tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : FRAGILE TOM - The Particular Go

FRAGILE TOM

The Particular Go

MusicMP3/Download
Synth WaveSynthpop

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Particular Go was released in 2015 as a digital download. But the band asked us to give these songs some attention and after listening, we decided that they deserve a chance.

Rauhofer and Huber, the German duo behind Fragile Tom, have released two full albums so far. In 2011 there was Kingdom of Mistrust and four years later, The Particular Go. The last album is a little more pop oriented and is more accesible than the debut. It sounds a bit like Hurts, OMD, Erasure and other related bands. Or in other words: poppy and atmospheric synth pop. Rather innocent, but catchy and melodic.

Rauhofer is responsible for the vocals and he's doing this in a decent way. Only on Together in Here and Hollow Eyes it goes a bit wrong, simply because the two songs don't match his voice. But songs like The Tone, Removed From Fiction or Bleak November Sun are perfect.

Anna is a rather introspective track that is also included as a bonus on the Bertha Mix, which adds some club- elements. However, both versions have their value.

Synthpop lovers certainly will be interested, because everything is well done with fine lyrics, and it sounds catchy and poppy. Take a look at the beautiful art cover with the Pieter Bruegel painting (Return of the Hunters).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

The Particular Go is in 2015 als digitale download uitgebracht. Maar men vroeg ons om deze songs toch nog eens onder de aandacht te brengen en een eerste beluistering deed ons besluiten dat dit album een kans verdiende.

Rauhofer en Huber, het Duitse duo achter Fragile Tom, hebben tot dusver 2 albums uitgebracht. In 2011 was er Kingdom of Mistrust en vier jaar later The Particular Go. Het laatste album is nog iets meer popgericht en ligt nog iets beter in het gehoor dan het debuut. Het gaat een beetje in de richting van Hurts, OMD, Erasure en aanverwante bands. Het klinkt als sfeervolle hitgevoelige synthpop: eerder ongevaarlijk, wel catchy en melodieus. Rauhofer is verantwoordelijk voor de vocals en doet dat meer dan behoorlijk. Enkel op Together in Here en Hollow Eyes slaat hij de bal wat mis: die twee tracks liggen hem vocaal gewoon wat minder goed. Maar op songs zoals The Tone, Removed From Fiction of Bleak November Sun gaat zijn zang goed samen met de dromerige en atmosferische songs. Anna is een eerder introspectieve track die je als bonus ook in de Bertha Mix kan horen met wat clubelementjes die de song wat laten openbloeien. Beide versies hebben hun waarde en zijn hier terecht aanwezig.

Synthpopliefhebbers zullen hier zeker interesse voor hebben, want alles zit goed in elkaar en bevat fijne teksten. Let ook op de mooie gestyleerde hoes met het Pieter Bruegel-schilderij (Terugkomst van de Jagers).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
IOKOI • Liquefy
TORUL • Saviour of Love
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
DUSTERLUST • Düster Lust
TANZ OHNE MUSIK • Infinity
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMON JONES (AND ALSO THE TREES) • Ten Albums That changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Tales Of A Fragile Mind
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
MONOVIBES • Extended Play EP
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
AUTO-AUTO • Underwater Sounds EP pt1 - EXLCUSIVE FOR PEEK-A-BOO

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
ELECTRIC DRAGON • Paranormalizer

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
LUXVID • Trench
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
PATIENCE • The Pressure/Wait For You
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
CHROM • Peak And Decay
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars

Music reviews

20
10
THE BIPOLAR
Tomorrow everything will get better
19
10
STACIAN
Person L
18
10
TYCHO BRAHE
Triplex [Complete]
17
10
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA
La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
New single by Kirlian Camera featuring Covenant singer Eskil Simonsson!
20
10
This weekend! DAFT / MINIMAL MAXIMAL - FEST weekend in Antwerp!
10
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'
15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second

PHOTOS

20
10
GARY NUMAN
Depot Leuven
20
10
JAYCE LEWIS
Depot Leuven
17
10
GARY NUMAN
Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
19
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Inside My Asylum
19
10
TEARFUL MOON
Ecstasy in Black
17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)