tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : FRAGILE TOM - The Particular Go

FRAGILE TOM

The Particular Go

MusicDigital
Synth WaveSynthpop

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Particular Go was released in 2015 as a digital download. But the band asked us to give these songs some attention and after listening, we decided that they deserve a chance.

Rauhofer and Huber, the German duo behind Fragile Tom, have released two full albums so far. In 2011 there was Kingdom of Mistrust and four years later, The Particular Go. The last album is a little more pop oriented and is more accesible than the debut. It sounds a bit like Hurts, OMD, Erasure and other related bands. Or in other words: poppy and atmospheric synth pop. Rather innocent, but catchy and melodic.

Rauhofer is responsible for the vocals and he's doing this in a decent way. Only on Together in Here and Hollow Eyes it goes a bit wrong, simply because the two songs don't match his voice. But songs like The Tone, Removed From Fiction or Bleak November Sun are perfect.

Anna is a rather introspective track that is also included as a bonus on the Bertha Mix, which adds some club- elements. However, both versions have their value.

Synthpop lovers certainly will be interested, because everything is well done with fine lyrics, and it sounds catchy and poppy. Take a look at the beautiful art cover with the Pieter Bruegel painting (Return of the Hunters).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

The Particular Go is in 2015 als digitale download uitgebracht. Maar men vroeg ons om deze songs toch nog eens onder de aandacht te brengen en een eerste beluistering deed ons besluiten dat dit album een kans verdiende.

Rauhofer en Huber, het Duitse duo achter Fragile Tom, hebben tot dusver 2 albums uitgebracht. In 2011 was er Kingdom of Mistrust en vier jaar later The Particular Go. Het laatste album is nog iets meer popgericht en ligt nog iets beter in het gehoor dan het debuut. Het gaat een beetje in de richting van Hurts, OMD, Erasure en aanverwante bands. Het klinkt als sfeervolle hitgevoelige synthpop: eerder ongevaarlijk, wel catchy en melodieus. Rauhofer is verantwoordelijk voor de vocals en doet dat meer dan behoorlijk. Enkel op Together in Here en Hollow Eyes slaat hij de bal wat mis: die twee tracks liggen hem vocaal gewoon wat minder goed. Maar op songs zoals The Tone, Removed From Fiction of Bleak November Sun gaat zijn zang goed samen met de dromerige en atmosferische songs. Anna is een eerder introspectieve track die je als bonus ook in de Bertha Mix kan horen met wat clubelementjes die de song wat laten openbloeien. Beide versies hebben hun waarde en zijn hier terecht aanwezig.

Synthpopliefhebbers zullen hier zeker interesse voor hebben, want alles zit goed in elkaar en bevat fijne teksten. Let ook op de mooie gestyleerde hoes met het Pieter Bruegel-schilderij (Terugkomst van de Jagers).

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
IOKOI • Liquefy
TORUL • Saviour of Love
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
DUSTERLUST • Düster Lust
TANZ OHNE MUSIK • Infinity
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMON JONES (AND ALSO THE TREES) • Ten Albums That changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination