tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : CHOK TOW NATION - (S/T)

CHOK TOW NATION

(S/T)

MusicCD (EP)
Post Rock

[88/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Rain, rustling, hum and other noises. Slowly, the music comes with bass and synths. You feel that the song tends to break open, and it does when the first song flows into the second by a subtly constructed reverberating guitar riff. The bass, second guitar and the drums do the rest. I hear some new releases every week and occasionally it gives me goosebumps or an adrenalin push. That's what happened to me after listening to I and II as that is how both tracks are called. Post-rock from a Ghent/Wevelgem cooperation. Is it the West Flemish identity that creates this beauty? In any case, we enjoy it. And we do with this EP by CHOK TOW Nation. Five instrumental songs that have a number instead of a title. Songs that last between one and a half and seven minutes.

Post-rock is a term that can cover a lot, but here it is really an appropriate term. The pretty thing about CHOK TOW Nation is that the music is not set in typical song patterns, like a typical rock band, but you feel that they have a specific purpose. Sometimes the guitars sound a bit melancholic, wistful and fanning out like in track III. Song IV is short and sounds subtle and fragile. Also V gave me a boost.

Always nice to find something that brings all kinds of emotions to me. Listen to Bandcamp to this music because you might love it as well. It is also available in a tasteful black digipack with a beautiful colored CD. Yes i'm excited!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Regen, geritsel, gebrom en andere geluiden. Langzaam komt de muziek van bas en synts boven. Je voelt dat het wil openbloeien en dat doet het ook wanneer de eerste song overvloeit in de tweede, en dat via een subtiel opgebouwde galmende gitaarriff.

De bas, de tweede gitaar en de drums doen de rest. Ik hoor wekelijks een aantal nieuwe releases en nu en dan geeft er eentje mij kippenvel of een adrenalinestoot. Dat is wat ik voelde na het beluisteren van I en II, want zo heten de beide tracks. Postrock van een Gentse/Wevelgemse samenwerking. Welke muziekmicroben zitten er in het water rond Kortrijk? SX, Steak Number Eight, Goose, Balthazar… Is het de West-Vlaamse eigenheid die zorgt voor dit moois? In elk geval kunnen we er maar van genieten. En dat doen we met deze ep van CHOK TOW Nation. Vijf instrumentale songs die telkens een nummer in plaats van een titel kregen. Tracks die tussen anderhalve minuut en zeven minuten lang zijn, allemaal in een postrock jasje gestopt.

Postrock is een term die veel ladingen kan dekken, maar hier is het echt wel de geschikte term. Het mooie aan CHOK TOW Nation is dat de muziek niet in het typische songstramien zit zoals bij een doorsnee rockband, maar dat je voelt dat men ergens naartoe werkt. Soms klinken de gitaren wat melancholisch, weemoedig en waaieren ze breed uit zoals in track III. Song IV is een korte track die subtiel en fragiel klinkt en de potentie heeft om een serieuze song te worden. Ook song V blaast mij opnieuw van mijn sokken.

Altijd fijn om iets te ontdekken dat allerlei emoties bij je los maakt. Luister eens op Bandcamp naar deze muziek, want misschien doet ze dat bij jou ook. Tevens te verkrijgen in een smaakvol zwart digipack met een mooi gekleurde CD. Ja, ik ben enthousiast!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : CHOK TOW NATION - (S/T) 11/12/2016 : CHOK TOW NATION - (S/T)

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer