tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

28/01/2017 : PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT - Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017

PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT

Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017

Concert


[75/100]   
28/01/2017, Fred GADGET

EN

With a heavy heart we thought we were going to have to pass on the performance of Peter Hook, the legendary bass player of the even more legendary band Joy Division. But quite unexpectedly plans changed and we found ourselves making our way head over heels to Leuven.

Arriving at the Depot the relatively big interest in this concert was evident by the amount of senior citizens braving the cold outside even before doors opened. The venue filled up nicely as soon as the doors opened. For this occassion 'Peter Hook & The Light - Play 'Substance' from Joy Division' had invited themselves as support act, but now as 'Peter Hook & The Light - Play 'Substance' from New Order'. To be honest that was an extra incentive for us to come to Leuven that evening because we have had the opportunity before to witness several strong perfomances of Peter Hook & The Light as a Joy Division incarnation. The room was full and the lights dimmed... We were ready!

Accompanied by loud cheers Peter Hook and his friends got on stage and immediately started with the captivating 'In A Lonely Place', originally written as Joy Division just before their iconic singer Ian Curtis decided to end his life. The ambiance was set. Or so we thought. Musically everything was sounding okay but it soon became evident that either Peter Hook or his voice was not feeling up to the job. Most of the time the sound of his voice sank to the background and ended up sounding like a kind of distant murmur. Luckily he was sometimes assisted by the slightly clearer voice of David Potts, the guitar player. Unfortunately this did not prevent the weak impression left by most songs, even though piece by piece these should have been gems of melancholic pop. But for some reason the flames wouldn't ignite... Maybe a little bit during 'State Of The Nation', 'Bizar Love Triangel' or 'True Faith', but still most of us returned slightly disappointed to the bar during the break to wash away all expectations not met with a fresh pint. We told each other that he, Peter Hook, had probably been saving himself and/or his voice so he could give it all in the second half. And maybe it wasn't even all his fault because we were under the distinct impression that the concert had been mixed slightly too goody-goody and tame. No pounding beats, no clearly whipping sequencers and synths... No, way too tame if you ask us.

But enough complaining, let's get ready for part 2 with 'Peter Hook & The Light Play 'Substance' from Joy Division'. Again Peter and his friends started strongly with 'No Love Lost' with the scanning refrain 'I need it!'. And we did need it after the New Order adventure earlier that night. Peter Hook's voice had suddenly returned and snarled the lyrics into the microphone in a way that was not too far removed from the late Ian Curtis' way of singing live. You could almost hear the collective sigh of relief coming from the audience... thank God this is going the right way...and when a few songs later 'Warsaw' resounded from the speakers the ban was finally broken and there was some severe dancing and singing along in the audience.

The New Order debacle was quickly washed away by songs like 'Leaders Of Men', 'Transmission' and 'She's Lost Control'. Because this is what Peter Hook & The Light do best: pay tribute to Joy Division. Just before the band started 'Atmosphere' Peter took a moment to commemorate Fred Velghe, a good assistant and friend of the venue who sadly past away recently and to dedicate the song to him. If there is any colour darker than black then his words made this already blacker than black song sound like it. In short: goosebumps! After the obligatory 'Love Will Tear Us Apart' the band left the stage under a well deserved thunderous applause. Unfortunately the lights went on immediately and we gathered that there would be no encore. The audience accepted the abrupt ending and left the room peacefully. And anyway in the bar DJ Malcolm Nix was ready to drain the last remaining energy from the persevering senior citizens with an excellent set that lasted till the early hours of the morning. Tired but still satisfied we left for home after some social banter and drinking. Peter Hook & The Light...we will be there again next time!

Fred GADGET
28/01/2017


NL

Met een beetje pijn in het hart dachten we dat we dit optreden van Peter Hook, de legendarische bassist van de zo mogelijk nog meer legendarische band Joy Divison, aan ons moesten laten voorbij gaan door andere verplichtingen. Maar, geheel onverwacht veranderde de planning en konden we alsnog hals over kop naar Leuven scheuren.

Dat de belangstelling voor dit optreden redelijk groot was bleek al meteen bij aankomst aan het Depot, want nog voor de deuren openden stond er al een hele meute 40-plussers zich te verkleumen. Eens de deuren geopend stroomde het volk vlotjes binnen. Voor deze gelegenheid had ‘Peter Hook & The Light – Plays ‘Substance’ from Joy Division’ zich zelf uitgenodigd als voorprogramma maar dan als ‘Peter Hook & The Light – Play ‘Substance’ from New Order’. We moeten eerlijk toegeven dat dit één van de extra redenen was om deze avond naar Leuven af te zakken daar we al enkele sterke optredens van Peter Hook & The Light as Joy Division re-incarnatie hadden mogen meemaken. De zaal was aardig volgelopen en het licht dimde … Wij waren er klaar voor!

Peter Hook en de zijnen betraden het podium onder luid gejoel van het publiek en zetten meteen in met het beklijvende ‘In A Lonely Place’ dat oorspronkelijk nog als Joy Division geschreven werd net voor hun iconische zanger Ian Curtis uit het leven stapte. De ‘sfeer’ zat goed … Dachten we want hoewel het muzikaal wel ‘ok’ klonk was het al snel duidelijk dat Peter Hook en/of zijn stem er weinig zin in had. Meestal zonk de zang weg naar de achtergrond waar het niet meer dan wat gemompel leek. Gelukkig werd Peter Hook soms bijgestaan door de iets zuiverder klinkende stem van zijn gitarist David Potts. Jammer genoeg nam dat niet weg dat de meeste nummers een slappe indruk nalieten, dit terwijl het toch stuk voor stuk pareltjes van melancholische pop songs zouden moeten zijn. Maar de vlam kwam er niet in … Misschien eventjes bij ‘State Of The Nation’, ‘Bizar Love Triangel’ of ‘True Faith’ maar toch keerden de meesten onder ons tijdens de pauze een beetje teleurgesteld naar de bar terug om alle niet ingeloste verwachtingen met een frisse pint door te spoelen. We maakten elkaar wijs dat hij, Peter Hook, zichzelf en/of zijn stem misschien wat wou sparen om er straks in het tweede deel een lap op te geven. Maar misschien lag het niet helemaal aan hemzelf want we hadden de indruk dat het concert wat te braaf en mak afgemixed was. Geen beukende beats, geen duidelijke opzwepende sequencers en synths … Nee.. gewoon te braaf als u het ons vraagt.

Maar genoeg gemekkerd, op naar de tweede ronde met ‘Peter Hook & The Light play 'Substance' from Joy Divison’. Ook deze keer openden Peter en de zijnen sterk met het nummer ‘No Love Lost’ met het scanderende refrein “I Need It!. Ja we hadden het nodig na het New Order avontuur eerder op de avond. De stem van Peter Hook was opeens terug van weggeweest en snauwde de teksten door de microfoon op een manier die niet eens zo ver van wijlen Ian Curtis zijn live zang prestaties klonk. Men kon haast een zucht van opluchting horen opstijgen uit het publiek … God zij dank dit gaat wél de goede richting uit... en toen enkele nummers verder ‘Warsaw’ uit de speakers galmde was het hek van de dam en werd er her en der in de zaal duchtig gedanst en meegezongen.

Met daaropvolgende nummers als 'Leaders Of Men’, ‘Transmission’ en ‘She’s Lost Control’ was het eerdere New Order debacle al snel vergeten en vergeven want dit is wat Peter Hook & The Light echt goed kunnen; een hommage brengen aan Joy Division. Net voor de band ‘Atmosphere‘ inzette zei Peter nog “Deze zaal verloor onlangs een goede medewerker en vriend, Fred Velghe, aan hem dragen we deze song op”. Als er nog een donkerdere kleur dan zwart bestond dan deden deze woorden dit gitzwarte nummer eens te meer zo klinken. Kortom kippenvel met hoofdletter K! Na het obligatoire ‘Love Will Tear us apart’ verdween de band van het podium onder een daverend applaus dat ze steevast verdiend hadden. Jammer genoeg gingen toen de lichten meteen aan en was het duidelijk dat er geen bissen meer aankwamen. Ook het publiek nam vrede met het abrupte einde en verliet zonder veel morren de zaal. In het café stond DJ Malcom Nix trouwens klaar om de laatste restjes energie uit de volhardende 40-plussers te persen met een puike DJ set tot in de vroege uurtjes. Moe maar toch voldaan keerden we na wat sociale babbel drink gedrag huiswaarts. Peter Hook & The Light... volgende keer gaan we gewoon weer kijken!

Fred GADGET
28/01/2017


28/01/2017 : PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT - Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017 28/01/2017 : PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT - Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017 28/01/2017 : PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT - Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017 28/01/2017 : PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT - Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017 28/01/2017 : PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT - Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017 28/01/2017 : PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT - Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017 28/01/2017 : PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT - Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)