tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2020 : PORTION CONTROL - SEED EP 2

PORTION CONTROL

SEED EP 2

MusicDigital
EBMElectroElectro WaveIndustrial

[95/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2020, Fred GADGET

EN

These guys from Portion Control seem to be making a virtue of this Corona crisis and lockdown and released another brand new EP with 5 tracks! That is to say, four tracks plus a bonus track according to their info. And this only two months after the already fantastic Seed EP 1, reviewed by the undersigned some weeks ago. Also on this EP, these British Electro pioneers do not disappoint, on the contrary! Portion Control is pounding harder and stronger than ever before, in their meanwhile well-known style, and with tracks like "Revealation" (no, it is not a typo), "Seek" and "Realm". Only the second song stands out a bit, only because the tempo here is set slightly higher than the aforementioned tracks. As we are now used to by now, the ominous and chanting vocals of Dean Piavani find their way perfectly between the industrial soundscapes of his companion John Whybrew. Only on the last (bonus) track, we have to do without these great vocals, although these are seamlessly filled in by, among other things, sampled voices. Dragging uplifting pumping beats interspersed with menacing, sometimes almost tearing sequencers form the perfect soundtrack for a dystopian post C-19 world. Why (in vain) waiting for example for a new 242 album when one can also purchase high-quality releases of these EBM pioneers! So what are your 'Ranters' waiting for? Put those damn ear pluggs and blinders off and get this sh*t!

Fred GADGET
11/12/2020


NL

De heren van Portion Control schijnen van deze Corona crisis en lockdown een deugd te maken en laten alweer een gloed nieuwe EP met 5 tracks op ons los. Het is te zeggen, vier tracks plus een bonus track. Dit slechts een tweemaal maanden na de lichtjes fantastische Seed EP 1 die hier ondertussen ook reeds door ondergetekende besproken werd. Ook op deze EP stellen deze Britse Electro pioneers weer niet teleur, integendeel! Portion Control beukt harder dan ooit tevoren in hun ondertussen gekende stijl en met tracks als daar zijn ‘Revealation’ (En neen het is geen typo), ‘Seek’ en ‘Realm’. Enkel het tweede nummer springt er een beetje uit en dit enkel omdat tempo hier iets hoger ligt dan de voorgenoemde. De onheilspellende en scanderende vocals van Dean Piavani vinden, zoals we ondertussen van PornCon gewoon zijn, perfect hun plaats tussen de industriële soundscapes van de hand van zijn kompaan John Whybrew. Enkel op het laatste (bonus) nummer moeten we het zonder vocalen stellen, al zijn deze vakkundig ingevuld door, onder andere, gesampelde stemmen. (Mee) Slepende pompende beats doorspekt met dreigende, soms zelfs bijna scheurende sequencers vormen de perfecte soundtrack voor een dystopische post C-19 wereld. Waarom (tevergeefs) wachtten op bijvoorbeeld een nieuw 242 album als men ook hoogwaardige releases van deze, EBM pioneers kan aanschaffen! Waarop wacht jullie 'Ranters' nog op? Zet die oor en oogkleppen af en haal dit in huis!

Fred GADGET
11/12/2020


 

Next reviews
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MERZBOW • Screaming Dove
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
FIRST • Restless
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SWANS • Children Of GodFeel Good Now

 

Other reviews from PORTION CONTROL
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
PORTION CONTROL • Unrest in the Grime
PORTION CONTROL • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets