tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

16/02/2017 : FRAGRANCE - Dust & Disorders

FRAGRANCE

Dust & Disorders

MusicCD (EP)
DreampopSynthpop

[82/100]   

Synth Religion
16/02/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Parisian Matthieu Roche as Fragrance produces dreamy sythpop. Mastering the EP Dust And Disorders was entrusted to Hélène De Thoury of Synth Religion. The 5-track EP is a cross between dreamy synthpop and more synth-orientated and minimalistic songs.

Care Of The Proof sounds more poppy, while Lust For Lights has a more minimalistic and characteristic sythpop atmosphere. The vocals however make it all dreamy and almost painfully slow. An infectious old-school synth-drum rhythm runs through Through The Wall. And with Collapse we take a trip in the teletime-machine to 30 years ago. The 80s are alive in this song. Very minimalistic and limited. Postcards on the other hand sounds more poppy than synthpop.

Fragrance's first EP is a good one. The influence of the music of Hélène De Thoury is evident. There is definitely something going on over there in Paris and if this is the result we say yes, please.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/02/2017


NL

Matthieu Roche is een Parijzenaar die zich ledig houdt met het maken van dreamy synthpop, onder de naam Fragrance. Voor de EP Dust and Disorders werd Hélène De Thoury met haar Synth Religion aangezocht om de mastering te doen. De EP bevat vijf songs, en houden het midden tussen dromerige synthpop en eerder synth-gerichte, meer minimalistische nummers.

Care For The Proof klinkt eerder poppy, terwijl Lust For Lights een eerder meer minimale karakeristieke synthpop- sfeer ademt. Het vocale werk maakt het geheel toch weer dromerig en tergend langzaam. Een aanstekelijke oldschool synth-drumritme slingert doorheen Through The Wall. En met Collapse maken we een tripje in de teletijdmachine naar 30 jaar terug. De eighties klinken door in deze song. Heel minimalistisch en afgelijnd. Postcards klinkt dan eerder weer meer poppy dan synthpop.

Fragrance levert een mooie eerste EP af. De hand en invloed van de muziek van Hélène De Thoury is hoorbaar. Er broedt daar duidelijk wat in Parijs en als dit het resultaat is, dan mag het.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/02/2017


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
12
Life On Mars?-Hunky Dory Is 47 Today!
16
12
'Vampire' - new Blutengel single
15
12
A Date In Camden | The Fall At The Witch Trial
14
12
On this day, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 39 Today!
13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

13
12
DIVE
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
13
12
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
12
NORMA LOY
Baphomet
16
12
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
15
12
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
14
12
OFELIADORME
Hands
13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain