tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/09/2017 : HEXHEART - Midnight on a Moonless Night

HEXHEART

Midnight on a Moonless Night

MusicCD
EBMIndustrialSynthpop

[90/100]   

Metropolis Records
04/09/2017, Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE

EN

I listened to Midnight on a Moonless Night several times, front-to-back and then reversed the order back-to-front, the latter being preferred because it builds on it’s progeny and leads up to a modern, incarnation of emotional electronic music definitely influenced by new wave and post-punk ancestors.

Thusly, Faces becomes the first song. So, with the opening bass line, drop beat and minor cord changes, you might find yourself thinking, “is this a remix of a Cure song that I don’t remember?” Then the vocals hit and you might think, “Wait, this sounds a lot like God Module.” And, well, it just kind of is God Module. On this side-project, Jasyn Bangert is indeed heard electronically channeling The Cure, Echo and the Bunnymen and perhaps Joy Division, as he melodically shape-shifts between contemplative synths and strumming guitar riffs. The next track in this back to front journey, Never Understand, continues the symphonic melancholia undulating behind the artificial instrumentation. It is very reminiscent of a new wave, droning kind of sound. You almost expect to hear Ronny Moorings (Clan Of Xymox) come in on vocals after the 20 seconds or so of the intro to Hollywood. But, no, it’s Bangert slightly less harshly distorted than you would hear on God Module’s aggro style. Then “Lunatix” answers the question, “What if post punk had evolved to become completely electronic.”

There are some nice guitar sounds here that, again, sound as if Mr. Bangert layered The Church over his digital creations. Problems and Bigger Ones sounds rather one-dimensional but here the heartfelt lyrics, present throughout the album, are able to carry the tune and hold your interest. Second Sight comes in as if we’re Jumping Someone Else’s Train on the Trans-Europe Express. Multiple layers or symphonic synths and analogue sounds make this very appealing. The album does pick up the pace in the final three cuts leading to the stand-out single, A Thousand Times. It’s the culmination of sound and lyrics that had been building all along.

The musical musings of Hexheart bring more sway and less stomp to the dance floor. The emotional prominence of the lyrics is evidenced in lines such as "Catch me I’m falling fast … inside out outside in the past” from A Thousand Times. Listening to the tracks as originally ordered, therefore, the album stays solid but seems to peter out causing a listener to perhaps loose interested and, unfortunately, miss out on some creative modern impressions of sounds and styles pioneered in the 80s. Listen to it in reverse order for the full effect.

Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE
04/09/2017


NL

Ik luisterde een paar keer naar deze Midnight on a Moonless Night, eerst van voor naar achter en dan andersom. Dat laatste genoot meer mijn voorkeur omdat de nummers dan eerder te lijken evolueren van New-Wave en Post-Punk geïnspireerde song naar een meer moderne emotionele elektronische muziek.

Dus in dit geval is Faces het eerste nummer. Openend met een baslijn, drop-beat en daarna minimale toonveranderingen, zou je kunnen denken: "is dit een remix van een Cure-nummer dat ik me niet herinner?”. Daarna hoor je de vocalen en denk je misschien: "Wacht, dit klinkt eerder als God Module." En ja hoor, eigenlijk is dit gewoon een beetje als God Module. Op dit nevenproject van Jasyn Bangert hoor je inderdaad een elektronische versie van The Cure, Echo & The Bunnymen en misschien ook wel ergens Joy Division, door de melodische overgangen tussen hedendaagse synths en tokkelende gitaarriffs. Bij het volgende nummer in deze achterwaartse reis, Never Understand, zet de symfonische melancholie zich golvend verder, verscholen achter de artificiële instrumenten. Het heeft een sterke New-Wave-achtige klank. Je verwacht bijna Ronny Moorings’s (Clan Of Xymox) stem na de ongeveer 20 seconden durende intro van Hollywood. Maar nee, het is nog steeds Jasyn Bangert, met een iets minder hard vervormde stem dan je zou verwachten en dus niet zoals God Module’s ‘Aggro’-stijl. Vervolgens beantwoordt Lunatix de vraag: "Wat als Post-Punk volledig elektronisch zou worden?"

Er zijn een aantal mooie gitaargeluiden op dit album die, nogmaals, klinken alsof Mr. Bangert bijvoorbeeld The Church met zijn digitale creaties heeft verweven. Problems and Bigger Ones klinken eerder eendimensionaal, maar hier zijn de oprechte teksten, die in het hele album aanwezig zijn, in staat om de melodie te dragen en de interesse vast te houden. Second Sight komt binnen als "Jumping Someone Else’s Train" op de Trans-Europe Express. Meerdere lagen symfonisch klinkende synths en analoge klanken maken dit nummer erg aantrekkelijk. Het album verhoogt het tempo met de laatste drie songs die leiden tot de opvallende single, A Thousand Times. Het hoogtepunt waarnaar alle klanken en teksten op deze cd al die tijd toe werkten.

De muzikale mijmeringen op deze Hexheart zorgen voor meer geschuifel en minder gebonk op de dansvloer. Het belang van het emotionele komt duidelijk tot uiting in zinnen zoals “Catch me, I’m falling fast... Inside outside in the past” ” uit A Thousand Times. Bij het luisteren naar de nummers in de eigenlijke volgorde, blijft het album degelijk, maar sommige luisteraars zouden op die manier misschien iets sneller hun aandacht kunnen verliezen en helaas, zodoende, enkele knappe creatieve en moderne impressies van jaren ’80 klanken en sferen missen. Ons advies: luister dit album in omgekeerde volgorde voor het beste resultaat!

Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE
04/09/2017


 

Next reviews
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN • Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
CONVERGE • I Can Tell You About Pain
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
NTTX • Of Beauty and Chaos'
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL + SYNTHPOP
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Same genre: EBM
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House