tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

14/08/2014 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - CAGE 21

VARIOUS ARTISTS

CAGE 21

MusicDigital
Cold EBMCold WaveDark ElectroDark PopDark WaveEBMElectroElectro PopElectro RockFuture PopGothicIndustrialNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[84/100]   

Sub Culture Records/Two Gods
14/08/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

This compilation is a nice show off, a 21 track selection of just some of the music from all over the world that Martin Bowes has produced, remixed or mastered at the Cage studios during the past 21 years. Including alternate mixes and recordings re-mastered specially for this release, and an exclusive preview of the new ATTRITION album due later this year... For me most of the bands are no surprise, but for some it will be a nice discovery or a throwback in time...

A well-known band to me is Naked Lunch ('We are' - Humanity remix) and that is a nice looking back at the 80's with a 2014 touch! Cold wave or minimal wave, whatever you call it: it's a nice soft one with an ethereal sound in it. Contaminated Intelligence featuring Martin Bowes 'Just us'. Both voices blend (the whispering and the screaming) in well and the anno 2014 sound is great, but a bit hard to describe this kind of electro-trance music.

Seraph Sin 'One Touch' is unknown to me and sounds a bit strange. It reminds me of The Venus Fly Trap in a more electro metal minded set up, not bad at all! NIN also comes close to it, but they have their own sound.

Scarlet Leaves 'Believe' is a nice female fronted band, New Wave minded. This could be the female version of The Mission UK, for sure because of the nice melancholic sound in the vocals and the retro sound of the guitars.

Lost Elegy feat. Martin Bowes 'Heavy Rain' sounds like a false ballad with lots of dramatic feel. The mix of the different voices is once again well done! Apsara Maschima 'Hole' is a nice neofolk minded dreamer with a very dark shade around it.

Accolade feat. Sean Henry 'Bleeding Cry' is my least appreciated track on the album due to the vocals: they hurt my ears a bit. The vocals are not my kind of beloved vocals, whilst the music is ok (retro wave).

Man Woman Machine 'Drop' (Attrition remix) is a nice one with a good tempo and might make it during certain parties. The beats and the female (distorted) vocals are very appealing! Sounds very funky!

Rossetti's Compas is an classic 80's Gothic band worth checking out with the melancholic 'Are Kisses out of Fashion'. Acclimate 'Nothing to mend (Attrition remix)' is a strange electro/trance soundscape minded thing with a women whispering.

Engram 'Law of Betrayal' is something I already reviewed, but it's nice to hear them back with their particular electro sound. TyLean 'Pandora remix' reminds me a bit of the video version of 'Cat People (Putting out Fire)' from David Bowie (and I'm a Bowie Fan).

Michael X Christian feat. Rachel Lesko 'Misery remix' is a spooky neofolk track with some electronics. I'm a fan of the sound and the vibe. Another nice track is 'Death by Discotheque (Attrition remix)' by Disjecta Membra. Great Gothic rock with a personal underground touch and a funny title! Roladex 'Cathode Rays' is a nice minimal wave track, very retro and somehow very funny. You can slowly dance on it, let yourself go! J

ohnathon Christian 'Haunted Another World (Attrition Remix) is a track I already review and still love it! It's a very catchy one that reminds me today of Christian Death in an electrofied version. More into Goether Erben is 'The Bone Factory' from Attrition: the magical piano, the whispering voice (in German).

John Costello is another well know artist with 'The Sweet Hereafter' a magic and very hypnotical track with a soft pop-minded side. empire State Human 'The Digital World Feat. Martin Bowes' is a soft horrifying track with classical instruments playing in the background. Casa de Orates 'Tibet' (more a spoken word track) and My Silent Wake 'Hunting Season' are soft songs to end with

Available digitally through the official Bandcamp-site and Subculture-distribution to the world...

Listen to it here now:
http://attritionuk.bandcamp.com/album/cage-21

Filip VAN MUYLEM
14/08/2014


 

Next reviews
LAUREN BACALL • The death of a femme fatale
DELEYAMAN • The Edge
JONATHAN ENGLISH • Ironclad: Battle For Blood
ROBIN WILLIAMS • 1951-2014
PARADISE LOST • CLASSICS: Draconian times
FRIENDS OF ALICE IVY • The Golden Cage and it's Mirrored Maze
HULDRE • Intet Menneskebarn
FRANK VAN MECHELEN • W. Witse De Film
LIMAX MAXIMUS
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side

 

Same genre: EBM
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
PLEXIPHONES • Electric
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
RECTOR SCANNER • Herzschlag
UNCARNATE • Weak Protein Life

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane