tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2020 : PORTION CONTROL - SEED EP 2

PORTION CONTROL

SEED EP 2

MusicDigital
EBMElectroElectro WaveIndustrial

[95/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2020, Fred GADGET

EN

These guys from Portion Control seem to be making a virtue of this Corona crisis and lockdown and released another brand new EP with 5 tracks! That is to say, four tracks plus a bonus track according to their info. And this only two months after the already fantastic Seed EP 1, reviewed by the undersigned some weeks ago. Also on this EP, these British Electro pioneers do not disappoint, on the contrary! Portion Control is pounding harder and stronger than ever before, in their meanwhile well-known style, and with tracks like "Revealation" (no, it is not a typo), "Seek" and "Realm". Only the second song stands out a bit, only because the tempo here is set slightly higher than the aforementioned tracks. As we are now used to by now, the ominous and chanting vocals of Dean Piavani find their way perfectly between the industrial soundscapes of his companion John Whybrew. Only on the last (bonus) track, we have to do without these great vocals, although these are seamlessly filled in by, among other things, sampled voices. Dragging uplifting pumping beats interspersed with menacing, sometimes almost tearing sequencers form the perfect soundtrack for a dystopian post C-19 world. Why (in vain) waiting for example for a new 242 album when one can also purchase high-quality releases of these EBM pioneers! So what are your 'Ranters' waiting for? Put those damn ear pluggs and blinders off and get this sh*t!

Fred GADGET
11/12/2020


NL

De heren van Portion Control schijnen van deze Corona crisis en lockdown een deugd te maken en laten alweer een gloed nieuwe EP met 5 tracks op ons los. Het is te zeggen, vier tracks plus een bonus track. Dit slechts een tweemaal maanden na de lichtjes fantastische Seed EP 1 die hier ondertussen ook reeds door ondergetekende besproken werd. Ook op deze EP stellen deze Britse Electro pioneers weer niet teleur, integendeel! Portion Control beukt harder dan ooit tevoren in hun ondertussen gekende stijl en met tracks als daar zijn ‘Revealation’ (En neen het is geen typo), ‘Seek’ en ‘Realm’. Enkel het tweede nummer springt er een beetje uit en dit enkel omdat tempo hier iets hoger ligt dan de voorgenoemde. De onheilspellende en scanderende vocals van Dean Piavani vinden, zoals we ondertussen van PornCon gewoon zijn, perfect hun plaats tussen de industriële soundscapes van de hand van zijn kompaan John Whybrew. Enkel op het laatste (bonus) nummer moeten we het zonder vocalen stellen, al zijn deze vakkundig ingevuld door, onder andere, gesampelde stemmen. (Mee) Slepende pompende beats doorspekt met dreigende, soms zelfs bijna scheurende sequencers vormen de perfecte soundtrack voor een dystopische post C-19 wereld. Waarom (tevergeefs) wachtten op bijvoorbeeld een nieuw 242 album als men ook hoogwaardige releases van deze, EBM pioneers kan aanschaffen! Waarop wacht jullie 'Ranters' nog op? Zet die oor en oogkleppen af en haal dit in huis!

Fred GADGET
11/12/2020


 

Next reviews
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MERZBOW • Screaming Dove
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
FIRST • Restless
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SWANS • Children Of GodFeel Good Now

 

Other reviews from PORTION CONTROL
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
PORTION CONTROL • Unrest in the Grime
PORTION CONTROL • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

 

Same genre: EBM
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide