tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : CHOK TOW NATION - (S/T)

CHOK TOW NATION

(S/T)

MusicCD (EP)
Post Rock

[88/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Rain, rustling, hum and other noises. Slowly, the music comes with bass and synths. You feel that the song tends to break open, and it does when the first song flows into the second by a subtly constructed reverberating guitar riff. The bass, second guitar and the drums do the rest. I hear some new releases every week and occasionally it gives me goosebumps or an adrenalin push. That's what happened to me after listening to I and II as that is how both tracks are called. Post-rock from a Ghent/Wevelgem cooperation. Is it the West Flemish identity that creates this beauty? In any case, we enjoy it. And we do with this EP by CHOK TOW Nation. Five instrumental songs that have a number instead of a title. Songs that last between one and a half and seven minutes.

Post-rock is a term that can cover a lot, but here it is really an appropriate term. The pretty thing about CHOK TOW Nation is that the music is not set in typical song patterns, like a typical rock band, but you feel that they have a specific purpose. Sometimes the guitars sound a bit melancholic, wistful and fanning out like in track III. Song IV is short and sounds subtle and fragile. Also V gave me a boost.

Always nice to find something that brings all kinds of emotions to me. Listen to Bandcamp to this music because you might love it as well. It is also available in a tasteful black digipack with a beautiful colored CD. Yes i'm excited!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Regen, geritsel, gebrom en andere geluiden. Langzaam komt de muziek van bas en synts boven. Je voelt dat het wil openbloeien en dat doet het ook wanneer de eerste song overvloeit in de tweede, en dat via een subtiel opgebouwde galmende gitaarriff.

De bas, de tweede gitaar en de drums doen de rest. Ik hoor wekelijks een aantal nieuwe releases en nu en dan geeft er eentje mij kippenvel of een adrenalinestoot. Dat is wat ik voelde na het beluisteren van I en II, want zo heten de beide tracks. Postrock van een Gentse/Wevelgemse samenwerking. Welke muziekmicroben zitten er in het water rond Kortrijk? SX, Steak Number Eight, Goose, Balthazar… Is het de West-Vlaamse eigenheid die zorgt voor dit moois? In elk geval kunnen we er maar van genieten. En dat doen we met deze ep van CHOK TOW Nation. Vijf instrumentale songs die telkens een nummer in plaats van een titel kregen. Tracks die tussen anderhalve minuut en zeven minuten lang zijn, allemaal in een postrock jasje gestopt.

Postrock is een term die veel ladingen kan dekken, maar hier is het echt wel de geschikte term. Het mooie aan CHOK TOW Nation is dat de muziek niet in het typische songstramien zit zoals bij een doorsnee rockband, maar dat je voelt dat men ergens naartoe werkt. Soms klinken de gitaren wat melancholisch, weemoedig en waaieren ze breed uit zoals in track III. Song IV is een korte track die subtiel en fragiel klinkt en de potentie heeft om een serieuze song te worden. Ook song V blaast mij opnieuw van mijn sokken.

Altijd fijn om iets te ontdekken dat allerlei emoties bij je los maakt. Luister eens op Bandcamp naar deze muziek, want misschien doet ze dat bij jou ook. Tevens te verkrijgen in een smaakvol zwart digipack met een mooi gekleurde CD. Ja, ik ben enthousiast!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : CHOK TOW NATION - (S/T) 11/12/2016 : CHOK TOW NATION - (S/T)

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing