tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/05/2019 : LISA MORGENSTERN - Chameleon

LISA MORGENSTERN

Chameleon

MusicCD
AmbientIndieNeoclassicalPopPost Classical
Self-released
17/05/2019, Tom PLOVIE

On Spotify there’s an album inspiration list for Chameleon, the new CD from the Berlin based Lisa Morgenstern. The list has been published months before the actual album release. A good way to get the attention of the fans! I listened to it intensively and by doing so discovered unknown music. It was exciting to hear what gave inspiration to Lisa while waiting for her new songs. I also found many similarities with my own musical taste: Portishead, Nils Frahm, Max Richter, Soap&Skin, but also J.S. Bach, Debussy or the famous Bulgarian Voices. It did feed high expectations!

A small bio: Morgenstern was raised as daughter of two orchestral musicians (from Bulgarian and German roots). At the age of five she began to play piano but ballet was her first true love. Listening to Stravinsky's Rite Of Spring as a bedtime lullaby or watching VHS tapes with Tchaikovsky's Swan Lake while other children saw Tom and Jerry gives an idea of her childhood and early influences. She still warms up during soundchecks with songs by Frank Sinatra, Nina Simone or Doris Day. Slowly her love grew for other music genres like punk, rock, metal and even goth.

With her previous album and debut ‘Amphibian’ (2013) she earned a place in dark romanticism due to its subject matter, with songs called ‘Lieber Tod’ or ‘Bury Me’ and its atmospheric sound, like ‘Nocturne’. It made me an instant fan. Waiting five years for a new album is long but I don’t mind an artist taking his or her time to let creativity and inspiration come along.

So, let's talk about Chameleon. Opener ‘Atlas’ starts silently with the ethereal, wordless voice of Morgenstern: pure and pristine. “I will be falling slowly to the places where there is neither life nor light” she continues into the first lyrics of the album. Warm electronic beats enter and it’s clear to me that the soundtrack of the Netflix series Stranger Things is unmistakably another influence. It all blends in perfectly and I do hear a fragile melody that is like an echo of Johann Johannsson’ Melodia. In ‘Codex’ the piano virtuoso can be heard through very repetitive motives. It does remind me of the work from Steve Reich.

‘Answers’ was the first single to be released and has a nice melody which Morgenstern unravels beautifully. By modifying her voice into different pitches and blending it with her natural voice, she gives the song a kind of richness like Agnes Obel did in ‘Familiar’. By doing so, the music enforces the lyrics: “I’m split into many pieces, so many faces are there inside.”

The piano beginning of ‘At the Top of a Tree’ brings me back to the sepia-coloured Montmarte of the French romantic movie ‘Amélie Poulain’ but when the dark sounding and mesmerizing voice of Morgenstern enters, the atmosphere changes. She sings slowly: “I climb all the way up, to have a look deep down and much deeper... If you find me on the floor it’s not that I jumped.” Together with the wind she gets up high again and the piano supports the imaginary flight towards "isolation". The squeaky sound in the outro gives it an extra fragile touch.

A voice from heaven: this is the only cliché to match her singing in ‘Deflowering’. Born out of improvisation she stretches her multi-octave spanning voice effortlessly to heights that sounds almost eerie. So vulnerable and pure.

‘Levitation’, the longest track on the album (over 8 minutes), is full of atmospheric synths combined with melodies played by the Argentinian, Sebastian Plano, on cello. It’s a shapeshifting soundscape. Into the climax, the song gradually fills itself with disturbing noise but stays supported by the repeated beat underneath.

The piano beginning of the last song ‘Journey to the End of the Night’ has been touched by the Max Richter-melody of ‘Infra 6’. By entering Lisa’s humming and otherwordly singing, she leads us out of a place full of mysteries, slowly back into reality. Making a trip in the world of this much talented singer-songwriter was a very moving experience.

Chameleon is a fine and ambitious collection of songs filled with expressive piano, 80s synths, dreamy atmospheres and an extraordinary voice. I did miss some German lyrics and a little more Sturm und Drang, but that does not have any impact on the quality of this excellent sequel to 'Amphibian'.

There are no more concerts planned for Belgium in 2019 but she can be seen on different dates in Germany until September 2019.

Shoplink: https://lnk.to/LisaMorgenstern_Chameleon

Tom PLOVIE
17/05/2019


17/05/2019 : LISA MORGENSTERN - Chameleon 17/05/2019 : LISA MORGENSTERN - Chameleon 17/05/2019 : LISA MORGENSTERN - Chameleon

 

Next reviews
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
L7 • Scatter The Rats
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert

 

Other reviews from LISA MORGENSTERN
LISA MORGENSTERN • Amphibian

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once
ROBERTO ATTANASIO • Another Past

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane