tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

28/01/2022 : FRAGRANCE - Salt Water

FRAGRANCE

Salt Water

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
DreampopElectro WaveSynth Pop / Electro PopSynthpop

[81/100]   

Synth Religion
28/01/2022, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Fragrance, the solo project of Matthieu Roche from Paris is back. After his great debut album Now That I'm Real from 2019, he returns with the follow-up album Salt Water.

His catchy, melancholic dream-pop-synth-sound, often supported by pounding bass thumps and his sensual vocals... It's still all there. He is one of the musicians of Hélène De Thoury's (aka Hante) Synth Religion label.

The album is co-produced by Sophia Hamadi, one half of duo Opale.

Since Fragrance likes to wander on different synth paths, this album also became a nice mix between more minimal-driven songs such as 'Forevermore' and 'Tears' and eighties synth sounds such as we hear in 'Attiré Par Le Chaos', among others. Matthieu's dreamy vocals really give it that extra sweet twist. How he meanders vocally with the music: it's a golden combination.

'Twisted Way' sounds even more sweet and catchy. A cuddly factor of 100 with very sparse retro synth sounds. Sometimes a song really needs very little to completely seduce one. Quod erat demonstrandum… 'Love Bites' also fits in this category very well. Catchy all the way! With a very nice melody that seems to come from a very long distance.

Every now and then we get a nod to more techno-influenced songs like 'Bind Me Up With Your Flesh'. The rhythms and beats certainly get you moving!

Also 'Crisis' is a very cool synth-wave song, with a bass-line and bone-dry rhythms that take you into a nice high. The voice also determines the atmosphere here. It remains a great blend.

Fragrance balances on the edges between synth-wave, dream-pop, minimal and synth-wave. For all I care, he can fall off that edge, because it doesn't matter a damn thing. He keeps mesmerizing us, whatever he does. This Salt Water is a very worthy successor to his debut. He is in the purebred stable of the Synth Religion label, so let him work out his devils. This is a top notch musician who has a lot to offer which he just proved here with verve.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
28/01/2022


NL

Fragrance, het soloproject van Matthieu Roche uit Parijs is terug. Na zijn geweldige debuut-album Now That I’m Real uit 2019, is hij nu terug met de opvolger Salt Water.

Zijn catchy, melancholisch dreampop-synth-geluid, veelal geruggesteund door wapenende basdreunen en zijn sensuele zang: ze zijn er nog steeds. Hij huist in het rijtje muzikanten van Hélène De Thoury’s (aka Hante) Synth Religion-label.

Het album is gecoproduceerd door Sophia Hamadi, de helft van duo Opale.

Gezien Fragrance zich graag op verschillende synth-paden begeeft, is ook dit album een mooie mix tussen wat meer minimal-gedreven songs als Forevermore en Tears en eighties-synth-sounds zoals we de terugvinden in onder andere Attiré Par Le Chaos. Matthieu’s dreamy vocalen geven het echt die extra zoete twist mee. Hoe hij vocaal meandert met de muziek: het is een gouden combinatie.

Twisted Way is nog zeemzoeter en pakkend. Aaibaarheidsfactor 100 met heel zuinige retro-synth-sounds. Een song heeft soms echt heel weinig nodig om je compleet te verleiden. Quod erat demonstrandum… in ditzelfde rijtje misstaat ook Love Bites niet. Catchy all the way. Met een wel heel aanstekelijke melodie die van héél erg ver lijkt te komen.

Af en toe krijgen we een knipoog naar meer met techno-invloeden doordrenkte songs zoals Bind Me Up With Your Flesh. De ritmes en beats zetten je in beweging, dat wel.
Crisis is een heel vette synthwave song, met een baslijntje en kurkdroge ritmes die je meenemen in een lekkere high. Ook hier is de stem mee bepalend voor de sfeer. Het blijft een geweldige blend.

Fragrance balanceert op de rand tussen synthwave, dreampop, minimal en synthwave. Voor mijn part sukkelt hij van die rand, want het maakt geen barst uit. In de zin van: hij blijft je inpakken. Wat hij ook doet. Dit is een zeer waardige opvolger van zijn debuut. Hij zit in de raspaardenstal van Synth Religion. Laat hem zijn duivels maar uitwerken. Dit is een klassemuzikant die héél veel in zijn mars heeft en dit hier met verve toont.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
28/01/2022


28/01/2022 : FRAGRANCE - Salt Water 28/01/2022 : FRAGRANCE - Salt Water

 

Next reviews
THE PULSEBEATS • LOOKIN’ OUT
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
MOVMENT • Transformation
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
HERRNIA • Takkewereld

 

Other reviews from FRAGRANCE
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SJOBLOM • Tape
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf