tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

13/07/2020 : HER OWN WORLD - A Different Kind Of Reality

HER OWN WORLD

A Different Kind Of Reality

MusicCD (EP)
Dark ElectroElectro PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[84/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
13/07/2020, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

REACTOR7X captain Ad-x left the heavy harsh sound for what it was for a while and teamed up with singer Yu to form Her Own World, a new Polish act. When this project ended up on Belgian Alfa Matrix chief Seba Dolimont's desk he was immediately sold.

So we decided put our ear to the ground.

The song ‘Happiness Imperative’ has already been released on several compilation albums and quickly found its way to a large number of enthusiasts. Female-pop inspired electro-pop / dark electro / synth-pop, with a rhythm that has a danceability factor of no less than 100 %. Yu's rather high, smooth vocals give the song that extra poppy touch. Although in its entirety, it still carries enough darkness.

The EP A Different Kind Of Reality features eight tracks of which two are original versions and six are remix versions. The second song ‘Stalker Girl’ has the same ingredients as the first one. Hip rocking dark electro with a fragile voice and yet again, still with enough doom and dark beats.

The remixes of both songs that we get with this EP are rather varied. ‘Happiness Imperative’ was taken care of by Inva // ID who introduces a slightly more technoïd approach, while Aesthetic added a more down-tempo, floaty trance feel to the track. Neikka RPM for their part added some gigantic sledgehammer beats to it. More than sturdy remixes, we can say.

The second song ‘Stalker Girl’ also gets a series of ‘electro’ treatments. The first one is done by Jeremiah Kane, who adds a layer of future-pop to the song and yet also a very eighties feeling. The Switchface remix gives the track an almost trancy r'n'b touch while the Freaky Mind remix turns it into a real techno party. Tomorrow-land-proof with very catchy beats and blissfully floating synths.

With this release H.O.W. or Her Own World claims a solid position between bands such as Unter Null, Ayria, I:Scintilla and Client...almost certainly a new thoroughbred in the Alfa Matrix stable.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/07/2020


NL

REACTOR7X-Frontman Ad-x liet het zware harsh-geluid even liggen, toen hij in zee ging met zangeres Yu en Her Own World als nieuwe Poolse act het hoofd boven de doopfont hield. En toen dit bij het Belgische Alfa Matrix belandde, was de chief aldaar, Seba Dolimont, meteen verkocht.

Wij legden ons oor ook eens te luisteren.

Happiness Imperative werd al uitgebracht op meerdere compilaties en vond vlotjes ingang bij een schare liefhebbers. Female-pop geïnspireerde electropop/dark electro/synthpop, met een ritme dat een dansbaarheidfactor 100 heeft. De vrij hoge, zachte vocalen van Yu geven het dat extra poppy kantje. Hoewel het toch nog genoeg donkerte bevat in zijn geheel.

Intussen is er de EP A Different Kind Of Reality. En dit 8 songs tellende werk bestaat uit 2 songs en 6 remixes. Stalker Girl bevat dezelfde bouwstenen als de eerste song. Heupwiegende dark electro met een breekbare stem en toch genoeg duisterheid met diepe darkbeats.

We krijgen nog een bonte toegift met remixes van beide songs. Happiness Imperative werd onder handen genomen door Inva//ID die een wat meer technoïde insteek heeft. Aesthische voegde een wat meer donw-tempo, zweverige trance- toets toe. En de Neikka RPM-mix, heeft een aantal gigantische mokerslagen van beats. Meer dan stevig.

Ook de tweede song, Stalker Girl, krijgt een veeg uit een aantal electro-pannen. De eerste van de hand van Jeremiah Kane, die er een laagje futurepop aan toevoegt. En tegelijk een eighties-gevoel.
En dan is er nog de Switchface-remix, met een trance- r’n’b – toets.

De Freaky Mind-remix is een echt technofeestje. Helemaal tomorrowland-proof met een heel aanstekelijke beats-sectie en zalig zwevende synths.

H.O.W.(Her Own World) neemt een mooie plaats in in het rijtje bands zoals bijvoorbeeld Unter Null, Ayria, I:Scintilla, Client… en al zeker een nieuw raspaardje in de stal van Alfa Matrix.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/07/2020


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete