tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/09/2017 : HEXHEART - Midnight on a Moonless Night

HEXHEART

Midnight on a Moonless Night

MusicCD
EBMIndustrialSynthpop

[90/100]   

Metropolis Records
04/09/2017, Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE

EN

I listened to Midnight on a Moonless Night several times, front-to-back and then reversed the order back-to-front, the latter being preferred because it builds on it’s progeny and leads up to a modern, incarnation of emotional electronic music definitely influenced by new wave and post-punk ancestors.

Thusly, Faces becomes the first song. So, with the opening bass line, drop beat and minor cord changes, you might find yourself thinking, “is this a remix of a Cure song that I don’t remember?” Then the vocals hit and you might think, “Wait, this sounds a lot like God Module.” And, well, it just kind of is God Module. On this side-project, Jasyn Bangert is indeed heard electronically channeling The Cure, Echo and the Bunnymen and perhaps Joy Division, as he melodically shape-shifts between contemplative synths and strumming guitar riffs. The next track in this back to front journey, Never Understand, continues the symphonic melancholia undulating behind the artificial instrumentation. It is very reminiscent of a new wave, droning kind of sound. You almost expect to hear Ronny Moorings (Clan Of Xymox) come in on vocals after the 20 seconds or so of the intro to Hollywood. But, no, it’s Bangert slightly less harshly distorted than you would hear on God Module’s aggro style. Then “Lunatix” answers the question, “What if post punk had evolved to become completely electronic.”

There are some nice guitar sounds here that, again, sound as if Mr. Bangert layered The Church over his digital creations. Problems and Bigger Ones sounds rather one-dimensional but here the heartfelt lyrics, present throughout the album, are able to carry the tune and hold your interest. Second Sight comes in as if we’re Jumping Someone Else’s Train on the Trans-Europe Express. Multiple layers or symphonic synths and analogue sounds make this very appealing. The album does pick up the pace in the final three cuts leading to the stand-out single, A Thousand Times. It’s the culmination of sound and lyrics that had been building all along.

The musical musings of Hexheart bring more sway and less stomp to the dance floor. The emotional prominence of the lyrics is evidenced in lines such as "Catch me I’m falling fast … inside out outside in the past” from A Thousand Times. Listening to the tracks as originally ordered, therefore, the album stays solid but seems to peter out causing a listener to perhaps loose interested and, unfortunately, miss out on some creative modern impressions of sounds and styles pioneered in the 80s. Listen to it in reverse order for the full effect.

Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE
04/09/2017


NL

Ik luisterde een paar keer naar deze Midnight on a Moonless Night, eerst van voor naar achter en dan andersom. Dat laatste genoot meer mijn voorkeur omdat de nummers dan eerder te lijken evolueren van New-Wave en Post-Punk geïnspireerde song naar een meer moderne emotionele elektronische muziek.

Dus in dit geval is Faces het eerste nummer. Openend met een baslijn, drop-beat en daarna minimale toonveranderingen, zou je kunnen denken: "is dit een remix van een Cure-nummer dat ik me niet herinner?”. Daarna hoor je de vocalen en denk je misschien: "Wacht, dit klinkt eerder als God Module." En ja hoor, eigenlijk is dit gewoon een beetje als God Module. Op dit nevenproject van Jasyn Bangert hoor je inderdaad een elektronische versie van The Cure, Echo & The Bunnymen en misschien ook wel ergens Joy Division, door de melodische overgangen tussen hedendaagse synths en tokkelende gitaarriffs. Bij het volgende nummer in deze achterwaartse reis, Never Understand, zet de symfonische melancholie zich golvend verder, verscholen achter de artificiële instrumenten. Het heeft een sterke New-Wave-achtige klank. Je verwacht bijna Ronny Moorings’s (Clan Of Xymox) stem na de ongeveer 20 seconden durende intro van Hollywood. Maar nee, het is nog steeds Jasyn Bangert, met een iets minder hard vervormde stem dan je zou verwachten en dus niet zoals God Module’s ‘Aggro’-stijl. Vervolgens beantwoordt Lunatix de vraag: "Wat als Post-Punk volledig elektronisch zou worden?"

Er zijn een aantal mooie gitaargeluiden op dit album die, nogmaals, klinken alsof Mr. Bangert bijvoorbeeld The Church met zijn digitale creaties heeft verweven. Problems and Bigger Ones klinken eerder eendimensionaal, maar hier zijn de oprechte teksten, die in het hele album aanwezig zijn, in staat om de melodie te dragen en de interesse vast te houden. Second Sight komt binnen als "Jumping Someone Else’s Train" op de Trans-Europe Express. Meerdere lagen symfonisch klinkende synths en analoge klanken maken dit nummer erg aantrekkelijk. Het album verhoogt het tempo met de laatste drie songs die leiden tot de opvallende single, A Thousand Times. Het hoogtepunt waarnaar alle klanken en teksten op deze cd al die tijd toe werkten.

De muzikale mijmeringen op deze Hexheart zorgen voor meer geschuifel en minder gebonk op de dansvloer. Het belang van het emotionele komt duidelijk tot uiting in zinnen zoals “Catch me, I’m falling fast... Inside outside in the past” ” uit A Thousand Times. Bij het luisteren naar de nummers in de eigenlijke volgorde, blijft het album degelijk, maar sommige luisteraars zouden op die manier misschien iets sneller hun aandacht kunnen verliezen en helaas, zodoende, enkele knappe creatieve en moderne impressies van jaren ’80 klanken en sferen missen. Ons advies: luister dit album in omgekeerde volgorde voor het beste resultaat!

Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE
04/09/2017


 

Next reviews
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN • Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
CONVERGE • I Can Tell You About Pain
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
NTTX • Of Beauty and Chaos'
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL + SYNTHPOP
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Same genre: EBM
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
DIVE • Underneath

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid