tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/09/2017 : HEXHEART - Midnight on a Moonless Night

HEXHEART

Midnight on a Moonless Night

MusicCD
EBMIndustrialSynthpop

[90/100]   

Metropolis Records
04/09/2017, Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE

EN

I listened to Midnight on a Moonless Night several times, front-to-back and then reversed the order back-to-front, the latter being preferred because it builds on it’s progeny and leads up to a modern, incarnation of emotional electronic music definitely influenced by new wave and post-punk ancestors.

Thusly, Faces becomes the first song. So, with the opening bass line, drop beat and minor cord changes, you might find yourself thinking, “is this a remix of a Cure song that I don’t remember?” Then the vocals hit and you might think, “Wait, this sounds a lot like God Module.” And, well, it just kind of is God Module. On this side-project, Jasyn Bangert is indeed heard electronically channeling The Cure, Echo and the Bunnymen and perhaps Joy Division, as he melodically shape-shifts between contemplative synths and strumming guitar riffs. The next track in this back to front journey, Never Understand, continues the symphonic melancholia undulating behind the artificial instrumentation. It is very reminiscent of a new wave, droning kind of sound. You almost expect to hear Ronny Moorings (Clan Of Xymox) come in on vocals after the 20 seconds or so of the intro to Hollywood. But, no, it’s Bangert slightly less harshly distorted than you would hear on God Module’s aggro style. Then “Lunatix” answers the question, “What if post punk had evolved to become completely electronic.”

There are some nice guitar sounds here that, again, sound as if Mr. Bangert layered The Church over his digital creations. Problems and Bigger Ones sounds rather one-dimensional but here the heartfelt lyrics, present throughout the album, are able to carry the tune and hold your interest. Second Sight comes in as if we’re Jumping Someone Else’s Train on the Trans-Europe Express. Multiple layers or symphonic synths and analogue sounds make this very appealing. The album does pick up the pace in the final three cuts leading to the stand-out single, A Thousand Times. It’s the culmination of sound and lyrics that had been building all along.

The musical musings of Hexheart bring more sway and less stomp to the dance floor. The emotional prominence of the lyrics is evidenced in lines such as "Catch me I’m falling fast … inside out outside in the past” from A Thousand Times. Listening to the tracks as originally ordered, therefore, the album stays solid but seems to peter out causing a listener to perhaps loose interested and, unfortunately, miss out on some creative modern impressions of sounds and styles pioneered in the 80s. Listen to it in reverse order for the full effect.

Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE
04/09/2017


NL

Ik luisterde een paar keer naar deze Midnight on a Moonless Night, eerst van voor naar achter en dan andersom. Dat laatste genoot meer mijn voorkeur omdat de nummers dan eerder te lijken evolueren van New-Wave en Post-Punk geïnspireerde song naar een meer moderne emotionele elektronische muziek.

Dus in dit geval is Faces het eerste nummer. Openend met een baslijn, drop-beat en daarna minimale toonveranderingen, zou je kunnen denken: "is dit een remix van een Cure-nummer dat ik me niet herinner?”. Daarna hoor je de vocalen en denk je misschien: "Wacht, dit klinkt eerder als God Module." En ja hoor, eigenlijk is dit gewoon een beetje als God Module. Op dit nevenproject van Jasyn Bangert hoor je inderdaad een elektronische versie van The Cure, Echo & The Bunnymen en misschien ook wel ergens Joy Division, door de melodische overgangen tussen hedendaagse synths en tokkelende gitaarriffs. Bij het volgende nummer in deze achterwaartse reis, Never Understand, zet de symfonische melancholie zich golvend verder, verscholen achter de artificiële instrumenten. Het heeft een sterke New-Wave-achtige klank. Je verwacht bijna Ronny Moorings’s (Clan Of Xymox) stem na de ongeveer 20 seconden durende intro van Hollywood. Maar nee, het is nog steeds Jasyn Bangert, met een iets minder hard vervormde stem dan je zou verwachten en dus niet zoals God Module’s ‘Aggro’-stijl. Vervolgens beantwoordt Lunatix de vraag: "Wat als Post-Punk volledig elektronisch zou worden?"

Er zijn een aantal mooie gitaargeluiden op dit album die, nogmaals, klinken alsof Mr. Bangert bijvoorbeeld The Church met zijn digitale creaties heeft verweven. Problems and Bigger Ones klinken eerder eendimensionaal, maar hier zijn de oprechte teksten, die in het hele album aanwezig zijn, in staat om de melodie te dragen en de interesse vast te houden. Second Sight komt binnen als "Jumping Someone Else’s Train" op de Trans-Europe Express. Meerdere lagen symfonisch klinkende synths en analoge klanken maken dit nummer erg aantrekkelijk. Het album verhoogt het tempo met de laatste drie songs die leiden tot de opvallende single, A Thousand Times. Het hoogtepunt waarnaar alle klanken en teksten op deze cd al die tijd toe werkten.

De muzikale mijmeringen op deze Hexheart zorgen voor meer geschuifel en minder gebonk op de dansvloer. Het belang van het emotionele komt duidelijk tot uiting in zinnen zoals “Catch me, I’m falling fast... Inside outside in the past” ” uit A Thousand Times. Bij het luisteren naar de nummers in de eigenlijke volgorde, blijft het album degelijk, maar sommige luisteraars zouden op die manier misschien iets sneller hun aandacht kunnen verliezen en helaas, zodoende, enkele knappe creatieve en moderne impressies van jaren ’80 klanken en sferen missen. Ons advies: luister dit album in omgekeerde volgorde voor het beste resultaat!

Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE
04/09/2017


 

Next reviews
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN • Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
CONVERGE • I Can Tell You About Pain
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
NTTX • Of Beauty and Chaos'
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL + SYNTHPOP
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Same genre: EBM
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
STACIAN • Person L
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
DIVE • Underneath
LUXVID • Trench
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway