tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

16/02/2017 : FRAGRANCE - Dust & Disorders

FRAGRANCE

Dust & Disorders

MusicCD (EP)
DreampopSynthpop

[82/100]   

Synth Religion
16/02/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Parisian Matthieu Roche as Fragrance produces dreamy sythpop. Mastering the EP Dust And Disorders was entrusted to Hélène De Thoury of Synth Religion. The 5-track EP is a cross between dreamy synthpop and more synth-orientated and minimalistic songs.

Care Of The Proof sounds more poppy, while Lust For Lights has a more minimalistic and characteristic sythpop atmosphere. The vocals however make it all dreamy and almost painfully slow. An infectious old-school synth-drum rhythm runs through Through The Wall. And with Collapse we take a trip in the teletime-machine to 30 years ago. The 80s are alive in this song. Very minimalistic and limited. Postcards on the other hand sounds more poppy than synthpop.

Fragrance's first EP is a good one. The influence of the music of Hélène De Thoury is evident. There is definitely something going on over there in Paris and if this is the result we say yes, please.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/02/2017


NL

Matthieu Roche is een Parijzenaar die zich ledig houdt met het maken van dreamy synthpop, onder de naam Fragrance. Voor de EP Dust and Disorders werd Hélène De Thoury met haar Synth Religion aangezocht om de mastering te doen. De EP bevat vijf songs, en houden het midden tussen dromerige synthpop en eerder synth-gerichte, meer minimalistische nummers.

Care For The Proof klinkt eerder poppy, terwijl Lust For Lights een eerder meer minimale karakeristieke synthpop- sfeer ademt. Het vocale werk maakt het geheel toch weer dromerig en tergend langzaam. Een aanstekelijke oldschool synth-drumritme slingert doorheen Through The Wall. En met Collapse maken we een tripje in de teletijdmachine naar 30 jaar terug. De eighties klinken door in deze song. Heel minimalistisch en afgelijnd. Postcards klinkt dan eerder weer meer poppy dan synthpop.

Fragrance levert een mooie eerste EP af. De hand en invloed van de muziek van Hélène De Thoury is hoorbaar. Er broedt daar duidelijk wat in Parijs en als dit het resultaat is, dan mag het.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/02/2017


Music reviews

25
03
UNKNOWN INSTRUCTORS
Unwilling To Explain
24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker
22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
03
BORGHESIA
Like Every Style Of Music, EBM Also Had A Limited Period Of Duration
16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
HOLE
Celebrity Skin
25
03
FAUNLET
Anatomy
24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)