tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl review

02/12/2020 : DIVE - Where do we go from here

DIVE

Where do we go from here

MusicCD / Vinyl
EBMElectroIndustrial

[100/100]   

Out Of Line
02/12/2020, Doris ENDER

Let’s fast-forward the introduction because Dirk Ivens does not need any.

“Where do we go from here?”, a question often asked in a world threatened by global warming and a pandemic, full of old men clinging to their power just to mention a few. But the darkest moments on the new DIVE album, which was written in collaboration with Jan Dewulf, - and believe me, this album is dark - are those when Dirk has a close look on our relationships and on our inner fears.The album opens with hard beats. “Inside your Head” grips you with a strong rhythm, accentuated drums and reverberating vocals. It is the club hit on this album.

“Black Star” starts with a simple sequence of just two notes like a sonar. Echoing vocals over rich synths create a deep dimension. Thanks to the nice rhythm this is not only a song to listen to but also one that makes you want to dance.

“Slave to Desire” is a typical DIVE song for me. Instantly I imagine Dirk live on stage, entangled in the wire of his micro and being lit by the flashlight stroboscopes only. This mid-tempo song tells the story of a restless night.

“Leave me be” is my favourite track on the album. The lyrics are about one of my favourite topics: respect and dignity. Instead of questioning you should respect people for what they are. This message is wrapped into hard beats and full synths so no wonder it was love at first listening.

“Facing the Moon” has a nice warm feeling to it. Music and lyrics create a comforting atmosphere. Dirk’s reverberating vocals are well combined with mid-tempo beats and a beautiful melody.

The world became a “Dark Place”. This track is dark, slow and frightening. Dirk’s voice is but a whisper over unsettling drums. Like a dark cloud this song has a silver lining, promising us the light to set us free.

“Death Machine” was pre-released on Electrostorm 9 (VA, Out of Line, 13 November 2020). From this teaser you could already gather that Dirk’s new album takes you on a journey to the dark side. “Death Machine” is dark and hypnotic. Lines like “it’s too late, far too late” do not hold out much hope for any improvement.

“Invisible” is floating but at the same time driven forward by its rhythm. Aren’t we all from time to time afraid of disappearing, of just becoming a face in the crowd? For me this is the most disturbing song on the album.

“Where do we go from here?”. The title song closes the album. Back in 1994 Dirk contributed the lyrics and his voice to this song on Suicide Commando’s album “Critical Stage”. DIVE’s 2020 version of the song is disembodied. The long intro is followed by drums rising in volume and force. Dirk’s voice again stays a whisper throughout this whole haunting song. It is a grand finale to a dark album that leaves you lingering on the question “Where do we go from here?”.

“Inside your Head” on the EP is the compact version of the album version with a we take no prisoners attitude.

The Numb Remix of “Death Machine” is oppressive. It is an orchestral soundtrack for a nightmare.

“Black Star” (EP version) more or less is the shorter album version.

“Leave me be (Suicide Commando Remix)” is floating and spheric, interrupted by harder beats from time to time. The beautifully crafted synths are typical for Suicide Commando. This remix is the most forceful track on both album and EP.

100/100 because on this album and EP you get what you expect from DIVE:
solid and diversified danceable electronic music with sophisticated lyrics sung in Dirk’s sometimes haunted voice.

"Where do we go from here?" will be released as a simple CD and also as a wooden box limited to 500 copies including the album on vinyl, the CD-version and an exclusive vinyl EP.

Release Date: 11 December 2020

TRACKLISTING

Album “Where do we go from here?”

1 Inside your head
2 Black Star
3 Slave to Desire
4 Leave me be
5 Facing the Moon
6 Dark Place
7 Death Machine
8 Invisible
9 Where do we go from here?

EP

A1 Inside your Head (EP version)
A2 Death Machine (Numb Remix)
B1 Black Star (EP version)
B2 Leave me be (Suicide Commando Remix)

Doris ENDER
02/12/2020


 

Next reviews
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
FIRST • Restless
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SWANS • Children Of GodFeel Good Now
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • All Thoughts Fly Sweden
FATAL CASUALTIES • Lullaby for Helsinki

 

Other reviews from DIVE
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius

 

Same genre: EBM
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
AD:KEY • Resonanz
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne

Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl