tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/01/2017 : FORMER BULLIES - Stranger

FORMER BULLIES

Stranger

MusicCD
IndiePop

[80/100]   

Towed By The Ghost
26/01/2017, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Towed By The Ghost is a small British label that occasionally pleasantly surprised us with their releases. The previous release of Model Village was a must to hear and can be found amongst our reviews. The Former Bullies are part of the Mancunian lo-fi scene and bring their latest release now through Towed By The Ghost. For their previous releases they were using CF Records. They make folk / pop / indie songs in which they ​​produce sharp, short and at times Beatles-sounding songs. Or some like Blur-unplugged stuff... The voice of Nick Ainsworth is characteristic and sometimes reminds a bit of Mike Stipes/Neil Young. The songs contain a few catchy melody lines that linger in your head. Yet all sounds pretty fresh and modern. After 11 songs and 25 minutes they leave us wanting more. That seems a good starting point: making a record that tastes like more. Not?

Stranger is a welcome introduction to Former Bullies. Decent and catchy songs that let the music speak for itself. Nothing more, but also certainly nothing less. Just 11 beautiful and simple, lo-fi pop songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2017


NL

Towed By The Ghost is een Brits label dat ons zo nu en dan aangenaam verrast met hun releases. De vorige release van Model Village was een aanrader en kan je terugvinden tussen onze reviews. De Former Bullies maken deel uit van de Manchesterse lo-fi scene en brengen hun nieuwste nu uit via Towed By The Ghost. Hun vorige releases waren via CF-Records. Ze maken folk/pop/indie songs waarbij ze puntige, korte en bij momenten Beatles-iaanse liedjes produceren. Of Blur unplugged… De zang van Nick Ainsworth is karakteristiek en doet soms een beetje aan bv Mike Stipes of Neil Youngs stemgeluid denken. De liedjes bevatten her en der catchy melodielijntjes die blijven hangen in je hoofd. Toch klinkt alles behoorlijk fris en modern. Na 11 songs en 25 minuten laten ze ons achter met een gevoel naar meer. Dat lijkt mij een goed uitgangspunt: een plaat maken die naar meer smaakt. Niet?

Stranger is een welgekomen kennismaking met Former Bullies. Degelijke en aanstekelijke nummers die de muziek voor zich laat spreken. Niets meer, maar zeker ook niets minder. Gewoon 11 mooie en simple, lo-fi popliedjes.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2017


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete