tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : FRAGILE TOM - The Particular Go

FRAGILE TOM

The Particular Go

MusicDigital
Synth WaveSynthpop

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Particular Go was released in 2015 as a digital download. But the band asked us to give these songs some attention and after listening, we decided that they deserve a chance.

Rauhofer and Huber, the German duo behind Fragile Tom, have released two full albums so far. In 2011 there was Kingdom of Mistrust and four years later, The Particular Go. The last album is a little more pop oriented and is more accesible than the debut. It sounds a bit like Hurts, OMD, Erasure and other related bands. Or in other words: poppy and atmospheric synth pop. Rather innocent, but catchy and melodic.

Rauhofer is responsible for the vocals and he's doing this in a decent way. Only on Together in Here and Hollow Eyes it goes a bit wrong, simply because the two songs don't match his voice. But songs like The Tone, Removed From Fiction or Bleak November Sun are perfect.

Anna is a rather introspective track that is also included as a bonus on the Bertha Mix, which adds some club- elements. However, both versions have their value.

Synthpop lovers certainly will be interested, because everything is well done with fine lyrics, and it sounds catchy and poppy. Take a look at the beautiful art cover with the Pieter Bruegel painting (Return of the Hunters).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

The Particular Go is in 2015 als digitale download uitgebracht. Maar men vroeg ons om deze songs toch nog eens onder de aandacht te brengen en een eerste beluistering deed ons besluiten dat dit album een kans verdiende.

Rauhofer en Huber, het Duitse duo achter Fragile Tom, hebben tot dusver 2 albums uitgebracht. In 2011 was er Kingdom of Mistrust en vier jaar later The Particular Go. Het laatste album is nog iets meer popgericht en ligt nog iets beter in het gehoor dan het debuut. Het gaat een beetje in de richting van Hurts, OMD, Erasure en aanverwante bands. Het klinkt als sfeervolle hitgevoelige synthpop: eerder ongevaarlijk, wel catchy en melodieus. Rauhofer is verantwoordelijk voor de vocals en doet dat meer dan behoorlijk. Enkel op Together in Here en Hollow Eyes slaat hij de bal wat mis: die twee tracks liggen hem vocaal gewoon wat minder goed. Maar op songs zoals The Tone, Removed From Fiction of Bleak November Sun gaat zijn zang goed samen met de dromerige en atmosferische songs. Anna is een eerder introspectieve track die je als bonus ook in de Bertha Mix kan horen met wat clubelementjes die de song wat laten openbloeien. Beide versies hebben hun waarde en zijn hier terecht aanwezig.

Synthpopliefhebbers zullen hier zeker interesse voor hebben, want alles zit goed in elkaar en bevat fijne teksten. Let ook op de mooie gestyleerde hoes met het Pieter Bruegel-schilderij (Terugkomst van de Jagers).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
IOKOI • Liquefy
TORUL • Saviour of Love
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
DUSTERLUST • Düster Lust
TANZ OHNE MUSIK • Infinity
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMON JONES (AND ALSO THE TREES) • Ten Albums That changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day