tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this single (digital) review

12/05/2022 : SHE HATES EMOTIONS - Space and time

SHE HATES EMOTIONS

Space and time

MusicSingle (Digital)
Electro PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[86/100]   

Out Of Line
12/05/2022, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Chris Pohl keeps moving musically. With his solo project She Hates Emotions, he returns to rather minimalist and eighties-inspired music. The first full album Melancholic Maniac remained 'typically Chris', but then again it was not. It was more minimalistic, but still with the characteristic dark-pop undertone.

Now there is the first single that should be the start of the second album Chris Pohl is working on. He says: "Space & Time was the first song I wrote for the new She Hates Emotions album. It's about the never-ending search for that one soulmate... The person you want by your side. You know that person exists, but you haven't found them yet and you keep looking..."

So profound is the story, so danceable is the song that in my opinion leans more towards Blutengel than the really more minimalist orchestrated songs on the first full album. And yet, the eighties sound is pertinently present. Hard to put my finger on how. Apart from that, we are already curious as to what the second full album will bring. Because Pohl knows how to surprise us in one way or another with every project.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/05/2022


NL

Chris Pohl blijft muzikaal bewegen. Met zijn soloproject She Hates Emotions grijpt hij terug naar eerder minimalistische en eighties-geïnspireerde muziek. Het eerste full album Melancholic Maniac bleef echter 'typisch Chris', maar ook weer niet. Het was minimalistischer, maar nog steeds met de karakteristieke darkpop-ondertoon.

Nu is er de eerste single die de aanzet moet zijn voor het tweede album waar Chris Pohl aan werkt. Hij zegt er zelf over: "Space & Time was het eerste nummer dat ik schreef voor het nieuwe She Hates Emotions-album. Het gaat over de nooit eindigende zoektocht naar die ene zielsverwant... de persoon die je aan je zijde wilt hebben. Je weet dat die persoon bestaat, maar je hebt die nog niet gevonden en je blijft zoeken..."

Zo diepgaand het verhaal, zo dansbaar is het nummer dat naar mijn gevoel toch weer meer richting Blutengel neigt dan de echt wel meer minimalistisch georchestreerde songs op het eerste full album. En toch is de eighties-sound pertinent aanwezig. moeilijk de vinger erop te leggen hoe. Los daarvan is er wel alweer de benieuwdheid naar wat het tweede full album zal geven. Want Pohl weet toch met elk project op een of andere manier te verbazen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/05/2022


 

Next reviews
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
DEAD MAN'S HILL • Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
HYDROM LINE • Hydrom Line Edition 2021
HOCICO • HyperViolent
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
MATT HART • Decimate
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water

 

Other reviews from SHE HATES EMOTIONS
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
CHROM • Peak And Decay
THYX • Headless
THE SWEETEST CONDITION • Edge Of The World
BEBORN BETON • A Worthy Compensation
BLUTENGEL • Asche zu Asche
PSY'AVIAH • The Xenogamous Endeavour

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LADYTRON • Ladytron

Music reviews

27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
38 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
27
02
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies