tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette / digital review

25/10/2023 : BHPL - II

BHPL

II

MusicCassette / Digital
EBMIndustrial

[84/100]   

Self-released
25/10/2023, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

BPHL is a project that took shape during the Corona pandemic. The two band members of the Dutch band, whose name refers to a tragic gas leak disaster in Bhopal, India, both have a past in various metal and hardcore bands but also in darker and electronically harder music with a dark edge. Based on their mutual love for this, they decided to start writing songs together. The result is BPHL with a first EP, called II. Available digitally and on cassette (100 copies).

This II is ear candy for fans of the harder electronic side of the gothic world. With a mixture that lies between EBM, with very industrial sounding vocals, and if you wanted to hear it, a touch of techno sounds here and there but then you have to listen very carefully for that, as the EBM content is much stronger present.

With the opening track ‘Terminal’ they immediately strike hard. Atmospheric synths, a heavy repetitive bassline and sneering drumming. EBM with a cool industrial edge. The vocal in particular gives the song an even more industrial sound. Anyway: it's pounding away nicely and which electro enthusiast would have anything against being allowed to stomp their feet? None?

And since we are really going wild, we are staying in the strong rhythm with ‘Traitor’. Cut out from the same sturdy EBM log. I tend to recognize the better Schwefelgelb in this track and you know that it useless to resist dancing. The main ingredients of this song are very strong bass thumps and rhythms. Dark beats blast enough that could blow your hair dry if you stand too close to the speakers. I think you know what I mean.

‘Mass Control’ proves that sometimes a track which is more relaxed in terms of beats per minute can also sound heavy. Here the duo uses real old-school new beat sounds that swarm through the song like a virus.

And why would a song about sex be missing here? Here we go! ‘Sex and Perversion’. A 7 minute long dark techno beat that is just deep and dark enough to make the people dressed in black dance themselves completely crazy. There is something magical and enchanting about the repetitive character of this track. Get those strobe light firmly fixed because you don’t wanna see them coming down while you dance & listen to this song.

As a bonus track we get a remix of the song ‘Terminal’ by Crystal Geometry.

Well, as far as I'm concerned, these gentlemen can keep their electro adventure alive for many years to follow. I don't miss guitars when I'm fed this kind of electro violence at all. Run/surf like crazy to Tartarus Records if you want one of the 100 cassettes of this limited edition tape!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/10/2023


NL

BPHL kreeg vorm in de coronapandemie. De beide bandleden van Nederlandse band, waarbij de naam verwijst naar een tragische gaslekramp in India, hebben een verleden in verschillende metal- en hardcorebands. Maar evenzeer in de donkerder en elektronisch hardere muziek met een donker randje. Vanuit hun beider voorliefde hiervoor, besloten ze samen aan het schrijven te gaan. Het resultaat is BPHL met intussen een eerste EP, genaamd II. Te verkrijgen digitaal en op cassette (100 exemplaren).
Deze II is voer voor de bek van liefhebbers van de hardere elektronische kant van de gothic-wereld. Met een mix tussen EBM, wat meer industrial vocalen en als je het zou willen horen, hier en daar een vleugje techno-sounds. Maar dan moet je héél goed luisteren, gezien het EBM-gehalte veel sterker aanwezig is.

Het is meteen raak met Terminal. Sferische synths, een stevige repetitieve baslijn en snerend drumwerk. EBM met een vette industrial rand. Vooral het vocale maakt dat het nummer de meer industrial-sound krijgt. Anyway: het beukt er lekker op los en welke elektroliefhebber heeft er iets op tegen om lekker te mogen stampvoeten? Toch?

Nu we stevig aan het losgaan zijn, blijven we in het stevige ritme met Traitor. Van hetzelfde stevige EBM-laken een broek. Ik herken er de beter Schwefelgelb in qua sound. En dan weet je dat het onherroepelijk dansbaar is. Het hoofdingrediënt van deze song zijn heel straffe basdreunen en ritmes. De darkbeats die je haar drogen als je te dicht bij de speakers staat. Je weet genoeg vermoed ik?
Dat iets wat gemoedelijker is qua beats per minuut ook stevig kan zijn, bewijst Mass Control. Hier bedient het duo zich van heuse oldschool new beat klanken die zich als een virus door de song heen beuken.
En waarom zou er een song over sex ontbreken? Juist: Sex en Perversion. 7 minuten langs een donkere techno-beat die net diep en donker genoeg is om het zwarte volkje volledig kreupel te laten dansen. Het repetitieve heeft iets magisch en bezwerends. Hang de stroboscoop maar stevig in de hengsels want die zie je terwijl je naar de song luistert.

Een remix van Terminal van de hand van Crystal Geometry als toemaatje.

Wel, voor mijn part mogen de heren hun elektro-avontuur een paar jaar levend(ig) houden. Ik mis geen gitaren als ik elektro-geweld van dit niveau krijg ingelepeld. Rep je als een gek naar Tartarus Records als je één van de 100 cassettes wil.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/10/2023


Music reviews

22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called
25
01
KRAMM
Die Schöpfung und andere Kurzgeschichten

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
18
02
BESTIAL MOUTHS Rips & Re-Stitches With New Remix LP, 'BACKBONE'

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
21
02
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
20
02
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park