tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/05/2019 : LISA MORGENSTERN - Chameleon

LISA MORGENSTERN

Chameleon

MusicCD
AmbientIndieNeoclassicalPopPost Classical
Self-released
17/05/2019, Tom PLOVIE

On Spotify there’s an album inspiration list for Chameleon, the new CD from the Berlin based Lisa Morgenstern. The list has been published months before the actual album release. A good way to get the attention of the fans! I listened to it intensively and by doing so discovered unknown music. It was exciting to hear what gave inspiration to Lisa while waiting for her new songs. I also found many similarities with my own musical taste: Portishead, Nils Frahm, Max Richter, Soap&Skin, but also J.S. Bach, Debussy or the famous Bulgarian Voices. It did feed high expectations!

A small bio: Morgenstern was raised as daughter of two orchestral musicians (from Bulgarian and German roots). At the age of five she began to play piano but ballet was her first true love. Listening to Stravinsky's Rite Of Spring as a bedtime lullaby or watching VHS tapes with Tchaikovsky's Swan Lake while other children saw Tom and Jerry gives an idea of her childhood and early influences. She still warms up during soundchecks with songs by Frank Sinatra, Nina Simone or Doris Day. Slowly her love grew for other music genres like punk, rock, metal and even goth.

With her previous album and debut ‘Amphibian’ (2013) she earned a place in dark romanticism due to its subject matter, with songs called ‘Lieber Tod’ or ‘Bury Me’ and its atmospheric sound, like ‘Nocturne’. It made me an instant fan. Waiting five years for a new album is long but I don’t mind an artist taking his or her time to let creativity and inspiration come along.

So, let's talk about Chameleon. Opener ‘Atlas’ starts silently with the ethereal, wordless voice of Morgenstern: pure and pristine. “I will be falling slowly to the places where there is neither life nor light” she continues into the first lyrics of the album. Warm electronic beats enter and it’s clear to me that the soundtrack of the Netflix series Stranger Things is unmistakably another influence. It all blends in perfectly and I do hear a fragile melody that is like an echo of Johann Johannsson’ Melodia. In ‘Codex’ the piano virtuoso can be heard through very repetitive motives. It does remind me of the work from Steve Reich.

‘Answers’ was the first single to be released and has a nice melody which Morgenstern unravels beautifully. By modifying her voice into different pitches and blending it with her natural voice, she gives the song a kind of richness like Agnes Obel did in ‘Familiar’. By doing so, the music enforces the lyrics: “I’m split into many pieces, so many faces are there inside.”

The piano beginning of ‘At the Top of a Tree’ brings me back to the sepia-coloured Montmarte of the French romantic movie ‘Amélie Poulain’ but when the dark sounding and mesmerizing voice of Morgenstern enters, the atmosphere changes. She sings slowly: “I climb all the way up, to have a look deep down and much deeper... If you find me on the floor it’s not that I jumped.” Together with the wind she gets up high again and the piano supports the imaginary flight towards "isolation". The squeaky sound in the outro gives it an extra fragile touch.

A voice from heaven: this is the only cliché to match her singing in ‘Deflowering’. Born out of improvisation she stretches her multi-octave spanning voice effortlessly to heights that sounds almost eerie. So vulnerable and pure.

‘Levitation’, the longest track on the album (over 8 minutes), is full of atmospheric synths combined with melodies played by the Argentinian, Sebastian Plano, on cello. It’s a shapeshifting soundscape. Into the climax, the song gradually fills itself with disturbing noise but stays supported by the repeated beat underneath.

The piano beginning of the last song ‘Journey to the End of the Night’ has been touched by the Max Richter-melody of ‘Infra 6’. By entering Lisa’s humming and otherwordly singing, she leads us out of a place full of mysteries, slowly back into reality. Making a trip in the world of this much talented singer-songwriter was a very moving experience.

Chameleon is a fine and ambitious collection of songs filled with expressive piano, 80s synths, dreamy atmospheres and an extraordinary voice. I did miss some German lyrics and a little more Sturm und Drang, but that does not have any impact on the quality of this excellent sequel to 'Amphibian'.

There are no more concerts planned for Belgium in 2019 but she can be seen on different dates in Germany until September 2019.

Shoplink: https://lnk.to/LisaMorgenstern_Chameleon

Tom PLOVIE
17/05/2019


17/05/2019 : LISA MORGENSTERN - Chameleon 17/05/2019 : LISA MORGENSTERN - Chameleon 17/05/2019 : LISA MORGENSTERN - Chameleon

 

Next reviews
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
L7 • Scatter The Rats
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert

 

Other reviews from LISA MORGENSTERN
LISA MORGENSTERN • Amphibian

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: POST CLASSICAL
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline