tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

24/09/2022 : KMFDM - Hyena

KMFDM

Hyena

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Alternative RockElectro RockIndustrial Rock

[40/100]   

Metropolis Records
24/09/2022, Hamis HIREK

KMFDM released a brand new album so let me take you through it...

'All 4-1' the first track on this album seems to have all KMFDM ingredients one would expect and gives us a little bit of hope about what is going to come disc.... alas it will turn out it was in vain.

The second track 'Rock & Roll Monster' is an instant turn off, I hate it tracks get being molested MC's and raps. In the next track 'Back Hole' Sasha Konietzko's partner (in crime) Lucia Cifarelli tries to boost our motivation to keep listening to this album... and she succeeds rather well... However 'Hyena', the preliminary single of this album had already brought down our expectations a bit with its average rock and roll song feeling and sound. But it can be worst, 'All wrong - But Alright' is driven by non-inspiring jungle / drum n bass rhythm polluted with yanking guitar solos... It's too much to take, I had to skip the track.

The Terror continues on 'Blindface' more yanking and screaming guitars enhanced with... hammond organs... the horror. My finger is on the (eject) button! But I have to hang in for the good cause I tell myself. So the, Déjà Vu... Track 7 already. Best position to put the obligate album filling track the must have thought, make it look there's a lot of tracks on this album. A mix of weird musical tapestry and "interesting" vocal samples of politicians and newsreaders. Yeah Rip the system (Duh!)!

And just when you thought you had it all, you get 'Deluded Desperate Dangerous & Dumb'. An uptempo track with some KMFDM doing some yodeling! I kid you not! Then Lucia gets another chance to save it all with 'Immortally Yours', but since one slow KMFDM-like weeping song cannot do the trick we get 'Liquor Fish & Cigarettes'... Finally a pretty genuine KMFDM track, I say pretty genuine because after having to endure 9 exhausting tracks we're getting mild I guess. But then finally the last track, 'In dub we trust'. So in case when you were getting your hopes up for the last track, the song title brings tears rapidly down I guess. Also, if I want to hear reggae music I put on Bob Marley or Peter Tosh, NOT KMFDM!

What can I say? I used to be a KMFDM fan from the very beginning but with every release in the last decade they started to loose me more and more and I have the feeling they finally lost it themselves with this album?

KMFDM, you love them or you hate them.... I would have said 20 years ago. With this release they unwillingly created a third group... Those who don't give a fuck anymore. And yes, although it hurts having to admit this, I feel I'm starting to belong to that last group.

In my honest opinion this should have been released as a side project album, not as KMFDM! But hey, I hope for them the sales of this album will prove me wrong!

Hamis HIREK
24/09/2022


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
46 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
44 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 35 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
POTOCHKINE
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
01
12
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance