tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

03/02/2017 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage

ADORATION DESTROYED

Ritual Damage

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro PopElectro Rock

[78/100]   

Cleopatra Records
03/02/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

Austin based band Adoration Destroyd brings us their debut album Ritual Damage. It contains 13 songs, of which cover-versions of Til Tuesday's Voices Carry and mothers finest Marilyn Manson's Coma White along with a pair of exclusive remixes from 16 Volt and Mr. Kitty! So a debut album is something I am always looking forward to. Really 'virgin stuff'

The albums kicks off with Here To Bleed and we discover nice sounds. A steady beat, lovely basses, electro-elements and a pleasant voice. The band wants to warm us up I guess. They keep the heavy machinery for later on. Groovy guitars get involved in Torn Apart, while Voices Carry provides us with a more typical EBM-sound. Carnal Dirge, Last and Both Of Me sound a bit like this one: rather slow and dragging electro with monotone voices.

In Never Mine the role of the guitars is bigger. We also hear some EBM-influences, which makes this song even danceable.

And then the band hits us with a cover of Marylin Manson's Coma White. And in my humble opinion it's even better then the real thing.... Shoot me if I'm wrong....The nice people of Cynical Existence join the troops for Nothing Left. It is not surprising at all that the vocals are rougher and harder, which provides this song with an intens harsh-electro punch. In Elegant Decay the music is more uptempo, however the vocal part remains calm. This makes that overall, vocally it al sounds rather flat. A bit of a pity in my opinion.

Ritual Damage is instrumental. A nice combination of old school synths, nice melody and a rather militaristic drum section.The remixes of Here To Bleed by 16 Volt and In Elegant Decay by Mr. Kitty are nice and give this album a little extra.

Fans of bands like The Birthday Massacre, Aesthetic Perfection, Marilyn Manson, Assemblage 23 and Nine Inch Nails will like this debut album of Adoration Destroyd. A nice mix of electro, some guitars, synthpop and EBM. A mix of some slower and some more uptempo songs, produced to perfection, sounding superb when played at high volume.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
03/02/2017


 

Next reviews
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

 

Other reviews from ADORATION DESTROYED
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + ELECTRO POP + ELECTRO ROCK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Absolute Grrls Manifesto, Chapter 1

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon
CHROM • Peak And Decay

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
PLEXIPHONES • Electric
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland

Music reviews

13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie
08
11
HATCHLING
Alpha

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.