tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/07/2017 : LIE DETECTOR - To Fly!

LIE DETECTOR

To Fly!

MusicCD
Electro PopElectro RockFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro PopTechno

[70/100]   

ScentAir Records
30/07/2017, Masha KASHA

This a new release we got from our friends - the Russian synthpop label "ScentAir Records" (Nordika, Empire State Human etc.) This album from Moscow based band "Lie Detector" is a deliberative compilation of new tracks, as well as the remastering and re-recording of their earlier songs. Lie Detector (rus. - Detektor Lzhi) is a band founded in 2004, by the frontman Viktor Burko. He is a professional musician and an actor, with an overall remarkable personality. Anyone who observed the Russian synthpop scene through the lens of "Fotosynthes" or "Synthema" websites will probably remember the tracks as well.

The album itself actually consists of two CDs - one in Russian, another fully in English. Some of the songs remain the same but are sang in different languages. Others are unique and only included on CD1 or CD2.

It is hard to describe the style of the album - since every song sounds really different - it does break the law of the monotone-trance tradition of standard synthpop. Some passages sound like Apoptygma Berzerk, others like Erasure, VNV Nation, soviet disco pop, heavy alternative rock or new age. Beginning with dark, electro and aggressive sounds it bypasses the classical synthpop and rounds up with ethereal orthodox chants. I have never ever heard an album with such a strange mixture - it does taste exotic and includes some unexpected ingredients. The most famous song from the album is a cover of an old hit "Na Zare" played by Alyans (1987), which is no less famous in the post soviet area than "Forever Young" by Alphaville. The album is called "To Fly"/"Letat" where the author implies different "sky" interpretations to maintain the concept. Although the picture of Gagarin is present in the booklet, the album itself includes songs about space flight and death (heaven) as well as carefree childhood memories.

Favourite song

"Pepel serdca" or "Flames of the Heart"- is a really good classical synthpop hit, with strong vocals and great musical part and it remains my favourite. Although I like the fact that the song by Alyans has been turned from new romantic to a synthpop cover and that the outcome is really nice and it is a good quality cover, I still love the original. Sorry for being sentimental ;)

To sum up

The album unites various styles with one concept (different interpretations of the "flight" term), and recording it has surely been a lot of work. You will find some tracks to match your taste, as long as you are not a persuaded minimalist. The speciality of the day is the cocktail of styles and sounds - so it is up to you to decide if it suits your taste.

Extra

If you buy the vinyl version, you can be a part of a flashmob - take a picture and post it on Viktors's webpage (and also see who else owns it.)

Tracklist

CD1 Letat!

1-1 Torzhestvo Razuma

1-2 Na Zare

1-3 Angel

1-4 Na Gore

1-5 Neskolko Slov

1-6 Srazhenie Voli

1-7 Ausweis Na Nebo

1-8 Escape

1-9 Torzhestvo Razuma (Trance Mix)

1-10 Pray

1-11 Pepel Serdca

1-12 Pisma Mertvogo Cheloveka

1-13 Uroki Risovanija

1-14 Hochu Letat

CD2 To Fly!

2-1 In The Skies

2-2 Fly On

2-3 Milky Way (RANDOM DISTRIBUTION Trause Remix)

2-4 Fly Away

2-5 Drawing Lessons

2-6 Angel (Radio Retouch)

2-7 Comme Raggio Di Sol

2-8 Battle of Will

2-10 Pray (Version 0.1)

2-11 Triumph of reason (Radio Retouch)

2-12 I want to Fly

2-13 Rent

2-14 Never Never

Masha KASHA
30/07/2017


 

Next reviews
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
PIG • Prey & Obey (EP)
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE • maandag 5 juni
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH • Zaterdag 3 juni
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON • Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
Blackened Bass Act, LUNA 13 Drops The Provocative LP, Gorgo & New Single, 'Hear My Call'
27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
Crossroads
27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover