tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE SLOW SHOW - DREAM DARLING

THE SLOW SHOW

DREAM DARLING

MusicCD
DreampopRock

[100/100]   

Haldern Pop Recordings
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

The second album by the British band The Slow Show is called Dream Darling and it is a hit. The band sounds a bit like The National and has enough originality in order to become very big. The album contains 10 tracks and we do not exaggerate if we write that they sound excellent, without nasty hard rock guitars or devastating electronics, but with beautiful melodies, floating on piano, acoustic and electric guitar and an orchestration of real instruments and economical synths. Strangers Now and Hurts are two very beautiful ballads in which the dark and slightly raspy voice of Rob Goodwin has the function of an attention grabber. Sometimes you know from the first track
that an album is great from start to finish, and that's the case here. Lullaby sounds like a singer-songwriter ballad in which the singer gently spreads the vocals on the sound of a quiet acoustic guitar. Very nice.

Dry my Bones sounds a bit like Leonard Cohen, but after a while Ron Goodwin sings in a higher key, and then returns to the darker vocal depths a la Matt Berninger, although The Slow Show never sounds like a copy of the American band. Piano and guitars sound at the fore in the mix, with beautiful strings in the background. Sometimes you have the impression that Ron Goodwin is not singing but reciting his lyrics, as in This Time, on a substrate of beautiful sounding strings and piano. The orchestration creates a beautiful and sometimes slightly romantic background, while brass instruments take the lead. Very nice. Brawling Tonight gets double vocals and the wonderful support of strummed electric guitars, while Last Man Standing grows into the ultimate goose bumps song with piano and strings, backed by beautiful drums.

A male choir is added to Breaks Today. Piano and brass instruments again create a stunning backdrop for Ron Goodwin's resonating voice. Brick comes far too early, because we could listen to The Slow Show for hours. It is an atmospheric last track with female voices as howling sirens and contrasting bass voices. No vocals this time, but as impressive as the rest of the material.

Definitely in our top 3 of 2016!

Tracklisting:
1 Strangers Now
2 Hurts
3 Ordinary Lives
4 Lullaby
5 Dry My Bones
6 This Time
7 Brawling Tonight
8 Last Man Standing
9 Breaks Today
10 Brick

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Het tweede album van de Britse band The Slow Show heet Dream Darling en het is een schot in de roos. De band klinkt een beetje zoals The National en heeft alles aan boord om zeer groot te worden. Het album bevat 10 tracks en zonder overdrijven: ze klinken alle tien perfect, zonder oervervelende hardrockgitaren of alles verwoestende elektronica, maar met prachtige melodieën die drijven op piano, akoestische en elektrische gitaar en een orkestratie van echte instrumenten en zuinige synths. Strangers Now en Hurts zijn twee bloedmooie ballades met de donkere en lichtjes krakende stem van Rob Goodwin als aandachtstrekker. Soms weet je vanaf de eerste track dat je goud in handen hebt, en dat is hier het geval. In Ordinary Lives gaat het tempo lichtjes crescendo en word je als luisteraar op een prachtige orkestratie vergast. Lullaby klinkt als een singer-songwritersballade waarin de zanger voorzichtig de vocalen over een rustige akoestische gitaar uitsmeert. Heel erg mooi.

Dry my Bones heeft iets van Leonard Cohen, maar na verloop van tijd gaat Ron Goodwin heel even een octaaf hoger om dan terug te keren tot de donkere vocale krochten à la Matt Berninger, zij het dat The Slow Show nooit een kopie wordt van de Amerikaanse band. Piano en gitaren zitten opnieuw vooraan in de mix, met prachtige strijkers op de achtergrond. Soms heb je de indruk dat Ron Goodwin z’n teksten niet zingt maar voordraagt, zoals in This Time, op een bedje van prachtig klinkende strijkers en piano. De orkestratie zorgt voor een mooie en soms lichtjes romantische achtergrond met blazers die het voortouw nemen. Heel erg mooi. Brawling Tonight krijgt dubbele vocalen en de prachtige ondersteuning van getokkelde elektrische gitaren, terwijl Last Man Standing uitgroeit tot de ultieme kippenveltrack op tonen van piano en strijkers, gesteund door prachtige drums.

In Breaks Today wordt een mannekoortje toegevoegd, terwijl piano en blazers opnieuw een prachtige achtergrond creëren waartegen de stem van Ron Goodwin op een perfecte manier resoneert. Brick komt veel te vroeg, want naar The Slow Show konden we nog uren luisteren. Het is een atmosferische laatste track met vrouwenstemmen als huilende sirenes en diepe basstemmen. Geen vocalen dit keer, maar niet te min indrukwekkend.

Staat zeker in onze top-3 van 2016!

Tracklisting:
1 Strangers Now
2 Hurts
3 Ordinary Lives
4 Lullaby
5 Dry My Bones
6 This Time
7 Brawling Tonight
8 Last Man Standing
9 Breaks Today
10 Brick

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


Music reviews

13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie
08
11
HATCHLING
Alpha

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.