tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

24/09/2022 : KMFDM - Hyena

KMFDM

Hyena

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Alternative RockElectro RockIndustrial Rock

[40/100]   

Metropolis Records
24/09/2022, Hamis HIREK

KMFDM released a brand new album so let me take you through it...

'All 4-1' the first track on this album seems to have all KMFDM ingredients one would expect and gives us a little bit of hope about what is going to come disc.... alas it will turn out it was in vain.

The second track 'Rock & Roll Monster' is an instant turn off, I hate it tracks get being molested MC's and raps. In the next track 'Back Hole' Sasha Konietzko's partner (in crime) Lucia Cifarelli tries to boost our motivation to keep listening to this album... and she succeeds rather well... However 'Hyena', the preliminary single of this album had already brought down our expectations a bit with its average rock and roll song feeling and sound. But it can be worst, 'All wrong - But Alright' is driven by non-inspiring jungle / drum n bass rhythm polluted with yanking guitar solos... It's too much to take, I had to skip the track.

The Terror continues on 'Blindface' more yanking and screaming guitars enhanced with... hammond organs... the horror. My finger is on the (eject) button! But I have to hang in for the good cause I tell myself. So the, Déjà Vu... Track 7 already. Best position to put the obligate album filling track the must have thought, make it look there's a lot of tracks on this album. A mix of weird musical tapestry and "interesting" vocal samples of politicians and newsreaders. Yeah Rip the system (Duh!)!

And just when you thought you had it all, you get 'Deluded Desperate Dangerous & Dumb'. An uptempo track with some KMFDM doing some yodeling! I kid you not! Then Lucia gets another chance to save it all with 'Immortally Yours', but since one slow KMFDM-like weeping song cannot do the trick we get 'Liquor Fish & Cigarettes'... Finally a pretty genuine KMFDM track, I say pretty genuine because after having to endure 9 exhausting tracks we're getting mild I guess. But then finally the last track, 'In dub we trust'. So in case when you were getting your hopes up for the last track, the song title brings tears rapidly down I guess. Also, if I want to hear reggae music I put on Bob Marley or Peter Tosh, NOT KMFDM!

What can I say? I used to be a KMFDM fan from the very beginning but with every release in the last decade they started to loose me more and more and I have the feeling they finally lost it themselves with this album?

KMFDM, you love them or you hate them.... I would have said 20 years ago. With this release they unwillingly created a third group... Those who don't give a fuck anymore. And yes, although it hurts having to admit this, I feel I'm starting to belong to that last group.

In my honest opinion this should have been released as a side project album, not as KMFDM! But hey, I hope for them the sales of this album will prove me wrong!

Hamis HIREK
24/09/2022


Music reviews

27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
38 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
27
02
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies