tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/07/2017 : LIE DETECTOR - To Fly!

LIE DETECTOR

To Fly!

MusicCD
Electro PopElectro RockFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro PopTechno

[70/100]   

ScentAir Records
30/07/2017, Masha KASHA

This a new release we got from our friends - the Russian synthpop label "ScentAir Records" (Nordika, Empire State Human etc.) This album from Moscow based band "Lie Detector" is a deliberative compilation of new tracks, as well as the remastering and re-recording of their earlier songs. Lie Detector (rus. - Detektor Lzhi) is a band founded in 2004, by the frontman Viktor Burko. He is a professional musician and an actor, with an overall remarkable personality. Anyone who observed the Russian synthpop scene through the lens of "Fotosynthes" or "Synthema" websites will probably remember the tracks as well.

The album itself actually consists of two CDs - one in Russian, another fully in English. Some of the songs remain the same but are sang in different languages. Others are unique and only included on CD1 or CD2.

It is hard to describe the style of the album - since every song sounds really different - it does break the law of the monotone-trance tradition of standard synthpop. Some passages sound like Apoptygma Berzerk, others like Erasure, VNV Nation, soviet disco pop, heavy alternative rock or new age. Beginning with dark, electro and aggressive sounds it bypasses the classical synthpop and rounds up with ethereal orthodox chants. I have never ever heard an album with such a strange mixture - it does taste exotic and includes some unexpected ingredients. The most famous song from the album is a cover of an old hit "Na Zare" played by Alyans (1987), which is no less famous in the post soviet area than "Forever Young" by Alphaville. The album is called "To Fly"/"Letat" where the author implies different "sky" interpretations to maintain the concept. Although the picture of Gagarin is present in the booklet, the album itself includes songs about space flight and death (heaven) as well as carefree childhood memories.

Favourite song

"Pepel serdca" or "Flames of the Heart"- is a really good classical synthpop hit, with strong vocals and great musical part and it remains my favourite. Although I like the fact that the song by Alyans has been turned from new romantic to a synthpop cover and that the outcome is really nice and it is a good quality cover, I still love the original. Sorry for being sentimental ;)

To sum up

The album unites various styles with one concept (different interpretations of the "flight" term), and recording it has surely been a lot of work. You will find some tracks to match your taste, as long as you are not a persuaded minimalist. The speciality of the day is the cocktail of styles and sounds - so it is up to you to decide if it suits your taste.

Extra

If you buy the vinyl version, you can be a part of a flashmob - take a picture and post it on Viktors's webpage (and also see who else owns it.)

Tracklist

CD1 Letat!

1-1 Torzhestvo Razuma

1-2 Na Zare

1-3 Angel

1-4 Na Gore

1-5 Neskolko Slov

1-6 Srazhenie Voli

1-7 Ausweis Na Nebo

1-8 Escape

1-9 Torzhestvo Razuma (Trance Mix)

1-10 Pray

1-11 Pepel Serdca

1-12 Pisma Mertvogo Cheloveka

1-13 Uroki Risovanija

1-14 Hochu Letat

CD2 To Fly!

2-1 In The Skies

2-2 Fly On

2-3 Milky Way (RANDOM DISTRIBUTION Trause Remix)

2-4 Fly Away

2-5 Drawing Lessons

2-6 Angel (Radio Retouch)

2-7 Comme Raggio Di Sol

2-8 Battle of Will

2-10 Pray (Version 0.1)

2-11 Triumph of reason (Radio Retouch)

2-12 I want to Fly

2-13 Rent

2-14 Never Never

Masha KASHA
30/07/2017


 

Next reviews
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
PIG • Prey & Obey (EP)
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE • maandag 5 juni
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH • Zaterdag 3 juni
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON • Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
PLEXIPHONES • Electric
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
RECTOR SCANNER • Herzschlag
UNCARNATE • Weak Protein Life

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture

 

Same genre: TECHNO
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint
WIELORYB • Semantik

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls