tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

01/04/2019 : FRAGRANCE - Now That I'm Real

FRAGRANCE

Now That I'm Real

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
DreampopSynthpop

[78/100]   

Synth Religion
01/04/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Fragrance, the name used by Parisian Matthieu Roche to produce his dreamy synthpop, is releasing his first full-length album Now That I’m Real, more than a year and a half after his first EP Dust and Disorders. It will also be released under the Synth Religion label under the wing of Hélène De Thoury (Hante).

Synthwave, synthpop… Under each star still shining, Matthieu easily knows how to transform the machinary into a series of highly digestible songs, using analogue or more contemporary equipment to melt synthwave, future-pop and dreampop into bite sized chunks.

Gone in A Wink goes back and forth between synthpop and future-pop. Matthieu's soft, almost whispering voice sublimely fits with the music. So Typical: eighties all the way. Without more to add, certainly not less. With Endless Cold I feel like I'm listening to The Pet Shop Boys. There are worse things in the world, right?

Hante was happy to add her touch to Hazy Strobes. A very mellow song, full of slowness and mysticism. Both sweet and lovely. Crawlin’ To The Void sounds a lot more joyful still and would not fit on a dancefloor made of a tired crowd squeezing out its last energy.

Crystalline has something suspicious in it. The bass line is nervously rocking through a bath of noctural emptiness. I can't find words for that but this song has something exorcising. And on At Last you'll notice the presence of Maya Postepski (TR/ST, Austra) as featured guest. Her fragile voice timbre perfectly fits with Matthieu's voice.

This Now That I’m Real slides in very smoothly. Dreampop and synthpop, some eigthies elements on some songs. Good songs, for sure, but they might lack that little twist to really stick to your ear. A must within the genre and for lovers of dreampop/synthpop, but for me it lacks a little something. Check it out yourself!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/04/2019


NL

Fragrance, de naam waaronder Parijzenaar Matthieu Roche zijn dreamy synthpop produceert, komt, goed een anderhalf jaar na zijn eerste EP Dust and Disorders, nu met zijn eerste volwaardige langspeler Now That I’m Real. Ook deze komt uit op het Synth Religion-label onder de vleugels van Hélène De Thoury (Hante).

Synthwave, synthpop… onder welk gesternte er toch nog een licht op schijnt, Matthieu weet hoe hij de machinerie vlekkeloos kan laten versmelten tot een resem goed verteerbare songs. Daarbij gebruikmakend van analoge en meer hedendaagse apparatuur, versmelten synthwave, future-pop- en dreampop tot hapklare brokken.

Gone in A Wink waggelt heen en weer tussen synthpop en future-pop. Matthieus zachte, nagenoeg fluisterende stemgeluid blendt op sublieme wijze met het muzikale. So Typical: eighties all the way. Zonder meer, zeker niet minder. Met Endless Cold bekruipt mij het gevoel dat ik naar werk van The Pet Shop Boys zit te luisteren. Er zijn ergere dingen denkbaar, toch? En Gravity & Grace sluit daar naadloos bij aan.
Hante doet met plezier een duit in het zakje bij haar stadsgenoot op Hazy Strobes. Een heel mellow aandoend nummer, dat traagheid en mystiek in zich draagt. Lieflijk en aandoenlijk tegelijk. Crawlin’ To The Void klinkt dan weer een stuk vrolijker en misstaat niet op menige dansvloer in een afterclub, waar een moe gefuifde meute nog de laatste energie uit het murwe lijf wil persen.
Crystalline is er eentje dat iets verdachts in zich draagt. De baslijn wiegt nerveus door een bad van nachtelijke leegte. Ik kan er geen exact woord op kleven, maar deze song heeft iets bezwerends.
En op At Last is er nog gezelschap van Maya Postepski (TR/ST, Austra). Haar breekbare stemtimbre past geweldig bij dat van Matthieu.

Deze Now That I’m Real schuift heel gemakkelijk binnen. Dreampop en synthpop, een dressing uit de eighties op sommige songs. Goede nummers, zonder twijfel, maar de songs hebben net die éne twist te weinig om echt te beklijven. Binnen het genre en voor de liefhebbers van dreampop/synthpop een aanrader, voor mij persoonlijk net iéts te weinig vet op de soep. Check it out yourself!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/04/2019


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)