tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl review

02/12/2020 : DIVE - Where do we go from here

DIVE

Where do we go from here

MusicCD / Vinyl
EBMElectroIndustrial

[100/100]   

Out Of Line
02/12/2020, Doris ENDER

Let’s fast-forward the introduction because Dirk Ivens does not need any.

“Where do we go from here?”, a question often asked in a world threatened by global warming and a pandemic, full of old men clinging to their power just to mention a few. But the darkest moments on the new DIVE album, which was written in collaboration with Jan Dewulf, - and believe me, this album is dark - are those when Dirk has a close look on our relationships and on our inner fears.The album opens with hard beats. “Inside your Head” grips you with a strong rhythm, accentuated drums and reverberating vocals. It is the club hit on this album.

“Black Star” starts with a simple sequence of just two notes like a sonar. Echoing vocals over rich synths create a deep dimension. Thanks to the nice rhythm this is not only a song to listen to but also one that makes you want to dance.

“Slave to Desire” is a typical DIVE song for me. Instantly I imagine Dirk live on stage, entangled in the wire of his micro and being lit by the flashlight stroboscopes only. This mid-tempo song tells the story of a restless night.

“Leave me be” is my favourite track on the album. The lyrics are about one of my favourite topics: respect and dignity. Instead of questioning you should respect people for what they are. This message is wrapped into hard beats and full synths so no wonder it was love at first listening.

“Facing the Moon” has a nice warm feeling to it. Music and lyrics create a comforting atmosphere. Dirk’s reverberating vocals are well combined with mid-tempo beats and a beautiful melody.

The world became a “Dark Place”. This track is dark, slow and frightening. Dirk’s voice is but a whisper over unsettling drums. Like a dark cloud this song has a silver lining, promising us the light to set us free.

“Death Machine” was pre-released on Electrostorm 9 (VA, Out of Line, 13 November 2020). From this teaser you could already gather that Dirk’s new album takes you on a journey to the dark side. “Death Machine” is dark and hypnotic. Lines like “it’s too late, far too late” do not hold out much hope for any improvement.

“Invisible” is floating but at the same time driven forward by its rhythm. Aren’t we all from time to time afraid of disappearing, of just becoming a face in the crowd? For me this is the most disturbing song on the album.

“Where do we go from here?”. The title song closes the album. Back in 1994 Dirk contributed the lyrics and his voice to this song on Suicide Commando’s album “Critical Stage”. DIVE’s 2020 version of the song is disembodied. The long intro is followed by drums rising in volume and force. Dirk’s voice again stays a whisper throughout this whole haunting song. It is a grand finale to a dark album that leaves you lingering on the question “Where do we go from here?”.

“Inside your Head” on the EP is the compact version of the album version with a we take no prisoners attitude.

The Numb Remix of “Death Machine” is oppressive. It is an orchestral soundtrack for a nightmare.

“Black Star” (EP version) more or less is the shorter album version.

“Leave me be (Suicide Commando Remix)” is floating and spheric, interrupted by harder beats from time to time. The beautifully crafted synths are typical for Suicide Commando. This remix is the most forceful track on both album and EP.

100/100 because on this album and EP you get what you expect from DIVE:
solid and diversified danceable electronic music with sophisticated lyrics sung in Dirk’s sometimes haunted voice.

"Where do we go from here?" will be released as a simple CD and also as a wooden box limited to 500 copies including the album on vinyl, the CD-version and an exclusive vinyl EP.

Release Date: 11 December 2020

TRACKLISTING

Album “Where do we go from here?”

1 Inside your head
2 Black Star
3 Slave to Desire
4 Leave me be
5 Facing the Moon
6 Dark Place
7 Death Machine
8 Invisible
9 Where do we go from here?

EP

A1 Inside your Head (EP version)
A2 Death Machine (Numb Remix)
B1 Black Star (EP version)
B2 Leave me be (Suicide Commando Remix)

Doris ENDER
02/12/2020


 

Next reviews
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
FIRST • Restless
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SWANS • Children Of GodFeel Good Now
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • All Thoughts Fly Sweden
FATAL CASUALTIES • Lullaby for Helsinki

 

Other reviews from DIVE
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius

 

Same genre: EBM
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil

Music reviews

18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature
19
12
ORANGE SECTOR
Alles wird Gold

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 42 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
FREDRIK CROONA Condemns The Vain With New Project & Debut Single, 'Scum'
17
01
Today, 37 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
27 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 4 Year Anniversary
14
01
Today, 43 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven
14
01
DI*OVE
Please Stop!
13
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Socopelli
12
01
AEX
Selected Memories