tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE SLOW SHOW - DREAM DARLING

THE SLOW SHOW

DREAM DARLING

MusicCD
DreampopRock

[100/100]   

Haldern Pop Recordings
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

The second album by the British band The Slow Show is called Dream Darling and it is a hit. The band sounds a bit like The National and has enough originality in order to become very big. The album contains 10 tracks and we do not exaggerate if we write that they sound excellent, without nasty hard rock guitars or devastating electronics, but with beautiful melodies, floating on piano, acoustic and electric guitar and an orchestration of real instruments and economical synths. Strangers Now and Hurts are two very beautiful ballads in which the dark and slightly raspy voice of Rob Goodwin has the function of an attention grabber. Sometimes you know from the first track
that an album is great from start to finish, and that's the case here. Lullaby sounds like a singer-songwriter ballad in which the singer gently spreads the vocals on the sound of a quiet acoustic guitar. Very nice.

Dry my Bones sounds a bit like Leonard Cohen, but after a while Ron Goodwin sings in a higher key, and then returns to the darker vocal depths a la Matt Berninger, although The Slow Show never sounds like a copy of the American band. Piano and guitars sound at the fore in the mix, with beautiful strings in the background. Sometimes you have the impression that Ron Goodwin is not singing but reciting his lyrics, as in This Time, on a substrate of beautiful sounding strings and piano. The orchestration creates a beautiful and sometimes slightly romantic background, while brass instruments take the lead. Very nice. Brawling Tonight gets double vocals and the wonderful support of strummed electric guitars, while Last Man Standing grows into the ultimate goose bumps song with piano and strings, backed by beautiful drums.

A male choir is added to Breaks Today. Piano and brass instruments again create a stunning backdrop for Ron Goodwin's resonating voice. Brick comes far too early, because we could listen to The Slow Show for hours. It is an atmospheric last track with female voices as howling sirens and contrasting bass voices. No vocals this time, but as impressive as the rest of the material.

Definitely in our top 3 of 2016!

Tracklisting:
1 Strangers Now
2 Hurts
3 Ordinary Lives
4 Lullaby
5 Dry My Bones
6 This Time
7 Brawling Tonight
8 Last Man Standing
9 Breaks Today
10 Brick

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Het tweede album van de Britse band The Slow Show heet Dream Darling en het is een schot in de roos. De band klinkt een beetje zoals The National en heeft alles aan boord om zeer groot te worden. Het album bevat 10 tracks en zonder overdrijven: ze klinken alle tien perfect, zonder oervervelende hardrockgitaren of alles verwoestende elektronica, maar met prachtige melodieën die drijven op piano, akoestische en elektrische gitaar en een orkestratie van echte instrumenten en zuinige synths. Strangers Now en Hurts zijn twee bloedmooie ballades met de donkere en lichtjes krakende stem van Rob Goodwin als aandachtstrekker. Soms weet je vanaf de eerste track dat je goud in handen hebt, en dat is hier het geval. In Ordinary Lives gaat het tempo lichtjes crescendo en word je als luisteraar op een prachtige orkestratie vergast. Lullaby klinkt als een singer-songwritersballade waarin de zanger voorzichtig de vocalen over een rustige akoestische gitaar uitsmeert. Heel erg mooi.

Dry my Bones heeft iets van Leonard Cohen, maar na verloop van tijd gaat Ron Goodwin heel even een octaaf hoger om dan terug te keren tot de donkere vocale krochten à la Matt Berninger, zij het dat The Slow Show nooit een kopie wordt van de Amerikaanse band. Piano en gitaren zitten opnieuw vooraan in de mix, met prachtige strijkers op de achtergrond. Soms heb je de indruk dat Ron Goodwin z’n teksten niet zingt maar voordraagt, zoals in This Time, op een bedje van prachtig klinkende strijkers en piano. De orkestratie zorgt voor een mooie en soms lichtjes romantische achtergrond met blazers die het voortouw nemen. Heel erg mooi. Brawling Tonight krijgt dubbele vocalen en de prachtige ondersteuning van getokkelde elektrische gitaren, terwijl Last Man Standing uitgroeit tot de ultieme kippenveltrack op tonen van piano en strijkers, gesteund door prachtige drums.

In Breaks Today wordt een mannekoortje toegevoegd, terwijl piano en blazers opnieuw een prachtige achtergrond creëren waartegen de stem van Ron Goodwin op een perfecte manier resoneert. Brick komt veel te vroeg, want naar The Slow Show konden we nog uren luisteren. Het is een atmosferische laatste track met vrouwenstemmen als huilende sirenes en diepe basstemmen. Geen vocalen dit keer, maar niet te min indrukwekkend.

Staat zeker in onze top-3 van 2016!

Tracklisting:
1 Strangers Now
2 Hurts
3 Ordinary Lives
4 Lullaby
5 Dry My Bones
6 This Time
7 Brawling Tonight
8 Last Man Standing
9 Breaks Today
10 Brick

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)