tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

03/02/2017 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage

ADORATION DESTROYED

Ritual Damage

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro PopElectro Rock

[78/100]   

Cleopatra Records
03/02/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

Austin based band Adoration Destroyd brings us their debut album Ritual Damage. It contains 13 songs, of which cover-versions of Til Tuesday's Voices Carry and mothers finest Marilyn Manson's Coma White along with a pair of exclusive remixes from 16 Volt and Mr. Kitty! So a debut album is something I am always looking forward to. Really 'virgin stuff'

The albums kicks off with Here To Bleed and we discover nice sounds. A steady beat, lovely basses, electro-elements and a pleasant voice. The band wants to warm us up I guess. They keep the heavy machinery for later on. Groovy guitars get involved in Torn Apart, while Voices Carry provides us with a more typical EBM-sound. Carnal Dirge, Last and Both Of Me sound a bit like this one: rather slow and dragging electro with monotone voices.

In Never Mine the role of the guitars is bigger. We also hear some EBM-influences, which makes this song even danceable.

And then the band hits us with a cover of Marylin Manson's Coma White. And in my humble opinion it's even better then the real thing.... Shoot me if I'm wrong....The nice people of Cynical Existence join the troops for Nothing Left. It is not surprising at all that the vocals are rougher and harder, which provides this song with an intens harsh-electro punch. In Elegant Decay the music is more uptempo, however the vocal part remains calm. This makes that overall, vocally it al sounds rather flat. A bit of a pity in my opinion.

Ritual Damage is instrumental. A nice combination of old school synths, nice melody and a rather militaristic drum section.The remixes of Here To Bleed by 16 Volt and In Elegant Decay by Mr. Kitty are nice and give this album a little extra.

Fans of bands like The Birthday Massacre, Aesthetic Perfection, Marilyn Manson, Assemblage 23 and Nine Inch Nails will like this debut album of Adoration Destroyd. A nice mix of electro, some guitars, synthpop and EBM. A mix of some slower and some more uptempo songs, produced to perfection, sounding superb when played at high volume.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
03/02/2017


 

Next reviews
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

 

Other reviews from ADORATION DESTROYED
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + ELECTRO POP + ELECTRO ROCK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Absolute Grrls Manifesto, Chapter 1

 

Same genre: DARK POP
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
PIG • The Gospel

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go