tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/09/2017 : HEXHEART - Midnight on a Moonless Night

HEXHEART

Midnight on a Moonless Night

MusicCD
EBMIndustrialSynthpop

[90/100]   

Metropolis Records
04/09/2017, Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE

EN

I listened to Midnight on a Moonless Night several times, front-to-back and then reversed the order back-to-front, the latter being preferred because it builds on it’s progeny and leads up to a modern, incarnation of emotional electronic music definitely influenced by new wave and post-punk ancestors.

Thusly, Faces becomes the first song. So, with the opening bass line, drop beat and minor cord changes, you might find yourself thinking, “is this a remix of a Cure song that I don’t remember?” Then the vocals hit and you might think, “Wait, this sounds a lot like God Module.” And, well, it just kind of is God Module. On this side-project, Jasyn Bangert is indeed heard electronically channeling The Cure, Echo and the Bunnymen and perhaps Joy Division, as he melodically shape-shifts between contemplative synths and strumming guitar riffs. The next track in this back to front journey, Never Understand, continues the symphonic melancholia undulating behind the artificial instrumentation. It is very reminiscent of a new wave, droning kind of sound. You almost expect to hear Ronny Moorings (Clan Of Xymox) come in on vocals after the 20 seconds or so of the intro to Hollywood. But, no, it’s Bangert slightly less harshly distorted than you would hear on God Module’s aggro style. Then “Lunatix” answers the question, “What if post punk had evolved to become completely electronic.”

There are some nice guitar sounds here that, again, sound as if Mr. Bangert layered The Church over his digital creations. Problems and Bigger Ones sounds rather one-dimensional but here the heartfelt lyrics, present throughout the album, are able to carry the tune and hold your interest. Second Sight comes in as if we’re Jumping Someone Else’s Train on the Trans-Europe Express. Multiple layers or symphonic synths and analogue sounds make this very appealing. The album does pick up the pace in the final three cuts leading to the stand-out single, A Thousand Times. It’s the culmination of sound and lyrics that had been building all along.

The musical musings of Hexheart bring more sway and less stomp to the dance floor. The emotional prominence of the lyrics is evidenced in lines such as "Catch me I’m falling fast … inside out outside in the past” from A Thousand Times. Listening to the tracks as originally ordered, therefore, the album stays solid but seems to peter out causing a listener to perhaps loose interested and, unfortunately, miss out on some creative modern impressions of sounds and styles pioneered in the 80s. Listen to it in reverse order for the full effect.

Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE
04/09/2017


NL

Ik luisterde een paar keer naar deze Midnight on a Moonless Night, eerst van voor naar achter en dan andersom. Dat laatste genoot meer mijn voorkeur omdat de nummers dan eerder te lijken evolueren van New-Wave en Post-Punk geïnspireerde song naar een meer moderne emotionele elektronische muziek.

Dus in dit geval is Faces het eerste nummer. Openend met een baslijn, drop-beat en daarna minimale toonveranderingen, zou je kunnen denken: "is dit een remix van een Cure-nummer dat ik me niet herinner?”. Daarna hoor je de vocalen en denk je misschien: "Wacht, dit klinkt eerder als God Module." En ja hoor, eigenlijk is dit gewoon een beetje als God Module. Op dit nevenproject van Jasyn Bangert hoor je inderdaad een elektronische versie van The Cure, Echo & The Bunnymen en misschien ook wel ergens Joy Division, door de melodische overgangen tussen hedendaagse synths en tokkelende gitaarriffs. Bij het volgende nummer in deze achterwaartse reis, Never Understand, zet de symfonische melancholie zich golvend verder, verscholen achter de artificiële instrumenten. Het heeft een sterke New-Wave-achtige klank. Je verwacht bijna Ronny Moorings’s (Clan Of Xymox) stem na de ongeveer 20 seconden durende intro van Hollywood. Maar nee, het is nog steeds Jasyn Bangert, met een iets minder hard vervormde stem dan je zou verwachten en dus niet zoals God Module’s ‘Aggro’-stijl. Vervolgens beantwoordt Lunatix de vraag: "Wat als Post-Punk volledig elektronisch zou worden?"

Er zijn een aantal mooie gitaargeluiden op dit album die, nogmaals, klinken alsof Mr. Bangert bijvoorbeeld The Church met zijn digitale creaties heeft verweven. Problems and Bigger Ones klinken eerder eendimensionaal, maar hier zijn de oprechte teksten, die in het hele album aanwezig zijn, in staat om de melodie te dragen en de interesse vast te houden. Second Sight komt binnen als "Jumping Someone Else’s Train" op de Trans-Europe Express. Meerdere lagen symfonisch klinkende synths en analoge klanken maken dit nummer erg aantrekkelijk. Het album verhoogt het tempo met de laatste drie songs die leiden tot de opvallende single, A Thousand Times. Het hoogtepunt waarnaar alle klanken en teksten op deze cd al die tijd toe werkten.

De muzikale mijmeringen op deze Hexheart zorgen voor meer geschuifel en minder gebonk op de dansvloer. Het belang van het emotionele komt duidelijk tot uiting in zinnen zoals “Catch me, I’m falling fast... Inside outside in the past” ” uit A Thousand Times. Bij het luisteren naar de nummers in de eigenlijke volgorde, blijft het album degelijk, maar sommige luisteraars zouden op die manier misschien iets sneller hun aandacht kunnen verliezen en helaas, zodoende, enkele knappe creatieve en moderne impressies van jaren ’80 klanken en sferen missen. Ons advies: luister dit album in omgekeerde volgorde voor het beste resultaat!

Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE
04/09/2017


 

Next reviews
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN • Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
CONVERGE • I Can Tell You About Pain
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
NTTX • Of Beauty and Chaos'
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL + SYNTHPOP
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Same genre: EBM
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)