tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

03/02/2017 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage

ADORATION DESTROYED

Ritual Damage

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro PopElectro Rock

[78/100]   

Cleopatra Records
03/02/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

Austin based band Adoration Destroyd brings us their debut album Ritual Damage. It contains 13 songs, of which cover-versions of Til Tuesday's Voices Carry and mothers finest Marilyn Manson's Coma White along with a pair of exclusive remixes from 16 Volt and Mr. Kitty! So a debut album is something I am always looking forward to. Really 'virgin stuff'

The albums kicks off with Here To Bleed and we discover nice sounds. A steady beat, lovely basses, electro-elements and a pleasant voice. The band wants to warm us up I guess. They keep the heavy machinery for later on. Groovy guitars get involved in Torn Apart, while Voices Carry provides us with a more typical EBM-sound. Carnal Dirge, Last and Both Of Me sound a bit like this one: rather slow and dragging electro with monotone voices.

In Never Mine the role of the guitars is bigger. We also hear some EBM-influences, which makes this song even danceable.

And then the band hits us with a cover of Marylin Manson's Coma White. And in my humble opinion it's even better then the real thing.... Shoot me if I'm wrong....The nice people of Cynical Existence join the troops for Nothing Left. It is not surprising at all that the vocals are rougher and harder, which provides this song with an intens harsh-electro punch. In Elegant Decay the music is more uptempo, however the vocal part remains calm. This makes that overall, vocally it al sounds rather flat. A bit of a pity in my opinion.

Ritual Damage is instrumental. A nice combination of old school synths, nice melody and a rather militaristic drum section.The remixes of Here To Bleed by 16 Volt and In Elegant Decay by Mr. Kitty are nice and give this album a little extra.

Fans of bands like The Birthday Massacre, Aesthetic Perfection, Marilyn Manson, Assemblage 23 and Nine Inch Nails will like this debut album of Adoration Destroyd. A nice mix of electro, some guitars, synthpop and EBM. A mix of some slower and some more uptempo songs, produced to perfection, sounding superb when played at high volume.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
03/02/2017


 

Next reviews
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

 

Other reviews from ADORATION DESTROYED
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + ELECTRO POP + ELECTRO ROCK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Absolute Grrls Manifesto, Chapter 1

 

Same genre: DARK POP
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
PIG • The Gospel

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams