALICE IVY • The Golden Cage and it's Mirrored Maze
HULDRE • Intet Menneskebarn
FRANK VAN MECHELEN • W. Witse De Film
LIMAX MAXIMUS
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
JIHAD • Retrospekt
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3

 

Same genre: DARK POP
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
KMFDM • Hyena
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 44
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 43-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 34 years ago!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
EIVOR
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
LILI REFRAIN
Ruhrcongress Bochum
15
11
VERSENGOLD
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth
21
11
NABTA
Drop The Mask
20
11
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt