tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/01/2017 : FORMER BULLIES - Stranger

FORMER BULLIES

Stranger

MusicCD
IndiePop

[80/100]   

Towed By The Ghost
26/01/2017, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Towed By The Ghost is a small British label that occasionally pleasantly surprised us with their releases. The previous release of Model Village was a must to hear and can be found amongst our reviews. The Former Bullies are part of the Mancunian lo-fi scene and bring their latest release now through Towed By The Ghost. For their previous releases they were using CF Records. They make folk / pop / indie songs in which they ​​produce sharp, short and at times Beatles-sounding songs. Or some like Blur-unplugged stuff... The voice of Nick Ainsworth is characteristic and sometimes reminds a bit of Mike Stipes/Neil Young. The songs contain a few catchy melody lines that linger in your head. Yet all sounds pretty fresh and modern. After 11 songs and 25 minutes they leave us wanting more. That seems a good starting point: making a record that tastes like more. Not?

Stranger is a welcome introduction to Former Bullies. Decent and catchy songs that let the music speak for itself. Nothing more, but also certainly nothing less. Just 11 beautiful and simple, lo-fi pop songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2017


NL

Towed By The Ghost is een Brits label dat ons zo nu en dan aangenaam verrast met hun releases. De vorige release van Model Village was een aanrader en kan je terugvinden tussen onze reviews. De Former Bullies maken deel uit van de Manchesterse lo-fi scene en brengen hun nieuwste nu uit via Towed By The Ghost. Hun vorige releases waren via CF-Records. Ze maken folk/pop/indie songs waarbij ze puntige, korte en bij momenten Beatles-iaanse liedjes produceren. Of Blur unplugged… De zang van Nick Ainsworth is karakteristiek en doet soms een beetje aan bv Mike Stipes of Neil Youngs stemgeluid denken. De liedjes bevatten her en der catchy melodielijntjes die blijven hangen in je hoofd. Toch klinkt alles behoorlijk fris en modern. Na 11 songs en 25 minuten laten ze ons achter met een gevoel naar meer. Dat lijkt mij een goed uitgangspunt: een plaat maken die naar meer smaakt. Niet?

Stranger is een welgekomen kennismaking met Former Bullies. Degelijke en aanstekelijke nummers die de muziek voor zich laat spreken. Niets meer, maar zeker ook niets minder. Gewoon 11 mooie en simple, lo-fi popliedjes.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2017


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis