tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : FRAGILE TOM - The Particular Go

FRAGILE TOM

The Particular Go

MusicDigital
Synth WaveSynthpop

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Particular Go was released in 2015 as a digital download. But the band asked us to give these songs some attention and after listening, we decided that they deserve a chance.

Rauhofer and Huber, the German duo behind Fragile Tom, have released two full albums so far. In 2011 there was Kingdom of Mistrust and four years later, The Particular Go. The last album is a little more pop oriented and is more accesible than the debut. It sounds a bit like Hurts, OMD, Erasure and other related bands. Or in other words: poppy and atmospheric synth pop. Rather innocent, but catchy and melodic.

Rauhofer is responsible for the vocals and he's doing this in a decent way. Only on Together in Here and Hollow Eyes it goes a bit wrong, simply because the two songs don't match his voice. But songs like The Tone, Removed From Fiction or Bleak November Sun are perfect.

Anna is a rather introspective track that is also included as a bonus on the Bertha Mix, which adds some club- elements. However, both versions have their value.

Synthpop lovers certainly will be interested, because everything is well done with fine lyrics, and it sounds catchy and poppy. Take a look at the beautiful art cover with the Pieter Bruegel painting (Return of the Hunters).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

The Particular Go is in 2015 als digitale download uitgebracht. Maar men vroeg ons om deze songs toch nog eens onder de aandacht te brengen en een eerste beluistering deed ons besluiten dat dit album een kans verdiende.

Rauhofer en Huber, het Duitse duo achter Fragile Tom, hebben tot dusver 2 albums uitgebracht. In 2011 was er Kingdom of Mistrust en vier jaar later The Particular Go. Het laatste album is nog iets meer popgericht en ligt nog iets beter in het gehoor dan het debuut. Het gaat een beetje in de richting van Hurts, OMD, Erasure en aanverwante bands. Het klinkt als sfeervolle hitgevoelige synthpop: eerder ongevaarlijk, wel catchy en melodieus. Rauhofer is verantwoordelijk voor de vocals en doet dat meer dan behoorlijk. Enkel op Together in Here en Hollow Eyes slaat hij de bal wat mis: die twee tracks liggen hem vocaal gewoon wat minder goed. Maar op songs zoals The Tone, Removed From Fiction of Bleak November Sun gaat zijn zang goed samen met de dromerige en atmosferische songs. Anna is een eerder introspectieve track die je als bonus ook in de Bertha Mix kan horen met wat clubelementjes die de song wat laten openbloeien. Beide versies hebben hun waarde en zijn hier terecht aanwezig.

Synthpopliefhebbers zullen hier zeker interesse voor hebben, want alles zit goed in elkaar en bevat fijne teksten. Let ook op de mooie gestyleerde hoes met het Pieter Bruegel-schilderij (Terugkomst van de Jagers).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
IOKOI • Liquefy
TORUL • Saviour of Love
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
DUSTERLUST • Düster Lust
TANZ OHNE MUSIK • Infinity
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMON JONES (AND ALSO THE TREES) • Ten Albums That changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane