tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

10/01/2023 : THE MARS MODEL - Primal Urge

THE MARS MODEL

Primal Urge

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
DarkwaveGothicGothic RockPost Rock

[90/100]   

FX7 Records
10/01/2023, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Doing your own thing and sounding like only you sound. Never mind boxes, frames, styles, categories, being limited. Tight, catchy, entertaining and varied. Yes, we are talking about the new The Mars Model release, named Primal Urge. Dominiek De Gandt (guitar/vocals), Hans Verbeke (vocals), Tim Jult (drums), Olivier Moulin (synths) and Fred Dufourmont (bass) are giving the best of themselves on 6 songs. After their great previous EP FrancoBelga, this is another killer album. As an in-between snack we already got ‘Sister Glory’, which was (and is) a direct hit as well.

This Primal Urge carries 6 songs going from solid post-punk over gothic rock with a very cool wink to The Fields Of The Nephilim and associates. Melodic at one moment, menacingly brutal and chaotic at others. Let that be the strength of The Mars Model. Whatever they did so far, they keep going hard.

‘Baby Paria’ relies on screaming guitars, solid basses that resonate strongly in the final mix (love it!) and sparsely present synths, which are nevertheless important. Hans, who also varies his singing all the time, surprises over and over … This man can certainly elevate the music in his own way.

‘Ultra Mega’ opens with nicely distorted guitars that (and no, I really don't want to compare) remind me of The Cult. “The atmosphere, dark and gay, in a special kind of way. Last time I saw you, with that smile, you're not anymore, livin' in exile(…)’” A wonderfully compelling song that brings back the heydays of gothic rock, or if you want: revive it. This song is dark, down to the smallest note. And we now know from our experience they always add a few more decibels when performing live, cutting even more right through the bone.

And what to think about ‘Man Of The Year’? Goth rock with a strong pinch of dark wave. In terms of vocals leaning a bit more towards death-rock depths. It seems as if the song was recorded a bit slower than the RPM of the vinyl playing on my turntable. The song seems to flow so slowly from my speakers.

Side B, ‘Showdown’… Slowly, mysterious synths and then after 25 seconds a guitar riff that gives me the chills. The way this song comes in … Very nice. The riff varies throughout the song, slashes, cuts, squirms, screams hoarsely. It does not matter really, another great track it is!

The synths and bass get credit for getting ‘Atrocity Galore’ on track, top shelf post-punk. “Sad to see you see, to see your violence. More atrocity, no we won't be silent (…)”.

‘FDM’ (Fascist Destroyer Machine) is the last song on the EP. While the synths lead the way, guitars get a slightly more timid role. It continues to rock, but a little more contained. And the message speaks for itself, right?

The Mars Model delivers another great EP. This Primal Urge belongs in your record cabinet and make sure to go see them live! Believe me: you'll be blown away!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/01/2023


NL

Je eigen ding doen. Klinken zoals enkel jij klinkt. Lak aan vakjes, kaders, stijlen, hokjes, begrensd worden. Strak, pakkend, onderhoudend, afwisselend. Ja, we hebben het over de nieuwe The Mars Model. Die kreeg de naam Prima Urge. 6 songs lang geven Dominiek De Gandt (giaar/vocals), Hans Verbeke (vocals), Tim Jult (drums), Olivier Moulin (synths) en Fred Dufourmont (bass) het beste van zichzelf. Na hun geweldige EP FrancoBelga, is dit alweer een dijk van een plaat. Als tussendoortje kregen we Sister Glory, die ook een voltreffer was (én is).

Deze Primal Urge heeft 6 songs. Van stevige postpunk over gothic rock met een heel vette knipoog naar Fields Of The Nephilim en consoorten. Melodieus op het ene moment, dreigend brutaal en chaotisch klinkerder op het andere. Laat dat de sterkte zijn van The Mars Model. Wat ze ook doen tot nog toe, ze pakken hard door.

Baby Paria moet het hebben van schreeuwende gitaren, stevige bassen die in de eindmix stevig doorklinken (love it!) en zuinig aanwezige synths, die toch belangrijk zijn. Hans die ook in zijn zang blijvend varieert. En verrast. De man kan er wel wat in leggen op zijn eigen manier.
Ultra Mega opent met lekker overstuurde girtaren die (en néén ik wil niét vergelijken) me doen denken aan The Cult. “The atmosphere, dark and gay, in a special kind of way. Last time I saw you, with that smile, You’re not anymore, livin’ in exile(…)" Een zalig meeslepende song die de hoogdagen van de gothic rock uit vervlogen tijden terugbrengt. Of als je wil: terug laat herleven. Donker tot in de kleinste noot is deze song. En we weten intussen dat als je het gezelschap live ziet, ze daar nog een aantal decibels bij lappen. Nog meer door merg en been snijdend dan.

En wat te denken van Man Of The Year. Gothrock met een stevige snuif darkwave. Qua stem ook wat meer deathrock-diepte. Het lijkt alsof de song wat toeren per minuut trager is opgenomen dan de LP draait op mijn platendraaiertje. Zo slepend vloeit de song uit mijn speakers.

Side B. Showdown. Slowly, mysterieuze synths en dan na 25 seconden een giraarriff waar ik koude rillingen van krijg. De manier waarop die de song binnen komt. Very nice. Hij varieert de ganse song door, haalt uit, snijdt, kronkelt, schreeuwt schor. Maakt niet uit. Topnummer (alwéér).
De synths en de bass krijgen de eer Atrocity Galore op de rails te krijgen. Postpunk van de bovenste plank. ‘Sad to see you see, to see your violence. More atrocity, no we won’t be silent (…)'.
FDM (Fascist Destroyer Machine) is de laatste song op deze EP. De synths geven de aanzet, gitaren krijgen iets meer een bedeesdere rol. Het blijft rocken, maar dan wat zuiniger. En de boodschap spreekt voor zich, toch?

The Mars Model levert alweer een heel knappe EP af. Deze Pimal Urge hoort in je platenkast. En ga ze live zien, believe me: you’ll be blown away!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/01/2023


10/01/2023 : THE MARS MODEL - Primal Urge 10/01/2023 : THE MARS MODEL - Primal Urge

 

Next reviews
ELM • Penetrator
THE JUGGERNAUTS • Fear
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
TC75 • 5th
THE GODFATHERS • ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)
CONFORMIST FEAT. H O R S E S • Heddiw
MATT HART • Infinite Horizon Requiem
FEATHER TRADE • Dead Boy
DEZ MONA • LOOSE ENDS
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...

 

Other reviews from THE MARS MODEL
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Fear And Cufre
WHISPERING SONS • The Great Calm
ENZO KREFT • Shelter
DER KLINKE • Facing Fate
PLASTIKSTROM • Eskalation
NEL & JP • Zelfbeeld van Denaldie
ABSTRACKT BLACK • Unheimlich
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
NFD • Trinity
FEATHER TRADE • Dead Boy
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOTOR!K • 4
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time

Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
05
TRAGIC VISIONS Confronts Mental Health Struggles With First New Album In 15 Years
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
50 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
38 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
43 years Spellbound!
19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
05
LIVERNOIS
An Interview With Industrial Band, Livernois
27
05
AUSGANG
“This crushing, slamming, heavy strife …” It is 1982. In and around Birmingham a band arises from the ashes of various Post-Punk acts.
11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING

PHOTOS

26
05
DER W STEFAN WEIDNER
Christuskirche Bochum
20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
VOITH
Kraftwerk (Roboterkönige)
28
05
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
27
05
MIDAS FALL
Glue
26
05
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
25
05
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
24
05
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
23
05
SRSQ
Permission