tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

16/02/2017 : FRAGRANCE - Dust & Disorders

FRAGRANCE

Dust & Disorders

MusicCD (EP)
DreampopSynthpop

[82/100]   

Synth Religion
16/02/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Parisian Matthieu Roche as Fragrance produces dreamy sythpop. Mastering the EP Dust And Disorders was entrusted to Hélène De Thoury of Synth Religion. The 5-track EP is a cross between dreamy synthpop and more synth-orientated and minimalistic songs.

Care Of The Proof sounds more poppy, while Lust For Lights has a more minimalistic and characteristic sythpop atmosphere. The vocals however make it all dreamy and almost painfully slow. An infectious old-school synth-drum rhythm runs through Through The Wall. And with Collapse we take a trip in the teletime-machine to 30 years ago. The 80s are alive in this song. Very minimalistic and limited. Postcards on the other hand sounds more poppy than synthpop.

Fragrance's first EP is a good one. The influence of the music of Hélène De Thoury is evident. There is definitely something going on over there in Paris and if this is the result we say yes, please.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/02/2017


NL

Matthieu Roche is een Parijzenaar die zich ledig houdt met het maken van dreamy synthpop, onder de naam Fragrance. Voor de EP Dust and Disorders werd Hélène De Thoury met haar Synth Religion aangezocht om de mastering te doen. De EP bevat vijf songs, en houden het midden tussen dromerige synthpop en eerder synth-gerichte, meer minimalistische nummers.

Care For The Proof klinkt eerder poppy, terwijl Lust For Lights een eerder meer minimale karakeristieke synthpop- sfeer ademt. Het vocale werk maakt het geheel toch weer dromerig en tergend langzaam. Een aanstekelijke oldschool synth-drumritme slingert doorheen Through The Wall. En met Collapse maken we een tripje in de teletijdmachine naar 30 jaar terug. De eighties klinken door in deze song. Heel minimalistisch en afgelijnd. Postcards klinkt dan eerder weer meer poppy dan synthpop.

Fragrance levert een mooie eerste EP af. De hand en invloed van de muziek van Hélène De Thoury is hoorbaar. Er broedt daar duidelijk wat in Parijs en als dit het resultaat is, dan mag het.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/02/2017


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom