tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE SLOW SHOW - DREAM DARLING

THE SLOW SHOW

DREAM DARLING

MusicCD
DreampopRock

[100/100]   

Haldern Pop Recordings
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

The second album by the British band The Slow Show is called Dream Darling and it is a hit. The band sounds a bit like The National and has enough originality in order to become very big. The album contains 10 tracks and we do not exaggerate if we write that they sound excellent, without nasty hard rock guitars or devastating electronics, but with beautiful melodies, floating on piano, acoustic and electric guitar and an orchestration of real instruments and economical synths. Strangers Now and Hurts are two very beautiful ballads in which the dark and slightly raspy voice of Rob Goodwin has the function of an attention grabber. Sometimes you know from the first track
that an album is great from start to finish, and that's the case here. Lullaby sounds like a singer-songwriter ballad in which the singer gently spreads the vocals on the sound of a quiet acoustic guitar. Very nice.

Dry my Bones sounds a bit like Leonard Cohen, but after a while Ron Goodwin sings in a higher key, and then returns to the darker vocal depths a la Matt Berninger, although The Slow Show never sounds like a copy of the American band. Piano and guitars sound at the fore in the mix, with beautiful strings in the background. Sometimes you have the impression that Ron Goodwin is not singing but reciting his lyrics, as in This Time, on a substrate of beautiful sounding strings and piano. The orchestration creates a beautiful and sometimes slightly romantic background, while brass instruments take the lead. Very nice. Brawling Tonight gets double vocals and the wonderful support of strummed electric guitars, while Last Man Standing grows into the ultimate goose bumps song with piano and strings, backed by beautiful drums.

A male choir is added to Breaks Today. Piano and brass instruments again create a stunning backdrop for Ron Goodwin's resonating voice. Brick comes far too early, because we could listen to The Slow Show for hours. It is an atmospheric last track with female voices as howling sirens and contrasting bass voices. No vocals this time, but as impressive as the rest of the material.

Definitely in our top 3 of 2016!

Tracklisting:
1 Strangers Now
2 Hurts
3 Ordinary Lives
4 Lullaby
5 Dry My Bones
6 This Time
7 Brawling Tonight
8 Last Man Standing
9 Breaks Today
10 Brick

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Het tweede album van de Britse band The Slow Show heet Dream Darling en het is een schot in de roos. De band klinkt een beetje zoals The National en heeft alles aan boord om zeer groot te worden. Het album bevat 10 tracks en zonder overdrijven: ze klinken alle tien perfect, zonder oervervelende hardrockgitaren of alles verwoestende elektronica, maar met prachtige melodieën die drijven op piano, akoestische en elektrische gitaar en een orkestratie van echte instrumenten en zuinige synths. Strangers Now en Hurts zijn twee bloedmooie ballades met de donkere en lichtjes krakende stem van Rob Goodwin als aandachtstrekker. Soms weet je vanaf de eerste track dat je goud in handen hebt, en dat is hier het geval. In Ordinary Lives gaat het tempo lichtjes crescendo en word je als luisteraar op een prachtige orkestratie vergast. Lullaby klinkt als een singer-songwritersballade waarin de zanger voorzichtig de vocalen over een rustige akoestische gitaar uitsmeert. Heel erg mooi.

Dry my Bones heeft iets van Leonard Cohen, maar na verloop van tijd gaat Ron Goodwin heel even een octaaf hoger om dan terug te keren tot de donkere vocale krochten à la Matt Berninger, zij het dat The Slow Show nooit een kopie wordt van de Amerikaanse band. Piano en gitaren zitten opnieuw vooraan in de mix, met prachtige strijkers op de achtergrond. Soms heb je de indruk dat Ron Goodwin z’n teksten niet zingt maar voordraagt, zoals in This Time, op een bedje van prachtig klinkende strijkers en piano. De orkestratie zorgt voor een mooie en soms lichtjes romantische achtergrond met blazers die het voortouw nemen. Heel erg mooi. Brawling Tonight krijgt dubbele vocalen en de prachtige ondersteuning van getokkelde elektrische gitaren, terwijl Last Man Standing uitgroeit tot de ultieme kippenveltrack op tonen van piano en strijkers, gesteund door prachtige drums.

In Breaks Today wordt een mannekoortje toegevoegd, terwijl piano en blazers opnieuw een prachtige achtergrond creëren waartegen de stem van Ron Goodwin op een perfecte manier resoneert. Brick komt veel te vroeg, want naar The Slow Show konden we nog uren luisteren. Het is een atmosferische laatste track met vrouwenstemmen als huilende sirenes en diepe basstemmen. Geen vocalen dit keer, maar niet te min indrukwekkend.

Staat zeker in onze top-3 van 2016!

Tracklisting:
1 Strangers Now
2 Hurts
3 Ordinary Lives
4 Lullaby
5 Dry My Bones
6 This Time
7 Brawling Tonight
8 Last Man Standing
9 Breaks Today
10 Brick

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 38 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Dark Electronic Band, Hem Netjer Talks Of Releasing Inner Warriors With New Single
01
12
52 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
30
11
Gothic/Occult Wave Duo, Raven Said Brings Alchemy To 'Chants To Dissolve'
29
11
Industrial Band Silence Embrace Drops The Dystopian Cyberpunk EP, 'Meta Queer Dolls'
28
11
Today it's exactly 42 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview

PHOTOS

28
11
FAUN
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
SKALD
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
EKLIPSE
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
01
12
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance
30
11
SOLDOUT
Forever
29
11
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
28
11
MAX LILJA
Twin Peaks Theme
27
11
WHISPERING SONS
The most beautiful Rock Rally-moment ever....
26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense