tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

16/02/2017 : FRAGRANCE - Dust & Disorders

FRAGRANCE

Dust & Disorders

MusicCD (EP)
DreampopSynthpop

[82/100]   

Synth Religion
16/02/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Parisian Matthieu Roche as Fragrance produces dreamy sythpop. Mastering the EP Dust And Disorders was entrusted to Hélène De Thoury of Synth Religion. The 5-track EP is a cross between dreamy synthpop and more synth-orientated and minimalistic songs.

Care Of The Proof sounds more poppy, while Lust For Lights has a more minimalistic and characteristic sythpop atmosphere. The vocals however make it all dreamy and almost painfully slow. An infectious old-school synth-drum rhythm runs through Through The Wall. And with Collapse we take a trip in the teletime-machine to 30 years ago. The 80s are alive in this song. Very minimalistic and limited. Postcards on the other hand sounds more poppy than synthpop.

Fragrance's first EP is a good one. The influence of the music of Hélène De Thoury is evident. There is definitely something going on over there in Paris and if this is the result we say yes, please.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/02/2017


NL

Matthieu Roche is een Parijzenaar die zich ledig houdt met het maken van dreamy synthpop, onder de naam Fragrance. Voor de EP Dust and Disorders werd Hélène De Thoury met haar Synth Religion aangezocht om de mastering te doen. De EP bevat vijf songs, en houden het midden tussen dromerige synthpop en eerder synth-gerichte, meer minimalistische nummers.

Care For The Proof klinkt eerder poppy, terwijl Lust For Lights een eerder meer minimale karakeristieke synthpop- sfeer ademt. Het vocale werk maakt het geheel toch weer dromerig en tergend langzaam. Een aanstekelijke oldschool synth-drumritme slingert doorheen Through The Wall. En met Collapse maken we een tripje in de teletijdmachine naar 30 jaar terug. De eighties klinken door in deze song. Heel minimalistisch en afgelijnd. Postcards klinkt dan eerder weer meer poppy dan synthpop.

Fragrance levert een mooie eerste EP af. De hand en invloed van de muziek van Hélène De Thoury is hoorbaar. Er broedt daar duidelijk wat in Parijs en als dit het resultaat is, dan mag het.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/02/2017


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets