tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

04/07/2019 : MECHANIMAL - White Flag Single

MECHANIMAL

White Flag Single

MusicCD (EP)
ElectronicsIndustrial RockShoegaze

[82/100]   

Inner Ear
04/07/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

Mechanimal is an industrial audio-visual unit hailing from Athens, Greece, and founded in 2011 by songwriter and music producer Giannis Papaioannou, who is sole responsible for the direction of the band.
Mechanimal's musical language draws influences from a wide range of genres, and features male (and female) vocals against a backdrop of mechanical repetitive beats, shoegaze guitar drones and pulsating synth sequencers.
Their eponymous debut was released in 2012 by Inner Ear featuring Freddie Faulkenberry on vocals and Tassos Nikogiannis on guitars. On stage, Mechanimal employed video elements created by Angelica Vrettou.

With the White Flag Single, which prepares the release of their fourth album, Mechanimal are closing the cycle of a revealing journey that began with the industrial dystopian landscapes of their first homonymous album back in 2012, entered a post-punk electro track with Secret Science in 2014 and boldly delivered to Delta Pi Delta's flawed crack in 2016.
The two new songs of White Flag Single do not raise the white flag that states an unconditional surrender but the one that sets the end of all personal, social, secular warfare of the past. In Easy Dead, the world's innocent history is written from the outset - as a warning for the future, and in Red Mirror the only force for survival is revealed: the one that takes the form of a redemptive disaster with the sole purpose of starting everything from scratch.

Both songs carry some heavy guitars, in addition to the characteristic voice of Freddie Faulkenberry. In Red Mirror the synths play a bigger role, and the song is a bit more modest. But what's in a name...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
04/07/2019


04/07/2019 : MECHANIMAL - White Flag Single 04/07/2019 : MECHANIMAL - White Flag Single

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL