tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/07/2017 : LIE DETECTOR - To Fly!

LIE DETECTOR

To Fly!

MusicCD
Electro PopElectro RockFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro PopTechno

[70/100]   

ScentAir Records
30/07/2017, Masha KASHA

This a new release we got from our friends - the Russian synthpop label "ScentAir Records" (Nordika, Empire State Human etc.) This album from Moscow based band "Lie Detector" is a deliberative compilation of new tracks, as well as the remastering and re-recording of their earlier songs. Lie Detector (rus. - Detektor Lzhi) is a band founded in 2004, by the frontman Viktor Burko. He is a professional musician and an actor, with an overall remarkable personality. Anyone who observed the Russian synthpop scene through the lens of "Fotosynthes" or "Synthema" websites will probably remember the tracks as well.

The album itself actually consists of two CDs - one in Russian, another fully in English. Some of the songs remain the same but are sang in different languages. Others are unique and only included on CD1 or CD2.

It is hard to describe the style of the album - since every song sounds really different - it does break the law of the monotone-trance tradition of standard synthpop. Some passages sound like Apoptygma Berzerk, others like Erasure, VNV Nation, soviet disco pop, heavy alternative rock or new age. Beginning with dark, electro and aggressive sounds it bypasses the classical synthpop and rounds up with ethereal orthodox chants. I have never ever heard an album with such a strange mixture - it does taste exotic and includes some unexpected ingredients. The most famous song from the album is a cover of an old hit "Na Zare" played by Alyans (1987), which is no less famous in the post soviet area than "Forever Young" by Alphaville. The album is called "To Fly"/"Letat" where the author implies different "sky" interpretations to maintain the concept. Although the picture of Gagarin is present in the booklet, the album itself includes songs about space flight and death (heaven) as well as carefree childhood memories.

Favourite song

"Pepel serdca" or "Flames of the Heart"- is a really good classical synthpop hit, with strong vocals and great musical part and it remains my favourite. Although I like the fact that the song by Alyans has been turned from new romantic to a synthpop cover and that the outcome is really nice and it is a good quality cover, I still love the original. Sorry for being sentimental ;)

To sum up

The album unites various styles with one concept (different interpretations of the "flight" term), and recording it has surely been a lot of work. You will find some tracks to match your taste, as long as you are not a persuaded minimalist. The speciality of the day is the cocktail of styles and sounds - so it is up to you to decide if it suits your taste.

Extra

If you buy the vinyl version, you can be a part of a flashmob - take a picture and post it on Viktors's webpage (and also see who else owns it.)

Tracklist

CD1 Letat!

1-1 Torzhestvo Razuma

1-2 Na Zare

1-3 Angel

1-4 Na Gore

1-5 Neskolko Slov

1-6 Srazhenie Voli

1-7 Ausweis Na Nebo

1-8 Escape

1-9 Torzhestvo Razuma (Trance Mix)

1-10 Pray

1-11 Pepel Serdca

1-12 Pisma Mertvogo Cheloveka

1-13 Uroki Risovanija

1-14 Hochu Letat

CD2 To Fly!

2-1 In The Skies

2-2 Fly On

2-3 Milky Way (RANDOM DISTRIBUTION Trause Remix)

2-4 Fly Away

2-5 Drawing Lessons

2-6 Angel (Radio Retouch)

2-7 Comme Raggio Di Sol

2-8 Battle of Will

2-10 Pray (Version 0.1)

2-11 Triumph of reason (Radio Retouch)

2-12 I want to Fly

2-13 Rent

2-14 Never Never

Masha KASHA
30/07/2017


 

Next reviews
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
PIG • Prey & Obey (EP)
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE • maandag 5 juni
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH • Zaterdag 3 juni
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON • Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint

Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)