tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

10/10/2019 : AMY STUDT - Happiest Girl in The Universe

AMY STUDT

Happiest Girl in The Universe

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Dark PopIndieLo-fiSinger Songwriter

[100/100]   

Rough Trade
10/10/2019, Ash MCAULIFFE

"I don't wanna die before I learn to live my life, unrehearsed

Wanna live my life like the happiest girl in the universe."

It has been 16 years since Amy Studt released her first album “False Smiles.” 260,000 copies sold, a string of hit singles, followed by the powerfully mature (and underrated) second record “My Paper Made Men” in 2008. Which begs the question. How does a former major-label pop star metamorphosis into a chanteuse of dark, introspected chamber-gloom? Easy. She lives her life and ploughs all of that life experience into the creation of a magnum opus!

For many music fans like myself, introspection can be incredibly lonely. For those intensely in tune with their emotions and feelings, music usually plays a massive part in their lives. So, it’s with a huge debt of gratitude that we have the release of records like this one that can serve as a channel and a positive outlet for those dealing with their own inner worlds.

It has been a long time coming but “Happiest Girl In The Universe” was surely worth the wait. Its power is in its intimacy. It’s a spinetingling “narrative diary of depression, hope and redemption.” The atmosphere can often feel quite claustrophobic but what Amy is actually doing is pulling you closer to her to give you a one-on-one experiential ride with this record. It’s a window into the very soul of Amy Studt. They say music is therapeutic and this album is proof. Every single cell has been expunged and bled into this album. The catharsis that comes when we reach the title track and realise that even in the darkest of times hope is still there is exhilarating.

Yet the record is also an exorcism of sorts. Album highlights like "Overdose", "The Water" and "Let The Music Play" allow years of turmoil to be purged and unleashed, giving rise to the most incredibly heartfelt yet shackle-breaking record of recent memory. This is an artist revitalised and completely reborn. It’s a beautiful album all the same and full of wonderful melodies and hooks. "I Was Jesus In Your Veins" is a classic alternative pop song without a shadow of a doubt and I defy anybody to resist that chorus! It's an album with a unique type of darkness that is intoxicating but not overbearing. It is an arresting album vocally with an understated urgency. The haunted hushed lulling adding to the overall complexity of the albums subject matter. An immensely talented songwriter and musician, Studt composed all tracks on the record. The importance of an empirical record, once again, cannot be denied! It’s a record with a manifesto to inspire and leave its imprint on the very heart of the listener.

A highlight of 2019. No doubt about it.

Release Date - 4th October 2019

Ash MCAULIFFE
10/10/2019


 

Next reviews
NUMB • Mortal Geometry
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
FOXY • X-Ray Spex Tribute
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Hellraiser
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
LES NEGRESSES VERTES • Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019

 

Same genre: DARK POP
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: LO-FI
STACIAN • Person L
XOSAR • Xymeria
LUXVID • Trench
SUBHEIM • Foray
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life
THE MEN • New Moon
MONGOLITO • Acedia
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012
GERARD HERMAN • Fêta Justice

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline