tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/07/2017 : LIE DETECTOR - To Fly!

LIE DETECTOR

To Fly!

MusicCD
Electro PopElectro RockFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro PopTechno

[70/100]   

ScentAir Records
30/07/2017, Masha KASHA

This a new release we got from our friends - the Russian synthpop label "ScentAir Records" (Nordika, Empire State Human etc.) This album from Moscow based band "Lie Detector" is a deliberative compilation of new tracks, as well as the remastering and re-recording of their earlier songs. Lie Detector (rus. - Detektor Lzhi) is a band founded in 2004, by the frontman Viktor Burko. He is a professional musician and an actor, with an overall remarkable personality. Anyone who observed the Russian synthpop scene through the lens of "Fotosynthes" or "Synthema" websites will probably remember the tracks as well.

The album itself actually consists of two CDs - one in Russian, another fully in English. Some of the songs remain the same but are sang in different languages. Others are unique and only included on CD1 or CD2.

It is hard to describe the style of the album - since every song sounds really different - it does break the law of the monotone-trance tradition of standard synthpop. Some passages sound like Apoptygma Berzerk, others like Erasure, VNV Nation, soviet disco pop, heavy alternative rock or new age. Beginning with dark, electro and aggressive sounds it bypasses the classical synthpop and rounds up with ethereal orthodox chants. I have never ever heard an album with such a strange mixture - it does taste exotic and includes some unexpected ingredients. The most famous song from the album is a cover of an old hit "Na Zare" played by Alyans (1987), which is no less famous in the post soviet area than "Forever Young" by Alphaville. The album is called "To Fly"/"Letat" where the author implies different "sky" interpretations to maintain the concept. Although the picture of Gagarin is present in the booklet, the album itself includes songs about space flight and death (heaven) as well as carefree childhood memories.

Favourite song

"Pepel serdca" or "Flames of the Heart"- is a really good classical synthpop hit, with strong vocals and great musical part and it remains my favourite. Although I like the fact that the song by Alyans has been turned from new romantic to a synthpop cover and that the outcome is really nice and it is a good quality cover, I still love the original. Sorry for being sentimental ;)

To sum up

The album unites various styles with one concept (different interpretations of the "flight" term), and recording it has surely been a lot of work. You will find some tracks to match your taste, as long as you are not a persuaded minimalist. The speciality of the day is the cocktail of styles and sounds - so it is up to you to decide if it suits your taste.

Extra

If you buy the vinyl version, you can be a part of a flashmob - take a picture and post it on Viktors's webpage (and also see who else owns it.)

Tracklist

CD1 Letat!

1-1 Torzhestvo Razuma

1-2 Na Zare

1-3 Angel

1-4 Na Gore

1-5 Neskolko Slov

1-6 Srazhenie Voli

1-7 Ausweis Na Nebo

1-8 Escape

1-9 Torzhestvo Razuma (Trance Mix)

1-10 Pray

1-11 Pepel Serdca

1-12 Pisma Mertvogo Cheloveka

1-13 Uroki Risovanija

1-14 Hochu Letat

CD2 To Fly!

2-1 In The Skies

2-2 Fly On

2-3 Milky Way (RANDOM DISTRIBUTION Trause Remix)

2-4 Fly Away

2-5 Drawing Lessons

2-6 Angel (Radio Retouch)

2-7 Comme Raggio Di Sol

2-8 Battle of Will

2-10 Pray (Version 0.1)

2-11 Triumph of reason (Radio Retouch)

2-12 I want to Fly

2-13 Rent

2-14 Never Never

Masha KASHA
30/07/2017


 

Next reviews
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
PIG • Prey & Obey (EP)
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE • maandag 5 juni
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH • Zaterdag 3 juni
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON • Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
PLEXIPHONES • Electric

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
RECTOR SCANNER • Herzschlag

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint

Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS