tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

01/04/2019 : FRAGRANCE - Now That I'm Real

FRAGRANCE

Now That I'm Real

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
DreampopSynthpop

[78/100]   

Synth Religion
01/04/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Fragrance, the name used by Parisian Matthieu Roche to produce his dreamy synthpop, is releasing his first full-length album Now That I’m Real, more than a year and a half after his first EP Dust and Disorders. It will also be released under the Synth Religion label under the wing of Hélène De Thoury (Hante).

Synthwave, synthpop… Under each star still shining, Matthieu easily knows how to transform the machinary into a series of highly digestible songs, using analogue or more contemporary equipment to melt synthwave, future-pop and dreampop into bite sized chunks.

Gone in A Wink goes back and forth between synthpop and future-pop. Matthieu's soft, almost whispering voice sublimely fits with the music. So Typical: eighties all the way. Without more to add, certainly not less. With Endless Cold I feel like I'm listening to The Pet Shop Boys. There are worse things in the world, right?

Hante was happy to add her touch to Hazy Strobes. A very mellow song, full of slowness and mysticism. Both sweet and lovely. Crawlin’ To The Void sounds a lot more joyful still and would not fit on a dancefloor made of a tired crowd squeezing out its last energy.

Crystalline has something suspicious in it. The bass line is nervously rocking through a bath of noctural emptiness. I can't find words for that but this song has something exorcising. And on At Last you'll notice the presence of Maya Postepski (TR/ST, Austra) as featured guest. Her fragile voice timbre perfectly fits with Matthieu's voice.

This Now That I’m Real slides in very smoothly. Dreampop and synthpop, some eigthies elements on some songs. Good songs, for sure, but they might lack that little twist to really stick to your ear. A must within the genre and for lovers of dreampop/synthpop, but for me it lacks a little something. Check it out yourself!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/04/2019


NL

Fragrance, de naam waaronder Parijzenaar Matthieu Roche zijn dreamy synthpop produceert, komt, goed een anderhalf jaar na zijn eerste EP Dust and Disorders, nu met zijn eerste volwaardige langspeler Now That I’m Real. Ook deze komt uit op het Synth Religion-label onder de vleugels van Hélène De Thoury (Hante).

Synthwave, synthpop… onder welk gesternte er toch nog een licht op schijnt, Matthieu weet hoe hij de machinerie vlekkeloos kan laten versmelten tot een resem goed verteerbare songs. Daarbij gebruikmakend van analoge en meer hedendaagse apparatuur, versmelten synthwave, future-pop- en dreampop tot hapklare brokken.

Gone in A Wink waggelt heen en weer tussen synthpop en future-pop. Matthieus zachte, nagenoeg fluisterende stemgeluid blendt op sublieme wijze met het muzikale. So Typical: eighties all the way. Zonder meer, zeker niet minder. Met Endless Cold bekruipt mij het gevoel dat ik naar werk van The Pet Shop Boys zit te luisteren. Er zijn ergere dingen denkbaar, toch? En Gravity & Grace sluit daar naadloos bij aan.
Hante doet met plezier een duit in het zakje bij haar stadsgenoot op Hazy Strobes. Een heel mellow aandoend nummer, dat traagheid en mystiek in zich draagt. Lieflijk en aandoenlijk tegelijk. Crawlin’ To The Void klinkt dan weer een stuk vrolijker en misstaat niet op menige dansvloer in een afterclub, waar een moe gefuifde meute nog de laatste energie uit het murwe lijf wil persen.
Crystalline is er eentje dat iets verdachts in zich draagt. De baslijn wiegt nerveus door een bad van nachtelijke leegte. Ik kan er geen exact woord op kleven, maar deze song heeft iets bezwerends.
En op At Last is er nog gezelschap van Maya Postepski (TR/ST, Austra). Haar breekbare stemtimbre past geweldig bij dat van Matthieu.

Deze Now That I’m Real schuift heel gemakkelijk binnen. Dreampop en synthpop, een dressing uit de eighties op sommige songs. Goede nummers, zonder twijfel, maar de songs hebben net die éne twist te weinig om echt te beklijven. Binnen het genre en voor de liefhebbers van dreampop/synthpop een aanrader, voor mij persoonlijk net iéts te weinig vet op de soep. Check it out yourself!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/04/2019


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide