tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl review

02/12/2020 : DIVE - Where do we go from here

DIVE

Where do we go from here

MusicCD / Vinyl
EBMElectroIndustrial

[100/100]   

Out Of Line
02/12/2020, Doris ENDER

Let’s fast-forward the introduction because Dirk Ivens does not need any.

“Where do we go from here?”, a question often asked in a world threatened by global warming and a pandemic, full of old men clinging to their power just to mention a few. But the darkest moments on the new DIVE album, which was written in collaboration with Jan Dewulf, - and believe me, this album is dark - are those when Dirk has a close look on our relationships and on our inner fears.The album opens with hard beats. “Inside your Head” grips you with a strong rhythm, accentuated drums and reverberating vocals. It is the club hit on this album.

“Black Star” starts with a simple sequence of just two notes like a sonar. Echoing vocals over rich synths create a deep dimension. Thanks to the nice rhythm this is not only a song to listen to but also one that makes you want to dance.

“Slave to Desire” is a typical DIVE song for me. Instantly I imagine Dirk live on stage, entangled in the wire of his micro and being lit by the flashlight stroboscopes only. This mid-tempo song tells the story of a restless night.

“Leave me be” is my favourite track on the album. The lyrics are about one of my favourite topics: respect and dignity. Instead of questioning you should respect people for what they are. This message is wrapped into hard beats and full synths so no wonder it was love at first listening.

“Facing the Moon” has a nice warm feeling to it. Music and lyrics create a comforting atmosphere. Dirk’s reverberating vocals are well combined with mid-tempo beats and a beautiful melody.

The world became a “Dark Place”. This track is dark, slow and frightening. Dirk’s voice is but a whisper over unsettling drums. Like a dark cloud this song has a silver lining, promising us the light to set us free.

“Death Machine” was pre-released on Electrostorm 9 (VA, Out of Line, 13 November 2020). From this teaser you could already gather that Dirk’s new album takes you on a journey to the dark side. “Death Machine” is dark and hypnotic. Lines like “it’s too late, far too late” do not hold out much hope for any improvement.

“Invisible” is floating but at the same time driven forward by its rhythm. Aren’t we all from time to time afraid of disappearing, of just becoming a face in the crowd? For me this is the most disturbing song on the album.

“Where do we go from here?”. The title song closes the album. Back in 1994 Dirk contributed the lyrics and his voice to this song on Suicide Commando’s album “Critical Stage”. DIVE’s 2020 version of the song is disembodied. The long intro is followed by drums rising in volume and force. Dirk’s voice again stays a whisper throughout this whole haunting song. It is a grand finale to a dark album that leaves you lingering on the question “Where do we go from here?”.

“Inside your Head” on the EP is the compact version of the album version with a we take no prisoners attitude.

The Numb Remix of “Death Machine” is oppressive. It is an orchestral soundtrack for a nightmare.

“Black Star” (EP version) more or less is the shorter album version.

“Leave me be (Suicide Commando Remix)” is floating and spheric, interrupted by harder beats from time to time. The beautifully crafted synths are typical for Suicide Commando. This remix is the most forceful track on both album and EP.

100/100 because on this album and EP you get what you expect from DIVE:
solid and diversified danceable electronic music with sophisticated lyrics sung in Dirk’s sometimes haunted voice.

"Where do we go from here?" will be released as a simple CD and also as a wooden box limited to 500 copies including the album on vinyl, the CD-version and an exclusive vinyl EP.

Release Date: 11 December 2020

TRACKLISTING

Album “Where do we go from here?”

1 Inside your head
2 Black Star
3 Slave to Desire
4 Leave me be
5 Facing the Moon
6 Dark Place
7 Death Machine
8 Invisible
9 Where do we go from here?

EP

A1 Inside your Head (EP version)
A2 Death Machine (Numb Remix)
B1 Black Star (EP version)
B2 Leave me be (Suicide Commando Remix)

Doris ENDER
02/12/2020


 

Next reviews
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
FIRST • Restless
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SWANS • Children Of GodFeel Good Now
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • All Thoughts Fly Sweden
FATAL CASUALTIES • Lullaby for Helsinki

 

Other reviews from DIVE
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius

 

Same genre: EBM
YOUR ENEMY • Broken Toys
DARKVOLT • Electric Angel
CELLDOD • Pandoras Ask
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI • ELECTRO au BNR
THE WEATHERMEN • PIAS 40
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX • PIAS40
SKINNY PUPPY • PIAS 40
BHPL • II
PLASTIKSTROM • Eskalation
ULTRA SUNN • Kill Your Idols

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
XTORT • Zwart
STAATSEINDE • De Nieuwe Golf
ENZO KREFT • Shelter
MOTOR!K • 4
MATT HART • Infinite Horizon Requiem
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
05
TRAGIC VISIONS Confronts Mental Health Struggles With First New Album In 15 Years
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
50 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
38 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
43 years Spellbound!
19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
05
LIVERNOIS
An Interview With Industrial Band, Livernois
27
05
AUSGANG
“This crushing, slamming, heavy strife …” It is 1982. In and around Birmingham a band arises from the ashes of various Post-Punk acts.
11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING

PHOTOS

26
05
DER W STEFAN WEIDNER
Christuskirche Bochum
20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
VOITH
Kraftwerk (Roboterkönige)
28
05
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
27
05
MIDAS FALL
Glue
26
05
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
25
05
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
24
05
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
23
05
SRSQ
Permission