tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/01/2017 : FORMER BULLIES - Stranger

FORMER BULLIES

Stranger

MusicCD
IndiePop

[80/100]   

Towed By The Ghost
26/01/2017, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Towed By The Ghost is a small British label that occasionally pleasantly surprised us with their releases. The previous release of Model Village was a must to hear and can be found amongst our reviews. The Former Bullies are part of the Mancunian lo-fi scene and bring their latest release now through Towed By The Ghost. For their previous releases they were using CF Records. They make folk / pop / indie songs in which they ​​produce sharp, short and at times Beatles-sounding songs. Or some like Blur-unplugged stuff... The voice of Nick Ainsworth is characteristic and sometimes reminds a bit of Mike Stipes/Neil Young. The songs contain a few catchy melody lines that linger in your head. Yet all sounds pretty fresh and modern. After 11 songs and 25 minutes they leave us wanting more. That seems a good starting point: making a record that tastes like more. Not?

Stranger is a welcome introduction to Former Bullies. Decent and catchy songs that let the music speak for itself. Nothing more, but also certainly nothing less. Just 11 beautiful and simple, lo-fi pop songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2017


NL

Towed By The Ghost is een Brits label dat ons zo nu en dan aangenaam verrast met hun releases. De vorige release van Model Village was een aanrader en kan je terugvinden tussen onze reviews. De Former Bullies maken deel uit van de Manchesterse lo-fi scene en brengen hun nieuwste nu uit via Towed By The Ghost. Hun vorige releases waren via CF-Records. Ze maken folk/pop/indie songs waarbij ze puntige, korte en bij momenten Beatles-iaanse liedjes produceren. Of Blur unplugged… De zang van Nick Ainsworth is karakteristiek en doet soms een beetje aan bv Mike Stipes of Neil Youngs stemgeluid denken. De liedjes bevatten her en der catchy melodielijntjes die blijven hangen in je hoofd. Toch klinkt alles behoorlijk fris en modern. Na 11 songs en 25 minuten laten ze ons achter met een gevoel naar meer. Dat lijkt mij een goed uitgangspunt: een plaat maken die naar meer smaakt. Niet?

Stranger is een welgekomen kennismaking met Former Bullies. Degelijke en aanstekelijke nummers die de muziek voor zich laat spreken. Niets meer, maar zeker ook niets minder. Gewoon 11 mooie en simple, lo-fi popliedjes.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2017


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination