tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl review

02/12/2020 : DIVE - Where do we go from here

DIVE

Where do we go from here

MusicCD / Vinyl
EBMElectroIndustrial

[100/100]   

Out Of Line
02/12/2020, Doris ENDER

Let’s fast-forward the introduction because Dirk Ivens does not need any.

“Where do we go from here?”, a question often asked in a world threatened by global warming and a pandemic, full of old men clinging to their power just to mention a few. But the darkest moments on the new DIVE album, which was written in collaboration with Jan Dewulf, - and believe me, this album is dark - are those when Dirk has a close look on our relationships and on our inner fears.The album opens with hard beats. “Inside your Head” grips you with a strong rhythm, accentuated drums and reverberating vocals. It is the club hit on this album.

“Black Star” starts with a simple sequence of just two notes like a sonar. Echoing vocals over rich synths create a deep dimension. Thanks to the nice rhythm this is not only a song to listen to but also one that makes you want to dance.

“Slave to Desire” is a typical DIVE song for me. Instantly I imagine Dirk live on stage, entangled in the wire of his micro and being lit by the flashlight stroboscopes only. This mid-tempo song tells the story of a restless night.

“Leave me be” is my favourite track on the album. The lyrics are about one of my favourite topics: respect and dignity. Instead of questioning you should respect people for what they are. This message is wrapped into hard beats and full synths so no wonder it was love at first listening.

“Facing the Moon” has a nice warm feeling to it. Music and lyrics create a comforting atmosphere. Dirk’s reverberating vocals are well combined with mid-tempo beats and a beautiful melody.

The world became a “Dark Place”. This track is dark, slow and frightening. Dirk’s voice is but a whisper over unsettling drums. Like a dark cloud this song has a silver lining, promising us the light to set us free.

“Death Machine” was pre-released on Electrostorm 9 (VA, Out of Line, 13 November 2020). From this teaser you could already gather that Dirk’s new album takes you on a journey to the dark side. “Death Machine” is dark and hypnotic. Lines like “it’s too late, far too late” do not hold out much hope for any improvement.

“Invisible” is floating but at the same time driven forward by its rhythm. Aren’t we all from time to time afraid of disappearing, of just becoming a face in the crowd? For me this is the most disturbing song on the album.

“Where do we go from here?”. The title song closes the album. Back in 1994 Dirk contributed the lyrics and his voice to this song on Suicide Commando’s album “Critical Stage”. DIVE’s 2020 version of the song is disembodied. The long intro is followed by drums rising in volume and force. Dirk’s voice again stays a whisper throughout this whole haunting song. It is a grand finale to a dark album that leaves you lingering on the question “Where do we go from here?”.

“Inside your Head” on the EP is the compact version of the album version with a we take no prisoners attitude.

The Numb Remix of “Death Machine” is oppressive. It is an orchestral soundtrack for a nightmare.

“Black Star” (EP version) more or less is the shorter album version.

“Leave me be (Suicide Commando Remix)” is floating and spheric, interrupted by harder beats from time to time. The beautifully crafted synths are typical for Suicide Commando. This remix is the most forceful track on both album and EP.

100/100 because on this album and EP you get what you expect from DIVE:
solid and diversified danceable electronic music with sophisticated lyrics sung in Dirk’s sometimes haunted voice.

"Where do we go from here?" will be released as a simple CD and also as a wooden box limited to 500 copies including the album on vinyl, the CD-version and an exclusive vinyl EP.

Release Date: 11 December 2020

TRACKLISTING

Album “Where do we go from here?”

1 Inside your head
2 Black Star
3 Slave to Desire
4 Leave me be
5 Facing the Moon
6 Dark Place
7 Death Machine
8 Invisible
9 Where do we go from here?

EP

A1 Inside your Head (EP version)
A2 Death Machine (Numb Remix)
B1 Black Star (EP version)
B2 Leave me be (Suicide Commando Remix)

Doris ENDER
02/12/2020


 

Next reviews
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
FIRST • Restless
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SWANS • Children Of GodFeel Good Now
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • All Thoughts Fly Sweden
FATAL CASUALTIES • Lullaby for Helsinki

 

Other reviews from DIVE
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
JESU • When I Was Small

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
18
09
CALVA Y NADA
Der Sturm