tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

27/02/2024 : WHISPERING SONS - The Great Calm

WHISPERING SONS

The Great Calm

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
DarkwaveIndiePost Punk

[71/100]   

PIAS
27/02/2024, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

After "Several Others," "The Great Calm" is the third full-length album by the Belgian band Whispering Sons. After two years of hard work, the album was recorded in four weeks during an icy winter. In December 2022, the band went to Audioworkx in Hoogeloon (Netherlands) to lay the foundation for the album. A few weeks later, in January 2023, the band traveled to Vlieland, an island off the coast of the Netherlands, to record the vocals and finish the album in peace and quiet. The twelve tracks were eventually mixed by Claudius Mittendorfer, who also produced the band's previous album, with mastering by Laurens Grossen.

Whispering Sons decided to produce this album themselves together with Bert Vliegen, who had been the engineer for both "Image" and "Several Others" and became a band member after taking over the bass in 2021. The band set themselves a challenge but were convinced that they had learned a lot over the years. With Bert's expertise as a producer and a determined Whispering Sons, greater creative control was rewarded. The recording of "The Great Calm" became a true collaboration, in which each band member could express themselves, which ultimately brought the band closer together.

"Several Others" already sounded much less raw than "Image," which in turn sounded much less dark than, for me still an absolutely great EP - "Endless Party." I crave that sound. For that energy. Honestly? After "Several Others" I lost interest a bit. Moreover, in the weeks leading up to the final release of this third album, everyone on all the somewhat self-serious Belgian radio stations was so overwhelmed with "The Talker" that I was barely curious anymore because of "too much" of the same.

And then the release is finally here on February 23, 2024, and we get to hear the 12 songs.

A rough, deeply threatening bass line welcomes you to this album, which opens with Standstill. The guitars become a silent companion, drowned out by the ever-deep voice of frontwoman Fenne Kuppens. Hope grows. So do the expectations, for the explosion that would open the song. After more than 2 minutes, the song gets the typical post-punk sound that characterizes the band.

The bass guitar shows its dominant side, also when Walking, Flying starts. The synths are allowed to wrap up the scene, together with the economical guitars. Everything just keeps going. The explosive and really dark is still waiting.

The cold wind in Cold City creeps up on you. “It feels like the first winter in years. A dreamlike desire. Sprung out of silence and fear. I feel so torn, city. Calling upon these memories (…)” Fenne’s voice is intensely deep. The music is cold. In terms of sound but also in terms of ‘feel’.

And then finally. Finally, a song that seems like a sore thumb, more energetic. At least, at the start of it. Dragging is a post-punk song that truly lives up to its name. Although the sharper edges have been filed down a bit.

We also get a real ballad with Still, Disappearing. Further on the album, Balm (After Violence) taps from the same oak barrel. Then The Talker, the song we were given as a gift in the fall of 2023. Indierock vibes, a bit more tempo and enjoyable. Only I’ve heard it too much in the past few weeks…

I needed several listens to really feel this album. To ‘get’ it. To try to understand what it is and isn’t. Is it a new path? Is it a break in style… Is it still Whispering Sons. Yes, it is. In poor Girl I still recognize the sound for which I once got ‘into them’ for.

Loose Ends also has the real punch that makes me smile. For this album I had to be patient before they had me ‘with’ them again. Partly. It was short-lived, because Oceanic is a song that, it seems, has a deep, irregular-sounding heartbeat as its backbone.

The last hurdle to the needle scratching the last laps after the last song. And that’s one that warms me up. Try Me Again really breaks loose at intervals. It has roughness. Punch. Although the guitars could have been a bit louder. In this solid piece it could have been a bit more brutal. But the original sound with which this gang of post-punkers once stole my heart, I still get after all. Thanks for that.

“The Great Calm” is a different album than all the previous ones. The raw energy and emotion that are part of their own sound are less present than on the previous albums. Where after “Several Others” I already felt that it was becoming much tamer, on “The Great Calm” it is all even more flattened out. As if the rebellious teenager who just did what he wanted, suddenly sees the light and starts coloring inside the lines as a good citizen. Okay: it is a different path that is being taken. It is not the path that still appeals to me. So, I hope that the band will look back one day and think: maybe, just maybe, we should go back to the early days.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/02/2024


NL

Na ‘Several Others’ is ‘The Great Calm’ het derde volledige album van het Belgische Whispering Sons. Na twee jaar hard werken werd het album in vier weken opgenomen tijdens een ijskoude winter. In december 2022 ging de band naar Audioworkx in Hoogeloon (Nederland) om de basis te leggen voor het album. Een paar weken later, in januari 2023, trok de band naar Vlieland, een eiland aan de Nederlandse kust, om in alle rust de zang op te nemen en het album af te ronden. De twaalf nummers werden uiteindelijk gemixt door Claudius Mittendorfer, die ook het vorige album van de band maakte, Laurens Grossen stond in voor de mastering.

Whispering Sons besloot deze plaat zelf te produceren samen met Bert Vliegen, die de engineer was geweest van zowel 'Image' als 'Several Others' en bandlid werd nadat hij in 2021 de bas overnam. De band stelde zichzelf een uitdaging, maar waren ervan overtuigd dat ze door de jaren heen veel hadden geleerd. Met Berts expertise als producer en een vastberaden Whispering Sons, werd een grotere creatieve controle beloond. De opname van ‘The Great Calm’ werd een ware samenwerking, waarin ieder bandlid iets van zichzelf kon uiten, wat de band uiteindelijk dichter bij elkaar bracht.

‘Several Others’ klonk al veel minder rauw dan ‘Image’, dat op zijn beurt al veel minder donker klonk dan, voor mij nog steeds een absoluut grootse dijk van een EP- ‘Endless Party’. Ik hunker naar die sound. Naar die energie. Eerlijk? Na ‘Several Others’ haakte is een beetje af. Bovendien werd iedereen in de weken voor de finale release van dit derde album op alle ietwat zichzelf ernstig nemende Belgische radiostations zo overdonderd met ‘The Talker’, dat ik amper nog nieuwsgierig was wegens ‘te veel’ van hetzelfde.

En dan is de release er eindelijk op 23 februari 2024 en krijgen we de 12 songs te horen.

Een stroeve, diep dreigende baslijn verwelkomt je op dit album, dat opent met Standstill. De gitaren worden een stille tochtgenoot, overstemd met de immer diepe stem van frontvrouw Fenne Kuppens. De hoop groeit. De verwachtingen ook, naar de explosie die de song open zou breken. Na dik 2 minuten krijgt de song de typische postpunk-sound die de band toch karakteriseert.

De basgitaar toont zich van haar dominante kant, ook als Walking, Flying zich aandient. De synths mogen de scène mee inpakken, samen met de zuinige gitaartjes. Zo kabbelt alles verder. Het explosieve en echt donkere laat vooralsnog op zich wachten.
De gure wind in Cold City bekruipt je. “It feels like the first winter in years. A dreamlike desire. Sprung out of silence and fear. I feel so torn, city. Calling upon these memories (…)” Fenne’s stem is intens diep. De muziek kil. Qua sound maar ook qua ‘feel’.

En dan éindelijk. Eindelijk een song die als een vreemde eend in de bijt energieker lijkt. Althans, bij de start ervan. Dragging is een postpunksong die naam oprecht waardig. Hoewel de scherpere randjes toch wat zijn bijgevijld.

We krijgen ook een heuse ballade met Still, Disapperaing. Verder op het album tapt Balm (After Violence) uit hetzelfde eikenvat. Dan The Talker, de song die we in het najaar van 2023 al cadeau kregen. Indierock-vibes, ietwat meer tempo en genietbaar. Alleen heb ik deze de afgelopen weken écht wel te veel gehoord…

Ik heb verschillende luisterbeurten nodig gehad om dit album echt te doorvoelen. Om het te ‘vatten’. Om een poging te kunnen doen om te begrijpen wat het nu wel en niet is. Is het een nieuwe weg? Is het een stijlbreuk… Is het nog Whispering Sons. Ja, dat wel. In poor Girl ontwaar ik nog de sound waarvoor ik ooit ‘into them’ werd.

Loose Ends heeft ook de échte punch die mij laat glimlachen. Voor dit album heb ik wat geduld moeten hebben vooraleer ze mij weer ‘mee’ hadden. Deels. Het was van korte duur, want Oceanic is een song die, zo lijkt het, een diepe, onregelmatig klinkende hartslag als ruggengraat draagt.

De laatste horde naar de naald die krassend de laatste rondjes draait na de laatste song. En dat is er ééntje waar ik warm van word. Try Me Again barst met tussenpozen echt los. Het heeft ruwheid. Punch. Hoewel de gitaartjes wat luider hadden gemogen. In deze stevige brok had het nog wat bruter gemogen. Maar de oersound waar deze bende postpunkers ooit mijn hart mee stalen, krijg ik dan toch nog. Waarvoor dank.

‘The Great Calm’ is een ander album dan alle voorgaande. De rauwe energie en emotie die deel zijn van hun eigen sound, is wel verder zoek dan bij de voorgaande albums. Waar ik na ‘Several Others’ al het gevoel had dat het véél braver werd, is het op ‘The Great Calm’ allemaal nog wat meer afgevlakt. Alsof de rebelse puber die botweg zijn goesting deed, plots het licht ziet en als brave burger binnen de lijntjes begint te kleuren. Akkoord: het is een andere weg die ingeslagen wordt. Het is niet de weg die mij nog bekoort. Dus ik hoop dat de band op een goede dag achteromkijkt en denkt: misschien, héél misschien, moeten we toch eens terug naar de begindagen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/02/2024


27/02/2024 : WHISPERING SONS - The Great Calm 27/02/2024 : WHISPERING SONS - The Great Calm

 

Next reviews
YOUR ENEMY • Broken Toys
XTORT • Zwart
MERCIFUL NUNS • Oneironauts
ANTLER RECORDS • Early Years Vol 1
YELWORC • The Ghosts I Called
KRAMM • Die Schöpfung und andere Kurzgeschichten
DARKVOLT • Electric Angel
LUCIFER'S AID • Destruction
CELLDOD • Pandoras Ask
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • BDSM for Satisfaction

 

Other reviews from WHISPERING SONS
WHISPERING SONS • Image
WHISPERING SONS • BLACK EASTER 2016
WHISPERING SONS • Ghent, Kinky Star (23/12/2015)
WHISPERING SONS • Endless Party

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + INDIE + POST PUNK
POLAR DUST • Into The Burning Water

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
ENZO KREFT • Shelter
DER KLINKE • Facing Fate
PLASTIKSTROM • Eskalation
NEL & JP • Zelfbeeld van Denaldie
ABSTRACKT BLACK • Unheimlich
THE MARS MODEL • Primal Urge
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
DARK • Nightmare

 

Same genre: INDIE
DEZ MONA • LOOSE ENDS
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THEN COMES SILENCE • Trickery
PARTIKUL • Having Gone
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
CUT • Dead City Nights
THE GODFATHERS • ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
FEATHER TRADE • Dead Boy
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
22
04
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Siouxsie And The Banshees - Candyman (Official Music Video)
21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill