tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

24/05/2022 : STAATSEINDE - Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022

STAATSEINDE

Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022

Concert
EBMElectroElectro WaveSynth WaveSynthpop 24/05/2022, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

On Saturday 14 May 2022, a spacecraft from the Netherlands landed in the centre of the historical city of Ghent. Three male-like figures appeared in a hazy light, dressed in Mr Spock-like outfits. They turned out to be equipped with some hardware like drum computers and analog synths. They name themselves Staatseinde. Which is Dutch for something like “End of The State”.

They were also equipped with their own beer, brewed during the Corona pandemic (of course, it is even quite a drinkable beer, being Dutch). I suppose it’s always nice to enjoy a good sip of barley beer during rehearsals in the rehearsal room. These beers came with a nice bonus: if you bought one, you got a download code from these aliens, printed on the bottle’s label.

Anyway, three years ago they also performed at the Kinky Star during the Genste Feesten. Back then, after a miscreant had tipped half a pint onto the mixing board, the trio was doomed to play their set in mono. Was it payback time today? Sadly, when they had to start, not so many found their way to the Kinky Star for this intergalactic performance, But by the halfway mark, the enchanting siren songs had lured in some more people, giving them a nice crowd. Nevertheless, it was one hell of a performance! And even that is an understatement.

As for the set: nice structure and a historical overview of what the synth and electro scene has to offer. Because that is what makes Staatseinde: Diversity. From minimal and modest songs to very sturdy, almost old-school EBM stompers, and just about everything in between.

They opened the set with ‘Wir Leben Roboter’. A matter of not kicking-in too hard right away. This was followed by ‘Ruimtevaart’ and ‘Vi Aker Dit’. An invitation to gradually increase movement in the shack.

A number of hefty stompers followed, such as ‘Blaue Augen’ and ‘Darüber Reden Wir Nicht’ and ‘Babyboom Dictators’ which blew the roof off. When you see Der Neo bouncing through the venue like a whirlwind, without embarrassment or inhibitions, singing lyrics in Dutch, English, German and I know a lot about the declamation: it can't get much crazier than this.

What stood out compared to their previous concert: the sturdiness. This performance was filled with heavy beats and rhythms. One sucker punch after another.

Afterwards, these gentlemen told me they looked back at their own sets and music, they had performed online during the corona pandemic, with a critical view. It was decided to omit the laptops, also to limit the hardware somewhat and to really go for the basics. And we must admit, it didn’t do Staaseinde’s sound and performance any harm. Quite the opposite! Sturdy, tight played, an experience full of joy. And yet musically so diverse! These gentlemen cover the spectrum from minimal to synth-wave to solid EBM so well.

As encore songs like the overwhelming ‘Repa(rierbier)’, that sounded noticeably stronger live, than the great synth/future pop version they delivered for the compilation album Wave Earplug n°2.

To conclude, a swipe from the Holy Scriptures of Staatseinde: ‘Eigen Werken Des Des Duivels’. Where I myself, and others in the audience, were laid on of hands, to feel and be released of our sins by them. Or maybe the opposite? Well, anyway, I was permeated by the Spirit of Staatseinde. I hope it was the demonic divinity that inspired me.

If I were asked to sum up this performance in one word: complete! Music-wise, show-wise, sound-wise and a great selection from the rapidly growing oeuvre of these sympathetic Dutchmen, it was all top notch! They simply rocked the house, and above all, they seem to do so with such a pleasure, one can feel their music resonate into the smallest fibers of your exhausted danced-tired body.

After the gig they drank another beer and hurried back into their spacecraft to fertilize other planets with their musical psychosis. A trip without a mess. Give this trio a place on your stage. Make them land again and again all over the place and enthrall the audiences, only then can they continue to conquer the musical universe. If someone deserves and is allowed do this, then it certainly is Staatseinde!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
24/05/2022


NL

Op zaterdag 14 mei landde in het centrum van de historisch belangrijke stad Gent een ruimtetuig uit Nederland. In een wazig licht verschenen drie op mannen lijkende gedaantes, getooid in een Mr Spock-alike outfit. Bleken ze op de koop toe voorzien van wat hardware in de vorm van drumcomputers en analoge synths. En ze noemen zichzelf Staatseinde.

Met tijdens de coronapandemie door de band zelf gebrouwen eigen bieren (jawel, Néderlands goéd drinkbaar bier!). Niet in het minst om in het repetitielokaal tijdens rehearsels zelf te kunnen genieten van een flinke teug gerstenat. Met een fijne extra: als je er ééntje dronk vond je op het etiket een downloadcode voor een song van de aliens.

Drie jaar geleden speelden ze op de Genste Feesten ook al ten dans in de Kinky Star. Doordat een onverlaat een halve pint op het mengpaneel had gekieperd, was het drietal toen gedoemd om te spelen in mono. Payback -time? Anyway: bij aanvang vonden een 12-tal mensen de weg naar de Kinky Star voor dit intergalactische optreden. Tegen halfweg hadden de bezwerende sirenesongs toch nog een aardige groep extra mensen binnen gelokt. In elk geval was het een dijk van een optreden. En zelfs dat is nog een understatement.

Wat de set betreft: een mooie opbouw en een historisch overzicht van wat de synth- en electroscène te bieden heeft. Want dat is wat Staatseinde lééft: diversiteit. Van minimal en eerder ingetogen songs tot heel stevige bijna oldschool EBM en zowat alles daartussen.
Ze openden de set met Wir Leben Roboter. Kwestie van niet meteen té hard toe te slaan. Daarna volgden Ruimtevaart en Vi Aker Dit. Een uitnodiging tot toch stilaan wat beweging in de keet.

Een aantal stevige stompers zoals Blaue Augen en Darüber Reden Wir Nicht en babyboom Dictators zorgden ervoor dat het zaakje ontplofte. Als je Der Neo als een gek doorheen de zaal ziet vliegen als een wervelwind, zonder gène of remmingen, teksten in Nederlands, Engels, Duits en weet-ik-veel-wat declamerend: het kan al niet veel gekker worden dan dit.

Wat opviel ten opzichte van vorige keer dat ik hen aan het werk zag: de stevigheid. Dit optreden stond bol van heel stevige beats en ritmes. De ene punch na de andere. Naderhand vertelden de heren me dat ze tijdens corona, na een aantal online optredens, hun eigen sets en muziek door een kritische lens hadden bekeken. Er werd gekozen de laptops achterwege te laten, de hardware wat te beperken en echt te gaan voor de basis. Wel: dat heeft de Staaseinde die ik te zien kreeg geen windeieren gelegd. Stevig, zuiver gespeeld, een beleving van jewelste, plezier. En Muzikaal zo divers! De heren dekken het spectrum van minimal tot synthwave en stevige EBM.

Als bis-nummers kwam het overweldigende Repa(rierbier) dat ook hier live weer merkelijk steviger klonk dat het bovenal geweldige synth-/futurepopnummer dat ze leverden voor de plaat Wave Earplug n°2.
Om af te sluiten een veeg uit de Heilige Schrift van Staatseinde: Eigen Werken Des Duivels. Waar ikzelf in het publiek de hand kreeg opgelegd om mijn zonden te voelen en daarvan verlost te worden. Of net niet? Anyway: ik werd doordrongen van de Staatseinde Geest. Ik hoop dat het de duivelse godsheid was die me de bezielde.

Mocht mij de vraag gesteld worden om dit optreden in één woord te vatten: compleet! Muzikaal, qua show, klank was top, een waaier van het toch wel sterk groeiend oeuvre van deze sympathieke Nederlanders. Ze spelen het boeltje eenvoudigweg op een hoopje. En bovenal doen ze dat met een plezier dat voelbaar is tot in de kleinste vezel van het moe gedanste lijf. Ze dronken nog een biertje en kropen ijlings terug in hun ruimtetuig om andere planeten te gaan bevruchten met hun muzikale psychose. Een trip zonder troep. Geef dit drietal een plaats op alle podia. Laat hen keer op keer landen en het publiek in vervoering brengen, om dan verder het muzikale heelal te gaan veroveren. Als iémand het verdient, dan is het Staatseinde wel.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
24/05/2022


24/05/2022 : STAATSEINDE - Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022 24/05/2022 : STAATSEINDE - Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022 24/05/2022 : STAATSEINDE - Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022 24/05/2022 : STAATSEINDE - Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022 24/05/2022 : STAATSEINDE - Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022 24/05/2022 : STAATSEINDE - Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022

 

Next reviews
WUK • A try-out that became a book...
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
DEAD MAN'S HILL • Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
HYDROM LINE • Hydrom Line Edition 2021
HOCICO • HyperViolent
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side

 

Other reviews from STAATSEINDE
STAATSEINDE • De Nieuwe Golf
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: EBM
YOUR ENEMY • Broken Toys
DARKVOLT • Electric Angel
CELLDOD • Pandoras Ask
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI • ELECTRO au BNR
THE WEATHERMEN • PIAS 40
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX • PIAS40
SKINNY PUPPY • PIAS 40
BHPL • II
PLASTIKSTROM • Eskalation
ULTRA SUNN • Kill Your Idols

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
XTORT • Zwart
STAATSEINDE • De Nieuwe Golf
ENZO KREFT • Shelter
MOTOR!K • 4
MATT HART • Infinite Horizon Requiem
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Blue Screens 1995 -2009
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
CHRYPTOCHROMA • Ominous Clouds
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
ABSTRACKT BLACK • Unheimlich
ELM • Penetrator
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VANGUARD • Spectrum
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

Music reviews

27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
38 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
27
02
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies