tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : CHOK TOW NATION - (S/T)

CHOK TOW NATION

(S/T)

MusicCD (EP)
Post Rock

[88/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Rain, rustling, hum and other noises. Slowly, the music comes with bass and synths. You feel that the song tends to break open, and it does when the first song flows into the second by a subtly constructed reverberating guitar riff. The bass, second guitar and the drums do the rest. I hear some new releases every week and occasionally it gives me goosebumps or an adrenalin push. That's what happened to me after listening to I and II as that is how both tracks are called. Post-rock from a Ghent/Wevelgem cooperation. Is it the West Flemish identity that creates this beauty? In any case, we enjoy it. And we do with this EP by CHOK TOW Nation. Five instrumental songs that have a number instead of a title. Songs that last between one and a half and seven minutes.

Post-rock is a term that can cover a lot, but here it is really an appropriate term. The pretty thing about CHOK TOW Nation is that the music is not set in typical song patterns, like a typical rock band, but you feel that they have a specific purpose. Sometimes the guitars sound a bit melancholic, wistful and fanning out like in track III. Song IV is short and sounds subtle and fragile. Also V gave me a boost.

Always nice to find something that brings all kinds of emotions to me. Listen to Bandcamp to this music because you might love it as well. It is also available in a tasteful black digipack with a beautiful colored CD. Yes i'm excited!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Regen, geritsel, gebrom en andere geluiden. Langzaam komt de muziek van bas en synts boven. Je voelt dat het wil openbloeien en dat doet het ook wanneer de eerste song overvloeit in de tweede, en dat via een subtiel opgebouwde galmende gitaarriff.

De bas, de tweede gitaar en de drums doen de rest. Ik hoor wekelijks een aantal nieuwe releases en nu en dan geeft er eentje mij kippenvel of een adrenalinestoot. Dat is wat ik voelde na het beluisteren van I en II, want zo heten de beide tracks. Postrock van een Gentse/Wevelgemse samenwerking. Welke muziekmicroben zitten er in het water rond Kortrijk? SX, Steak Number Eight, Goose, Balthazar… Is het de West-Vlaamse eigenheid die zorgt voor dit moois? In elk geval kunnen we er maar van genieten. En dat doen we met deze ep van CHOK TOW Nation. Vijf instrumentale songs die telkens een nummer in plaats van een titel kregen. Tracks die tussen anderhalve minuut en zeven minuten lang zijn, allemaal in een postrock jasje gestopt.

Postrock is een term die veel ladingen kan dekken, maar hier is het echt wel de geschikte term. Het mooie aan CHOK TOW Nation is dat de muziek niet in het typische songstramien zit zoals bij een doorsnee rockband, maar dat je voelt dat men ergens naartoe werkt. Soms klinken de gitaren wat melancholisch, weemoedig en waaieren ze breed uit zoals in track III. Song IV is een korte track die subtiel en fragiel klinkt en de potentie heeft om een serieuze song te worden. Ook song V blaast mij opnieuw van mijn sokken.

Altijd fijn om iets te ontdekken dat allerlei emoties bij je los maakt. Luister eens op Bandcamp naar deze muziek, want misschien doet ze dat bij jou ook. Tevens te verkrijgen in een smaakvol zwart digipack met een mooi gekleurde CD. Ja, ik ben enthousiast!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : CHOK TOW NATION - (S/T) 11/12/2016 : CHOK TOW NATION - (S/T)

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 44 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
79 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
46 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

08
12
TARJA TURUNEN
Christuskirche Bochum
05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks