tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : CHOK TOW NATION - (S/T)

CHOK TOW NATION

(S/T)

MusicCD (EP)
Post Rock

[88/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Rain, rustling, hum and other noises. Slowly, the music comes with bass and synths. You feel that the song tends to break open, and it does when the first song flows into the second by a subtly constructed reverberating guitar riff. The bass, second guitar and the drums do the rest. I hear some new releases every week and occasionally it gives me goosebumps or an adrenalin push. That's what happened to me after listening to I and II as that is how both tracks are called. Post-rock from a Ghent/Wevelgem cooperation. Is it the West Flemish identity that creates this beauty? In any case, we enjoy it. And we do with this EP by CHOK TOW Nation. Five instrumental songs that have a number instead of a title. Songs that last between one and a half and seven minutes.

Post-rock is a term that can cover a lot, but here it is really an appropriate term. The pretty thing about CHOK TOW Nation is that the music is not set in typical song patterns, like a typical rock band, but you feel that they have a specific purpose. Sometimes the guitars sound a bit melancholic, wistful and fanning out like in track III. Song IV is short and sounds subtle and fragile. Also V gave me a boost.

Always nice to find something that brings all kinds of emotions to me. Listen to Bandcamp to this music because you might love it as well. It is also available in a tasteful black digipack with a beautiful colored CD. Yes i'm excited!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Regen, geritsel, gebrom en andere geluiden. Langzaam komt de muziek van bas en synts boven. Je voelt dat het wil openbloeien en dat doet het ook wanneer de eerste song overvloeit in de tweede, en dat via een subtiel opgebouwde galmende gitaarriff.

De bas, de tweede gitaar en de drums doen de rest. Ik hoor wekelijks een aantal nieuwe releases en nu en dan geeft er eentje mij kippenvel of een adrenalinestoot. Dat is wat ik voelde na het beluisteren van I en II, want zo heten de beide tracks. Postrock van een Gentse/Wevelgemse samenwerking. Welke muziekmicroben zitten er in het water rond Kortrijk? SX, Steak Number Eight, Goose, Balthazar… Is het de West-Vlaamse eigenheid die zorgt voor dit moois? In elk geval kunnen we er maar van genieten. En dat doen we met deze ep van CHOK TOW Nation. Vijf instrumentale songs die telkens een nummer in plaats van een titel kregen. Tracks die tussen anderhalve minuut en zeven minuten lang zijn, allemaal in een postrock jasje gestopt.

Postrock is een term die veel ladingen kan dekken, maar hier is het echt wel de geschikte term. Het mooie aan CHOK TOW Nation is dat de muziek niet in het typische songstramien zit zoals bij een doorsnee rockband, maar dat je voelt dat men ergens naartoe werkt. Soms klinken de gitaren wat melancholisch, weemoedig en waaieren ze breed uit zoals in track III. Song IV is een korte track die subtiel en fragiel klinkt en de potentie heeft om een serieuze song te worden. Ook song V blaast mij opnieuw van mijn sokken.

Altijd fijn om iets te ontdekken dat allerlei emoties bij je los maakt. Luister eens op Bandcamp naar deze muziek, want misschien doet ze dat bij jou ook. Tevens te verkrijgen in een smaakvol zwart digipack met een mooi gekleurde CD. Ja, ik ben enthousiast!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : CHOK TOW NATION - (S/T) 11/12/2016 : CHOK TOW NATION - (S/T)

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now