tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

01/04/2019 : FRAGRANCE - Now That I'm Real

FRAGRANCE

Now That I'm Real

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
DreampopSynthpop

[78/100]   

Synth Religion
01/04/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Fragrance, the name used by Parisian Matthieu Roche to produce his dreamy synthpop, is releasing his first full-length album Now That I’m Real, more than a year and a half after his first EP Dust and Disorders. It will also be released under the Synth Religion label under the wing of Hélène De Thoury (Hante).

Synthwave, synthpop… Under each star still shining, Matthieu easily knows how to transform the machinary into a series of highly digestible songs, using analogue or more contemporary equipment to melt synthwave, future-pop and dreampop into bite sized chunks.

Gone in A Wink goes back and forth between synthpop and future-pop. Matthieu's soft, almost whispering voice sublimely fits with the music. So Typical: eighties all the way. Without more to add, certainly not less. With Endless Cold I feel like I'm listening to The Pet Shop Boys. There are worse things in the world, right?

Hante was happy to add her touch to Hazy Strobes. A very mellow song, full of slowness and mysticism. Both sweet and lovely. Crawlin’ To The Void sounds a lot more joyful still and would not fit on a dancefloor made of a tired crowd squeezing out its last energy.

Crystalline has something suspicious in it. The bass line is nervously rocking through a bath of noctural emptiness. I can't find words for that but this song has something exorcising. And on At Last you'll notice the presence of Maya Postepski (TR/ST, Austra) as featured guest. Her fragile voice timbre perfectly fits with Matthieu's voice.

This Now That I’m Real slides in very smoothly. Dreampop and synthpop, some eigthies elements on some songs. Good songs, for sure, but they might lack that little twist to really stick to your ear. A must within the genre and for lovers of dreampop/synthpop, but for me it lacks a little something. Check it out yourself!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/04/2019


NL

Fragrance, de naam waaronder Parijzenaar Matthieu Roche zijn dreamy synthpop produceert, komt, goed een anderhalf jaar na zijn eerste EP Dust and Disorders, nu met zijn eerste volwaardige langspeler Now That I’m Real. Ook deze komt uit op het Synth Religion-label onder de vleugels van Hélène De Thoury (Hante).

Synthwave, synthpop… onder welk gesternte er toch nog een licht op schijnt, Matthieu weet hoe hij de machinerie vlekkeloos kan laten versmelten tot een resem goed verteerbare songs. Daarbij gebruikmakend van analoge en meer hedendaagse apparatuur, versmelten synthwave, future-pop- en dreampop tot hapklare brokken.

Gone in A Wink waggelt heen en weer tussen synthpop en future-pop. Matthieus zachte, nagenoeg fluisterende stemgeluid blendt op sublieme wijze met het muzikale. So Typical: eighties all the way. Zonder meer, zeker niet minder. Met Endless Cold bekruipt mij het gevoel dat ik naar werk van The Pet Shop Boys zit te luisteren. Er zijn ergere dingen denkbaar, toch? En Gravity & Grace sluit daar naadloos bij aan.
Hante doet met plezier een duit in het zakje bij haar stadsgenoot op Hazy Strobes. Een heel mellow aandoend nummer, dat traagheid en mystiek in zich draagt. Lieflijk en aandoenlijk tegelijk. Crawlin’ To The Void klinkt dan weer een stuk vrolijker en misstaat niet op menige dansvloer in een afterclub, waar een moe gefuifde meute nog de laatste energie uit het murwe lijf wil persen.
Crystalline is er eentje dat iets verdachts in zich draagt. De baslijn wiegt nerveus door een bad van nachtelijke leegte. Ik kan er geen exact woord op kleven, maar deze song heeft iets bezwerends.
En op At Last is er nog gezelschap van Maya Postepski (TR/ST, Austra). Haar breekbare stemtimbre past geweldig bij dat van Matthieu.

Deze Now That I’m Real schuift heel gemakkelijk binnen. Dreampop en synthpop, een dressing uit de eighties op sommige songs. Goede nummers, zonder twijfel, maar de songs hebben net die éne twist te weinig om echt te beklijven. Binnen het genre en voor de liefhebbers van dreampop/synthpop een aanrader, voor mij persoonlijk net iéts te weinig vet op de soep. Check it out yourself!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/04/2019


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet