tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

03/02/2017 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage

ADORATION DESTROYED

Ritual Damage

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro PopElectro Rock

[78/100]   

Cleopatra Records
03/02/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

Austin based band Adoration Destroyd brings us their debut album Ritual Damage. It contains 13 songs, of which cover-versions of Til Tuesday's Voices Carry and mothers finest Marilyn Manson's Coma White along with a pair of exclusive remixes from 16 Volt and Mr. Kitty! So a debut album is something I am always looking forward to. Really 'virgin stuff'

The albums kicks off with Here To Bleed and we discover nice sounds. A steady beat, lovely basses, electro-elements and a pleasant voice. The band wants to warm us up I guess. They keep the heavy machinery for later on. Groovy guitars get involved in Torn Apart, while Voices Carry provides us with a more typical EBM-sound. Carnal Dirge, Last and Both Of Me sound a bit like this one: rather slow and dragging electro with monotone voices.

In Never Mine the role of the guitars is bigger. We also hear some EBM-influences, which makes this song even danceable.

And then the band hits us with a cover of Marylin Manson's Coma White. And in my humble opinion it's even better then the real thing.... Shoot me if I'm wrong....The nice people of Cynical Existence join the troops for Nothing Left. It is not surprising at all that the vocals are rougher and harder, which provides this song with an intens harsh-electro punch. In Elegant Decay the music is more uptempo, however the vocal part remains calm. This makes that overall, vocally it al sounds rather flat. A bit of a pity in my opinion.

Ritual Damage is instrumental. A nice combination of old school synths, nice melody and a rather militaristic drum section.The remixes of Here To Bleed by 16 Volt and In Elegant Decay by Mr. Kitty are nice and give this album a little extra.

Fans of bands like The Birthday Massacre, Aesthetic Perfection, Marilyn Manson, Assemblage 23 and Nine Inch Nails will like this debut album of Adoration Destroyd. A nice mix of electro, some guitars, synthpop and EBM. A mix of some slower and some more uptempo songs, produced to perfection, sounding superb when played at high volume.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
03/02/2017


 

Next reviews
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

 

Other reviews from ADORATION DESTROYED
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + ELECTRO POP + ELECTRO ROCK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Absolute Grrls Manifesto, Chapter 1

 

Same genre: DARK POP
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
PIG • The Gospel

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes