tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

03/02/2017 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage

ADORATION DESTROYED

Ritual Damage

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro PopElectro Rock

[78/100]   

Cleopatra Records
03/02/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

Austin based band Adoration Destroyd brings us their debut album Ritual Damage. It contains 13 songs, of which cover-versions of Til Tuesday's Voices Carry and mothers finest Marilyn Manson's Coma White along with a pair of exclusive remixes from 16 Volt and Mr. Kitty! So a debut album is something I am always looking forward to. Really 'virgin stuff'

The albums kicks off with Here To Bleed and we discover nice sounds. A steady beat, lovely basses, electro-elements and a pleasant voice. The band wants to warm us up I guess. They keep the heavy machinery for later on. Groovy guitars get involved in Torn Apart, while Voices Carry provides us with a more typical EBM-sound. Carnal Dirge, Last and Both Of Me sound a bit like this one: rather slow and dragging electro with monotone voices.

In Never Mine the role of the guitars is bigger. We also hear some EBM-influences, which makes this song even danceable.

And then the band hits us with a cover of Marylin Manson's Coma White. And in my humble opinion it's even better then the real thing.... Shoot me if I'm wrong....The nice people of Cynical Existence join the troops for Nothing Left. It is not surprising at all that the vocals are rougher and harder, which provides this song with an intens harsh-electro punch. In Elegant Decay the music is more uptempo, however the vocal part remains calm. This makes that overall, vocally it al sounds rather flat. A bit of a pity in my opinion.

Ritual Damage is instrumental. A nice combination of old school synths, nice melody and a rather militaristic drum section.The remixes of Here To Bleed by 16 Volt and In Elegant Decay by Mr. Kitty are nice and give this album a little extra.

Fans of bands like The Birthday Massacre, Aesthetic Perfection, Marilyn Manson, Assemblage 23 and Nine Inch Nails will like this debut album of Adoration Destroyd. A nice mix of electro, some guitars, synthpop and EBM. A mix of some slower and some more uptempo songs, produced to perfection, sounding superb when played at high volume.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
03/02/2017


 

Next reviews
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

 

Other reviews from ADORATION DESTROYED
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + ELECTRO POP + ELECTRO ROCK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Absolute Grrls Manifesto, Chapter 1

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected